December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

In a maze with one

by okmmjyygv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do not play before reading!

-The game creates a random maze. You should find an escape but you can't find an escape without using teleport, pickaxe or bomb. But you can only use one of one. You can't use all of them.

-Teleport-->Usuable for 3 times. Teleports the player to where mouse pressed.
-Pickaxe-->Usuable for 5 times. Removes the block where mouse pressed.
-Bomb-->Usuable for 4 times. Removes the blocks that is near to the bomb. To place it use mouse. 2 seconds after placing, it will explode.

Mazes can be hard or easy. It's random. Sometimes it can be impossible.

-Bug Fixes
-->I fixed a bug that makes mazes easy. (variable change)
-->I forgot to activate R button in first release. Now it's activated. When you can't escape from the maze, you can press R button to restart. (false to true)
-->Upgraded to LibGDX 0.9.9 Mac problem should be solved now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#469Theme2.93
#591Audio2.32
#657Innovation2.66
#734Humor1.68
#772Graphics2.36
#779Overall2.65
#819Fun2.37
#848Mood2.19

Comments

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Not bad. The maze generation could use some help. I played the game a few times with the teleport since you cant change unless you restart. It was extremely easy to find the exit each time. Could have been a bit harder.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice try, good idea... But all the mazes I got were very easy. I feel they could be larger, and maybe just a little bit variety inside the maze too.

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07pm

@gusanolocovb After finishing a maze. You can choose another. You dont have to choose teleport all the time.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Some of the pixel art was quite nice, and the game was a good idea. The impossible levels ultimately killed it for me, as well as no instructions in the actual game.

Still, not a bad idea and relatively well executed.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Cool idea, like the use of theme to add variety to mazes. Like others have said mazes are pretty small and simple most of the time.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Crashes on my Mac Book Pro (java 1.7.0_40).:

Dec 16 16:44:11 demon.local java[2228] <Error>: The function `CGContextErase' is obsolete and will be removed in an upcoming update. Unfortunately, this application, or a library it uses, is using this obsolete function, and is thereby contributing to an overall degradation of system performance.
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
_NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit
AL lib: ReleaseALC: 1 device not closed

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

It's crashing on my mac. I've played other ld games made with java today, though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Would be a nice game (we were thinking.. about the same, but we didn't get the one powerup in), but the (impossible) mazes are really killing the fun. Fix the maze generation and you have a very nice game here!

okmmjyygv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Well, I already fixed maze generation. It's not impossible at all. All you have to do is using your ability at the right time (teleport, pickaxe, bomb). Also about the mac problem. Also I'm going to fix Mac problem now.

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I concur with other comments on the maze generation. Other than that, this is a pretty interesting concept. If you plan on doing more maze type stuff in the future, you might wanna look at: http://rosettacode.org/wiki/Maze

Granted that alone wouldn't be what you wanted, you'd need to add some obstacles to force the use of the selected power up.

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Oh you fixed it while I was writing my comment? Guess I should re-download.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice game, and good use of the theme. Like some others have said, the random maze generator isn't quite right so I'd recommend either enhancing that a little or loading some hand-made levels which have been designed to provide a bit of a challenge. Maybe also consider an alternate wall image that is just a small variation to the main image and use it vary occasionally to break up the repetitive pattern. Overall though, good work :)

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

The changes to the maze generation did make the result a bit more consistent for me.

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I never found an exit... I'm not sure if that's because I suck or just because I got hard mazes.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Game so easy with teleport, but nice idea and nice job anyway! :D

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Good idea but not really fun.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Neat idea. it was fun trying out each tool to see what mechanic they used. I wish there was some kind of audio or visual cue for each time they were used though. Otherwise awesome job!

indegame says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:20am

Like it, though could never find the exit :(

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I liked the random maze generation and the three skills. The pixel art was pretty nice too and the controls felt quite good (though perhaps a little acceleration on the player would liven things up). A couple of things that would have really helped me would be a countdown on the number of uses for each skill, and an arrow/compass pointing at the exit as I had no idea where to go - and since you get a different maze each time it seems a bit random if you can solve it or not.

caranha says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Heh, interesting concept. Congratulations on finishing your game!

As others said, the maze itself is not very inspiring, and since we can't see everything, it is a bit hart to make a decision about when to use the items. But I think these are things you can work on to make a better game.

You should add a "you win" screen when someone manages to get out of the maze.

Cheers!

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Pretty nice game!
I dont really like the idea, that the maze may be impossible, but I know, what it means to write a procedural level generator, that respects certain restrictions, so no minus point for that ;)
Gameplay feels quite solid and the theme is realized nicely.
Great work!

Espyo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

It's not a bad idea, but it needs some work. Travelling through the maze gets dull really quickly, and the movement could be smoother than it is (specially when trying to enter a perpendicular path).
The music, minimalistic as it may be, was nice. There's one critical thing missing: the number of uses you have left on your item. I liked that you showed the item on the corner, it was a nice touch, but without the number of uses left, it left something to be desired.
Finally, there was a glitch that happened at one point: in 2 consecutive runs, I pressed R to restart, and when I clicked PLAY, it automatically selected the teleportation and teleported me to a spot, using up all my uses in one go.

TobiasNL says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I like the idea of this game! Pretty cool :)

stefan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Nice little game! I would have loved a display for the number of times I used a tool and smoother movements (I often got stuck at cornes...), but its a nice take on the theme.

crazyrems says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:33pm

It's a cool entry. I enjoyed play it, but some times you can't win, is some kind of frustrating.
But it's well done. Maybe the collisions have to be slightly better.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:03pm

There is one problem in gameplay: The mazes are either easy, or impossible.

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:41pm

I really liked it. I thought the limited number of each item made it fun but as others have said, it's a little too easy. I tried each item and never got stuck. It's also too easy to click teleport after play on the menu.

Three different items provided a good amount of variety to the gameplay. If you work on this post-compo, it would be nice if the story of the game dictated which items were used. But as it is, I think it's a good use of the theme.

Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]