December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Game of Fun

by stvr - Jam Entry

This game was designed, written, and drawn almost entirely by my kids. They even did most of the sound! I only did the programming and offered guidance.

You only get one bow, and one blaster!

Use the arrow keys to move and jump, ducking also blocks with your shield. Vines on walls can be climbed. Press space to fire your laser blaster, or C to fire your bow & arrow. Be careful! You have a limited number of arrows. You can find more arrows in chests.

You can also press P to pause.

Please note that the second level can take quite a bit of time to load; please be patient! Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#101Humor(Jam)3.17
#168Audio(Jam)3.21
#291Mood(Jam)2.84
#342Overall(Jam)2.92
#349Fun(Jam)2.66
#400Graphics(Jam)2.70
#436Innovation(Jam)2.35
#495Theme(Jam)2.00

Comments

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

Great that you got the kids involved! Some pretty funny sound effects, and overall entertaining, good job kids and dad!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:39am

This game need major polish, the sounds sound like they were made by a 5 year old, pressing up only jumps about 1/3rd of the time for some reason, and many other things.

I understand the concept/art was from 4/8 year olds, so I mean that's fine and all, but the programming could have been far better.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52am

Awesome :) Love the homemade sound effects!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02am

My main problems here are the inconsistent jumping controls, which often don't seem to work, the visual aspect of having identical-looking terrain acting differently, and the blaster noise gets annoying. I do like the basic idea of a limited weapon that sometimes needs to be used and an unlimited weapon that is often impractical, but this needs work. I do feel kinda bad about being so critical of this game considering what went into it, though.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12am

Good to see you get your kids involved! Future game designers? The sounds were adorable.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54am

Audio was definitely the highlight.

Tips for improvement - allowing the players to perhaps view instructions once in game would be helpful (I managed to forget how to climb vines).

Mr.Cassels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05am

nice game, but could have been harder. also incosistant and inaccurate jumps were annoying, and the hearts didnt seem to change. the art was quite solid, especialy the main charecter, and while the laser sound got old fast, the jump sound grew on me quite nicely.
Verdict: buggy, but good fun!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

Haha the ending made me chuckle, "I need to sleep!"

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13am

Awww ninjas are so cute!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:53am

The jumping could have been better and I wish I could pick up my arrows or something, but overall it was a good time. I really enjoyed the story and graphical style. The sort of random level design was my favorite part.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59am

Audio was solidly enjoyable, as were the enemy designs. Gotta love the things young children come up with.

That said, as others have said, the jumping really puts a damper on the whole thing. This is basically a platformer, and movement, collision, and responsive controls are central to platformers. The game just deciding not to jump at least half of the time makes it really annoying to navigate the environment to the point where I just couldn't tolerate continuing past a point (probably late) in the second level.

Still as long as you lot had fun, that's what matters most, right? :)

scoopsy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:55am

Great job family! I love the monster artwork!

I was so proud of myself when I found the way to that chest!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

I liked the art and sound effects, I think the theme was stretching it a little bit but its great you got your kids involved in game development!

d__adee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40am

Its nice you made this with your kids. Great way to bond! :D
The jump control doesn't do quite well though. But good job dad! xD

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:20am

Really dug the sound effects. Huge levels. Adorable art. Controls were a bit wonky sometimes, especially jumping.

Killswitch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54am

Mostly moving can be quite boring. I find it hard to actually shoot enemies by bullets. Nice graphics. It was an "OK" game. :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Art and sound department did a brilliant job. The controls were quite hard to master, but the game was forgiving enough so that it didn't matter too much.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:51am

Fun family entry :) Reminds me of a lot of the ideas I had for games when I was young, very cool!

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Hey everyone, thank you for your kind words! I'm sorry for the spotty jumping. I noticed this during development, but didn't have time to fix it. I looked over the code, and tried an entirely different input method, but the result was still the same. Sorry!

Also, did anyone find the super special secret on the last level? Not the chest; there's one of those in every level. Let me know!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:27pm

It's great that you got your kids involved! My kids like to do game art and sound effects too. Right now I am teaching them Python so they can start writing their own games. You can never start too early. We need more Computer Scientists!

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Woah, a family entry! This is so cool! I particularly like the sounds, they are simply adorable. Great work guys, keep it up. I hope to see your entry on the next LD too. :)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I love the fact that you brought your children in on this to help :p

I found it a fun game, the only issues I have is that the jumping only worked some of the time and in a game where jumping is key at points, that doesn't work and I'm also not sure how it fits in with the theme, as you have more than 1 weapon in total, the blaster has unlimited ammo and you get more than 1 arrow

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Kudos to your kids!
The only thing I found a bit dodgy is the controls. The jump button sometimes doesn't work and that's very annoying (should I blame the programmer? ;-P)

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:08am

Really nice work! Love the sound effects and really nice art by your kids :D

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:20am

The audio is really cute, and the stage is lots better than mine.
Good job :D

eli says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Haha!!! Great artwork and sounds. Less frustrating controls would really make this a winner.

eskivor says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

Good initiative, I played until the end, the games works well but there are some animations I don't understand, for example what is the green thing who appears when the ninja walks, is it his shield ?

It looks like there is a recovery time between two jumps, am I right ?

I'm not sure of the real utility of the bow, I used the blaster most of the time.

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

Lol, the sound effects are very funny! Really made my day. :)
The jumping is a bit unresponsive.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

love that your kids helped out on the graphics and sound. i didn't get the theme tie-in, though, but who cares when you're having fun.

the controls need a little work, though. i had a hard time jumping while moving (like, had to move to the edge, then jump, then hold over). got stuck in a hole on the second level and couldn't jump out.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:46am

Pretty good game. By the way, your kids are really awesome artists/game designers/sound engineers :D

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:55am

Definitely an interesting start. The audio was pretty funny but overall the game could use a bit of polish to make it truly great

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:17am

Parenting done right! You're one awesome dad! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]