December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

HackerBall

by Switchbreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have five agents, and one virus. Use the agents to block security and run the virus into the endzone.

If the agent carrying the virus is hit twice, the virus is dropped and it's game over.

Controls:
- WASD to control the agent with the virus
- Number keys to pass it to a different agent
- Mouse to draw blocking routes
- X to run routes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#49Innovation3.83
#191Fun3.37
#268Overall3.29
#641Humor1.93
#692Audio1.94
#741Mood2.41
#745Graphics2.43
#798Theme2.32

Comments

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

This game certainly requires quick thinking to set up routes before the blue enemies start moving.

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18am

Good mechanic, I like being able to draw my player's routes, instead of just picking preset ones like in standard football games (ie. Madden)

Garrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

If you pass the virus right after you hit, it doesn't take away a life and you can just continue right into the goal.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

Really cool and fast-paced mechanic. Expanding this with more types of attackers and defenders could make this a great game. Good job!

bttf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Interesting mechanics, played this for a good while. Nice job

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

cool mechanics, need some quick thinking, especially since it's hard to tell how your setup is going to work out for you

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

Good game. Innovative and intuitive. Difficult, but rewarding when a level is complete. I just wish there was some way to skip levels you have already completed.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

Really great entry. :) Seemed to ramp up in difficulty quickly, but was fun.

shard123 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:24am

Awesome mechanics and well executed, nice job!

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:16am

hard i doh undarstand

madlee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:16am

This was pretty cool. I wish it was a little bit more challenging though. I died once on the first level, but then I realized that I only really needed to use one blocker and run along the edge of the screen. That worked for every level, which was somewhat disappointing, because the mechanic is cool. Good job!

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:04am

Very nice game, but some tutorial needed.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32am

Pretty neat idea!

havana24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49am

You need to think routines quickly, it's hard the first time... but anyway interesting mechanics! Congrats! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Very fun little game!
The difficulty curve is a little weird tho.
Some levels are too hard, some too easy, in no specific order (apparently).
Also, the lack of audio is kinda annoying.
Overall 4/5.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I like the mechanic. I might have liked it if you could plan your routes in timed phases - real time is kinda tricky, too much to do at once, but maybe that's part of the charm. I got to pass once and it was awesome, I did a victory dance.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:59pm

This is one of the funnest entries by far!

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:03pm

This is a wonderful game, really - in a quite unexpected way! Imagine a game like this w/ better graphics and touch controls. Good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Good game, pretty fun and nice and fast paced

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Nice game dude!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:23pm

The game is fun. You need to act fast on this game. Nice one:)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:22pm

interesting strategy game. Would be neat take on football, with the draw route mechanic. Dont think i’m seen that before. Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]