December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Luduvikus

by JALgames - Jam Entry

You've been teleported into another world and the only thing you got was one single apple, which you ate. So get some food quickly to satisfy your hunger.
This is an RPG with nice pixel graphics, some nice mobs (yes, shit), about 20 different tiles and 10 different items, but there still has do be done some work. And yes, this game is called spritebatchandfont.desktop, because I took that SharpDX sample file. But first, here are the instructions:
- start the game
- if any mob (a worm or some shit) is moving to you, run away (control your caracter with WASD, not with the arrow keys)!
- if not, press - some times until you like the scale
- make sure you have access to a desert.
- if not, restart the game - sorry, but some flint is nessecary and you only get it in the desert
- search some mushrooms (the brown ones only, the others harm you)
- move on a tile next to them, not onto the mushrooms
- press the arrow keys pointing in the direction of the mushroom and hold it
- if a green bar on the top of the screen appears, you did it right. Wait until the mushroom disappears
- if not, move around some pixels. The gather detection is still a bit buggy
- press I to open the inventory
- select the mushroom with the arrow keys
- press enter to eat it
- you will notice that another apple appeared on the bottom of the screen [the apple is just a sign for food in general]
- gather and eat mushrooms until the hunger bar contains at least 8 apples
- make sure you always reselect the hand in the inventory after eating. Otherwise, you won't be able to continue gathering
- after eating you should get some twigs:
- move next to a tree (with leaves)
- press the arrow key pointing in the direction of the tree
- you see, it's pretty similar to gathering food
- after getting 5 or 6 twigs, go into a desert and search some flints (they are hidden in the sand, so don't wonder if you don't see any:)
- on any sand tile, use the arrow keys to select a sand tile next to you. When the bar on the top of the screen has filled, you got your first flint.
- get about 5 or 6 flints
- now you surely want to craft a axe to get wood:
- press C
- all the items craftable appear next to your inventory
- select the axe (the top-most-item, so it's most properly already selected)
- you see some items on the left side of the axe: these are the items required to craft this. If you've got all of them in you inventory, you can press enter and the axe will appear in your inventory
- go to your inventory (press escape to close the crafting screen and I after that)
- select the axe
- press escape of i to close the inventory
- now you can chop down trees as well
- if you want to do other things, you have to reselect your hand
- you know almost everything, just these little tips for your further gameplay:
- the item below the axe can turn grass into farming ground
- after some time, the farming ground can be harvested with the tool below
- the sword needn't be selected to make attacks:
- simply press and hold space at any time your near (< 1.5 tiles) a mob and it will be attacked (sorry for the lack of an attack animation, but although it seems like nothing happens, the mob will be attacked constantly)

Stretch-goals
We don't want to manipulate your ratings, but if you want to support the further development of our game, you can tell all your dev friends about this game and to rate it too.
So this will happen when this game is one of the best *
- 200 games: we'll add new food and plants + some new mobs
- 100 games: we'll improve the map-gen a lot so it can produce large maps fast and generates NPC buildings
- 50 games: we'll add villages and humanoid players
- 20 games: animations: we'll add so many animations you can't say if the game is reality or not :)
- 15 games: LAN multiplayer!
- 10 games: we'll make as much as possible! Development will be continued as long as possible


*don't think we belive in being one of the first 200 games, but nobody has forbidden to do this!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#235Humor(Jam)2.47
#288Fun(Jam)2.80
#326Mood(Jam)2.75
#350Graphics(Jam)2.92
#367Theme(Jam)2.46
#402Overall(Jam)2.76
#403Innovation(Jam)2.46
#426Audio(Jam)2.06

Comments

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:29am

Wow pretty tough game. Although it kind of reminds me at minecraft. Without the introduction I'd have been completely lost. I guess some in-game information would make the game a lot more understandable and less frustrating

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Wow very nicely made and with some great details. A lot to cram in over 48 hours :D Good job :)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work on my comp. Looks very interesting though. A lot of work has gone into this from what I can see. Good luck!

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13pm

We had 72 hours as we participated in the JAM, but thanks anyway.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Everybody who couldn't get his work: make sure you tried the installer. The exe-Files will only work when all the nessecary files are already where the game expects them and that properly won't be the case on many pcs

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Your description is a real turn off. You should make it a little more readable. Ingame item description would be nice. Highlighting which tile I'm currently working on would be nice aswell.

You should add some kind of goal as there is nothing to do after you have crafted everything.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Yes, I know, the game isn't very polished yet, but I hadn't left any time to create something like in-game-instructions. But they are coming, for sure!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Wow cool! :) Reminds me of Don't Starve. Now I'm a proud crop farmer ;) Colorful graphics.
A little bit hard to get started though. Some kind of tutorial would have been nice.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46pm

That installer was really scary but in the end the game worked well. You managed to make a surprisingly deep game in the short amount of time you had! Good job!

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Haha kind of a minecraft, terraria, realm of the mad god crossover! Love it! Although it wasn't very intuitive, I wouldn't have known what to do w/o the game info! Other than that, was a great game.

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

*error sorry this didn't work for me but the game looks chill as fuck. The installer started then said it couldn't run anymore and stopped. I am running windows 7 32 bit anyone else have the same problem? shame I can't vote but like I said the entry and art and everything looks really good and interesting

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I couldn't quite make sense of what I needed to do or why I should need to do that, the camera was really zoomed in on the character, I couldn't spatially recognize in what part of the map I was or wether I visited it before.

I did like the art style.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

"Press - to zoom out a bit"

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The art style was kind of interesting but the game wasn't really that enjoyable. Also, next time try to write more concise descriptions that don't include begging for ratings.

xaedes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Lol, the message when you die is very funny^^
Very nice game. Also reminds me off minecraft. You should really implement attack animations and visual damage feedback next. Would be nice to have this.

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:10am

The way this game is played appeals to me a lot. Crafting reminds me of Settlers of Catan in a way that I like. I can tell you put a lot of care into it. I would be very excited to see it expanded! (Especially the NPC things you mentioned above)

If you decide to do that, here are some thoughts you can consider or disregard as you like :)
* Sound and music would be lovely, and would provide nice atmosphere to accentuate all your hard work on the rest of the world.
* I think the HUD and its shade obstruct view. Smaller HUD elements or different spacing might help.
* Adding on-screen HUD elements might be a good way to help players remember the controls.
* Whether or not you decide to add sound, a visual indication that the player is taking damage might be a good idea.
* Is there a way to drop, scroll, or stack items? I picked up a whole bunch of stuff and when I made an axe, I couldn't find it because it was off the screen.
* It's easy to lose the player against the green background, especially in trees. A more contrasting color would make it easier to keep track of my location.

* I really like the progress bar when digging/chopping.
* Your mob designs are creative. They remind me a bit of Faxanadu, which is one of my favorite games.

I hope to see another of your games soon!

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:40am

i really enjoy this :) nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]