December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Arrow

by weazen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have one arrow to defeat a never-ending hoard of aliens. Once you fire, you have to pick it up before you you can kill more! How many can you take down?

**Note** Works best in Google Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#76Theme3.73
#446Humor2.33
#536Fun2.81
#565Innovation2.81
#640Audio2.17
#657Overall2.81
#803Graphics2.27
#822Mood2.25

Comments

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Fun little game. Controls are a bit floaty around edges, but having only one arrow creates some really intense situations.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:17pm

too hard for me :D

hazzen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

No one can hurt you on the middle platform (on top of the door?)

weazen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

@hazzen Right. It's your safe zone. You'll have to jump off of it and enter the horde of aliens though it you want to shoot again!

turnip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Very nice idea for this theme! Physics seem a bit odd though. Can fall off a platform then moving back towards it makes you go back on top of it when you shouldn't.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I really loved the concept idea. If more polished could be an awesome game. I would suggest you to create a higher notion of urgency to avoid player going just for the easy kills and force him to put himself in danger more times. By a urgency, I mean, something like the number of aliens that escape could bring failure, or you could create a score based on time, for instance.

The collisions between player and platform are a little bit awkward, but that doesn't make the game less fun. Nice job!

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Its fun to see how high you can get.

There is a glitch where you can get your arrow trapped in the thing in the middle where you can't get it back, but its a minor bug.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54pm

nice game sooo many bad guys good job

5elephants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Heh! We made a game based on the same idea and with the same name! (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31847)

I liked yours too! :)

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Nice game. Feels like super crate box with a very satisfying bow mechanic. Physics could use a little tweaking but it is a enjoyable game. Good job :)

drnick says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Quite interesting, through it would be better with more levels. Remembers me of the original Mario Bros.

euske says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Gradual difficulty change would be nice.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Loved the arcade-y feel. Nice mechanic. Very challenging!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]