December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Follow your skill

by Jordo76 - Jam Entry

/!\ IF YOU DON'T WANT TO BOTHER READING THE WHOLE DESCRIPTION, AT LEAST READ THE SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS /!\

/!\ THE OPTIMISED VERSION MAY DIFFER IN DIFFICULTY FROM THE ORIGINAL ONE, IF YOU WANT PLEASE TRY BOTH VERSIONS AND TELL ME YOUR FPS GAIN IN THE COMMENTS /!\

Welcome to "Follow your skill", in this game you've one skill point, invest it in one of the four skills available, complete it's puzzle and gain it's coin, oh and also due to some genetic modifications (or was it our laziness, cannot tell :P) your character has no arms.
Once every powers are crossed out you know you've successfully finished the game ! (we couldn't make a proper ending due to the lack of time)

Special instructions :
When using the "Mass" skill, jump then press DOWN to break grey blocks.
When using the "Strenght" skill, press SPACE to break yellow blocks surrounding you.
Some coins are fake, some blocks are fake too, be cautious.
To change the volume you need to be in the menu. (May be fixed later)

This game was made using CraftStudio, the cooperative game-making platform.
To play the game on Windows you need Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
Or to play the game on Mac you need the Mono runtime.

This game was created in 72h by :
-Jordo76 (Scripting/Level/Texture)
-Daskaund (Scripting/Level/Texture)
-Nast (Level)
-Poltergeist (Level)
-Hedjin (Level)
-GamePortos (Level)

Special thanks :
-Xiden

Music used : https://soundcloud.com/theyoungpunx/kowloon-kickback-gramophonedzie
Sounds were made using BFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#175Theme(Jam)3.09
#257Audio(Jam)2.91
#268Fun(Jam)2.83
#269Innovation(Jam)2.83
#276Humor(Jam)2.32
#402Mood(Jam)2.52
#415Graphics(Jam)2.65
#434Overall(Jam)2.67

Comments

TBSHRichard says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Perhaps a little too difficult, but a good game overall. I liked the idea of having multiple paths on the same level for the different power-ups. I found it great that you color-coded the blocks to be the same color as each power-up to help tell the player which way to go.

I did like the music choice you guys had, but I don't feel it fit in well with the game. Maybe it's just me, but I feel in a game with primitive graphics, you should also have primitive audio. Also, I couldn't get the - and + buttons to turn down the audio so I'm not sure if that feature was implemented or not (I was playing the Windows version).

The graphics were very nicely done. Simple, but they were clean.

The couple of seconds in between death and respawn was a bit annoying, I would have preferred it to be instantaneous. I'm also not a fan of the non-solid floors in games. Yeah eventually you learn the location of where not to jump, but it's frustrating having no indication that you cannot step on those blocks. It just seems real un-intuitive to me.

Again, you guys made a great and fun game. I hope you had fun making it, and congratulations on your accomplishment!

Jordo76 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thank you for that great review, the issue you had with the - and + was (yes it is dumb) the keys not assigned, it is fixed now.
Along with...an instant respawn ! No more "couple of seconds", it is instantaneous.
I also added red blocks to the "Speed" part of the level to prevent someone with a "Jump" power-up to glitch through and finish it (It won't affect the gameplay with "Speed", just renders unable the "Jump" power-up to come through) and added red blocks to some pits to prevent some glitchs.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40pm

The game runs a little slow, but looks nice, and the music sounds great! Well done!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:06am

Would've played it, but I got less than 1FPS trying to run it on my C2D P8400 (2.26GHz) + 9600M GT laptop. I suppose it's time to upgrade if I can't even handle simple 2D games anymore!

Enneract says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28am

I like your take on the theme. But like it's a little too difficult since you have to start from the start each time. Prehaps adding some checkpoints or something. I agree with TBSHRichard that the music was good but didn't quite fit the game, something retro would have been cool. Also the game was fairly laggy.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:24am

Haha, I wonder if there are any other two games, that have such a similar basic-idea behind the concept :D

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:38pm

The concept is great, but I found playing it infuriating. If the platforming physics had been a bit more solid it would have been great.

Nichii says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:39pm

It's a pretty fun game actually. However, it is slightly frustrating to start all over once you died. The game runs pretty slow on my computer (around 20-25). Still playable.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:37pm

The game lagged alot for me so I couldn't get to really play it. minimalist style seems nice.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:49pm

It's a cool idea for this theme. But as already said, the physics really needs to gain stability; It's quite frustrating, too many times. And you can grab walls (thanks friction !!). Not sure if it's wanted.
And your game reaaaly needs optimisation.
The camera makes me sick by jumping every time the character leaves the viewport.

Jordo76 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:31am

I've just made a new optimised version, tell me what you think of it, as mentionned in the description the difficulty of the game may alter.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:05am

like the style and the idea, but i was blocked by appearing blocks, which i wasnt able to destroy :/ the music rocked^^

Jordo76 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:11am

Apologies for the appearing blocs, it was a debug thing I forgot to remove >_<
Should be fixed now.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:56am

Music sounds great! And i like the style! Congrats!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The music was great, but I kept falling through random blocks, which looked like they should have been solid. It was really infuriating!

occash says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Very nice music ! I want this soundtreck to my Phone!

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Not having an ending was a bit disappointing. The level is basically just a bunch of traps and use of glitchy mechanics. Try to be a bit lighter on the traps and focus more on actual leveldesign. If you notice that it is hard to control jumpheight don't make use of it to add more traps fix the jumping instead.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]