December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Cat and a Jetpack

by dingotime - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Cat and a Jetpack

The jetpack factory makes lots of jetpacks, but you only get one. Choose the jetpack with attributes that you want.

Controls:
When walking, use arrow keys to move and jump
When using the jetpack, use the mouse to aim and thrust. Falling from high up or hitting walls at high speed will kill you.

The game is hard. You'll probably need to upgrade your jetpack factory a lot to beat the game.


Created in Monkey (www.monkeycoder.co.nz)
Graphics done in Inkscape and The GIMP
Music from MUSOPEN (musopen.org - Flight of the Bumblebee)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#31Humor3.87
#427Innovation3.00
#469Audio2.57
#473Mood2.80
#478Fun2.88
#674Graphics2.58
#702Overall2.76
#788Theme2.36

Comments

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Haha. Loved it! Solid concept here, great work!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

My poor kitty!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

Interesting game. Really difficult in the beginning to get upgrades. Played for about 10 mins and had like 2 coins.

Good use of the theme, the graphics were nice.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57am

Fun game ahah

The upgrade screen is quite hard to read. It took me some time to figure out that I didn't have enough coins

Also, I can actually pick up the two jetpacks, that's not clear on what happens. Is the first one replaced by the second ?

Also, keyboard is quite useless, maybe using mouse only would have been better ?

Anyway, I enjoyed and laughed, so good job mate !

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

My poor cat, brutally thrown against buildings to it's death. RIP rocket cat.

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

Super fun! Good jorb!

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

First: I love and hate the music!

Second: I've always wanted to play a cat with a jatpack!

Third: Great work!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

A little too difficult for my tastes, but I think it was what you were going for with the flight of the bumblebee raging in the background. The mechanic was very cool - I hope you make a slower version, as attacking enemies with jetpack flames is a great idea!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Kitteh nuuuuuuuu :( My cat's broken, he always likes to fall when high in the sky. Also I liked the music in combination with a lack of max velocity :p

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

Funny game, loved the choice of music and the theme. A great showing!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59am

Way too much fun to just rocket off into the sky.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

Hahahaha, very nice!
A tad laggy but, pretty fun!

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33am

Whoa, this game has a lot of energy!

LeonLeon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12am

That was awesome

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:22am

hahhahaha, a cat with a jetpack :D
my poor cat always die !

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Poor cat!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Frustrating but fun game.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:15pm

This game was really cute!! I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]