December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neighbors From Hell

by Slader16 - Jam Entry

Neighbors From Hell - The daily life of living in surburbia has finally gotten to you.
You decide to host a dinner party,
For your neighbors from hell.
But, you only brought one bullet.




Art By: Jesse Clifton
Programming and Game Design By: Collin Clifton
Sound Design By: Lane Beckstrom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Humor(Jam)2.33
#333Theme(Jam)2.58
#414Audio(Jam)2.17
#486Mood(Jam)2.05
#512Graphics(Jam)2.00
#526Innovation(Jam)1.96
#529Fun(Jam)1.77
#541Overall(Jam)1.96
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Guennor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13am

Something that annoys me quite a bit and I see it happen with a lot of unity games.
People leave the cursor enabled with first person or third person games. You can fix this with one line of code ( Screen.showCursor = false;)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23am

The game appears to be bigger than the screen size allotted.

Neat concept and story, but the controls are much too sensitive to movement.

The audio fits nicely and the GUI was done well (apart from screen size issues) and I agree with Guennor's comment about needing to disable the cursor.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:27am

Try removing the cursor. That will increase immersion immensely but otherwise nice job with the story

Slader16 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31am

-Removed cursor
-Stoped objects from going through each other
-Added crosshire
-Added gun movement
Enjoy :D

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Either Im missing something or this is lacking actual gameplay?

Slader16 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

No you're right, I focused more on the humor side of things :)

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:00pm

What Guennor said!

Also, I think you missed a trick here, because there could have been some gameplay in lining up the n.f.h. and taking them out en masse, but you only do hit-detection as far as the first neighbor.

It has pretty good mood. I liked the music and the look of the textured Unity-capsules, haha.

Slader16 says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:18am

I actually like the idea of that, and thanks!

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:06am

Funny game :) I like the way you used the thematic. Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]