December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Touch Of Music

by KumoKairo - Jam Entry

My first LD game is finished (not as polished as I wanted it to be, but..)

It's a little music puzzle.
Did you know your computer can write music?!
Now you have to repeat after it.
You hear a melody, you drag your way through the tiles to repeat it. You gain score. You Only Get One Click to repeat the melody.

I upload this as a Jam because I used some Creative Common stuff:
1. I used some textures from Kenneys (http://kenney.nl/) puzzle pack.
2. I also used a cello pentatonic scale by Corsica_S (http://www.freesound.org/people/Corsica_S/)
3. Background music by James Longley (http://www.freesound.org/people/james_longley/)
4. Beautiful background by Ecrivain (http://opengameart.org/content/menu-backdrop)

It was fun, really!
I've made a timelapse video of game creation. It's not from the very beginning because it totally slipped out of my mind - I was eager to begin my work.
Here it is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYasfNYaXpk

---UPDATE---
Ok, I see you guys this has some issues with the theme, so I think I need to explain it a bit.
I was walking down the street several hours after the announcement of the theme, and this concept hit me. I was absolutely sure it fully cowers the theme, because, after all, You Get Only One touch to drag through the tiles. You can try several times, but in the end it's just one touch. I also thought of making the target sound to play Once, or Only One try to repeat the melody, but it would be a massacre of players, because this game is pretty hard (for me). So I decided to keep it easy and let you try as many times as you like, but you'll have to connect all tiles with one touch anyway.
So this is just my interpretation of the theme. But of course it's totally up to you to decide if this game matches the theme or not :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Audio(Jam)4.17
#23Innovation(Jam)3.78
#43Fun(Jam)3.68
#45Overall(Jam)3.79
#58Mood(Jam)3.64
#184Graphics(Jam)3.52
#311Humor(Jam)2.17
#367Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12am

This is one of the best games I've played today! Took me a second to realize I had to repeat the music but after that, I had a ton of fun.

Please continue this game and release it for mobile!

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14am

Wow, this is incredibly addictive and fun. Would love to have something just like this on my iPad or Android phone.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25am

Really nice work - the polish on this really shines. Put it on iPad or submit it to a neurogaming company.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26am

That was pretty entertaining, nice work...

Gear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31am

Boy am I glad that repeat button was there.

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

Great to see another music-based game! This one is really tricky also for a musical ear, very innovative use of music in a puzzler :) If you're into music games you're welcome to check out my entry too. Well done!

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09am

I second the request for a mobile version, would be a great for bite sized play sessions

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31am

Theme ties aren't the strongest, but the gameplay is innovative and it's a lot of fun to play! Well executed.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34am

Very nice! Good work!

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:35am

This is really good. It would also be a fun touch screen game. It's nice to see a music game here, since most of the games I've tried here either had no music, or had 3 second loops of notes that aren't in the same key.

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41am

Really nice brain workout there, and a nice challenge for the ear. Looks very well polished too!

maxim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04am

Amazing concept executed brilliantly. The only thing that could possibly improve it would be if the color of the blocks reflected the note they played for easier memorization.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

Didn't really match the theme at all, fun though

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

I like the idea. It has a great potential! Mobile version would be popular, I think))

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54am

This is super dope. I'm glad your puzzles introduced diagonals so early, or I probably never would've figured that out (I am dumb).

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05am

Very nice entry. Everything is perfect apart from the theme flavour.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Very good game, but somehow i couldn't remember what tile prodiced which sound while playing, had to test all the way.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Fantastic, soothing experience. Probably easier for musicians than for me :)

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I think you have a hit on your hands. Would be great for hand-held devices.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nicely polished, and fun to play. good work!

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

1. Turn this into iPhone game.
2. ???
3. Profit!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Thanks for your feedback guys! Glad you like it!
As for the theme - now I think it's a bit tricky, yes.
But the moment this concept hit me I had no doubt it totally cowers the theme. You have to drag it all the way through with just ONE touch. Anyway, thank you for the feedback!

I will totally make the mobile game out of this!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Very fun and addictive game, well done. It wouldn't take much to make this a polished and publishable game, hope you keep working on it.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

This is hands down the best game i played so far. You should do more.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Wow, it's pretty fun. But it got to a point where it took ages to get it right xD Or maybe I'm just bad at it :P
Graphics are simple, gameplay is great.
Nicely done :)

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Very cool. I think it can be awesome on mobile :).

Pitoum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Very very nice game! It really hooked me!
Congratulations.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

It's a very calm game. The sounds used is nice. It's like the game "Simon" but audio-only, plus turned into a puzzle. Felt very innovative, good job!

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

A nice unique puzzle game. Very addicting. I could see this on a mobile phone or tablet for sure. Good job!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:51am

Like everyone else is saying, I need this on my phone and I need it yesterday. Immensely satisfying, rewarding and relaxing as a hot cup of tea in the evening. Smashing job.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01am

interesting simon-style game. since it doesn't build on the previous level, it gets tricky really fast. liked it quite a bit.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59am

Very cool. I don't normally like these kinds of games (I'm really bad at them) but this kept me engaged for awhile.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03am

Very interesting concept! Very innovative!

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36am

nice little puzzle game, nothing too original, but very polished good work

MisterDerek2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43am

Great work! Very fun and polished.

5elephants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05am

Wow, I am impressed, really. I love how simple it is and yet entertaining and relaxing. I agree this should be made a full game for mobile.

Only gripe, I don't think it fits the theme too much.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Nice game, could be good for mobile. You can sell from there! :D

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Really nice, though the diagonal ones are hard to pull off.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

really well done man :)

Shigor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:24pm

It's a good idea but it's incredible hard game for us tone-deaf :(

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13pm

really nice relaxing game well done

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Best game I've played today so far. This is also a fantastic way to develop melody recognition/learning - keep going with this!!!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Full 5 stars from me, this is incredible! I think it fits the theme very well, "you only get one" string of sounds to play, it makes sense to me anyway :P

Seriously get this on iOS and Android ASAP and make sure to get it noticed and you'll have a hit!

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Pretty good game!, it's funny, i think this game will be winner in this compo, good luck!

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Just spent (again) way too much time playing this... is it beatable?

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Pretty relaxing. I liked it.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I'm not normally one for a game based soley on puzzles, especially when they involve grids of blocks haha.

But your game is very enjoyable! It's nicely paced, building up to somewhat unexpected complexity for a game made in a short amount of time with a seemingly simple concept. Also fantastic job on your first LD!

I can't really think of any negative things to comment about. All of the mechanics work well for what they are and it was a joy to figure out each rhythm.

I did have one thought though, it would be interesting if the sounds were to change occasionally. I became a bit fatigued after a while listening to the same tones. Having more variety also would allow for players to have to learn new sound/color associations. After a while you figure out the relation between sound/color. Could be good to shake that up on occasion.

Dikkop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Awesome game! Really relaxing and also interesting to challenge the ear for a change :)

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very nice little game, well done.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

This is so amazing! it feels really good figuring out the notes, and the overall presentation is pretty neat.
Great work!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13am

Addictive, fun, great presentation.

ryann says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:45am

It's a great musical aptitude test. Could make for very useful learning software possibly. It needs some more instruments to mix up the sound!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:28am

Thanks for the feedback and ideas!
omaha, yes, it's beatable.. Somehow. I have a YOU WIN screen with a cheering caption but I don't really think anyone could go that far (I couldn't). The game ends once the melody consists of 30 notes (which is almost the whole grid 6x6)

hoqjed, nice idea! I thought of making a more appropriate piano sound but there were no free scale samples (or I just didn't have enough time to find it). And I'm surely going to add some more sounds. Thanks!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:06am

The best I ever played in this jam. Really good job.

yosh says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13am

I think we got a new puzzle concept!
You could really monetize this cool game by porting it on mobile! (even though I would hate to sit next to someone playing this game :D).

Back to the LudumDare context, I would mainly criticize the fact you don't necessarily respect the them... Or maybe because it's only one strike?

Great job!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51am

Incredible stuff! Really innovative mechanics, and it's addicting!

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09am

I loved this game. Really well polished.

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21pm

this game is really well done

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Very, very good entry. It definitely has its place on applestore :p

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Very nice game. Love the concept!

cesisco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:24pm

5/5 one of my favourites for sure

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Great polish, great mechanic and concept. Really good game.

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Beautiful and Zen, great work.

plaguespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I like control scheme! You can touch both music and yourself at the same time!

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57pm

More instruments would be great (then again... you only get one? ^^)
Not bad at all, but not really challenging either, once you know the "sound" of each color :)

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Would be great on a touch device. Only portion of puzzle solving I didn't like was the trial and error process of plinking each note before figuring out the sequence, especially trying to find the correct starting tone. Might make it too easy but a hint as to the starting color could be useful. Great job!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice work! Hard for someone with not that good feel for pitch. I also could see my self annoying fellow passengers on the commute train trying to get the sequences right.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:14am

Simon Says + Geometrical Puzzle = Win! Make this for mobile and call me when you're rich :P

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:33am

Loved this. Great polish and fun to play. Nice art and great musical tones.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:32am

I see you on Indieorama! Nice game!

chardish says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56am

Amazing work all around. My brain had trouble with the colors at first but it just seemed to "click" after a while. Well done.

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:43am

Very cool puzzle mechanic and quite fun to mess with.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:14am

Haha I've also used some of Kenny.nl's stuff in my Jam entry. Good stuff!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:36pm

MMmmm yes lovely! Massive fan of anything that uses music as a gameplay mechanic, great work!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:52am

Really enjoyed this take on a puzzle game. Well done. :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Good gameplay! This casual and memory game is very interesting! My memory fail at the seven'th level :s

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:31pm

This could perfectly be the winner for Compo.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Well what can you say about repeat the melody game, well it will either be "really good", or "absolute s**t". This game is definitely going to "really good" category of games. Love it.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Beautiful, clever reworking of Simon. Totally fits the theme! Would love to see more of this - very talented work!

henrykun says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:50am

Great game, nice graphics and good concept too!.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Stopped once I got to the 6x6; I'm not doing an entire 30-note sequence! xD

Great idea, not bad execution. I think you could really improve upon this, though. Using different note samples, and also perhaps color-coding the pitches according to hue. Things like that.

bobo_oh says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

Wow this game is just soooo awesome, you definitely have to make an android app so that I can't stop playing :)

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

Good combination of the music and puzzle.

anvoz says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I really love the idea. It's very innovative and entertaining. I think it will be a great success on the market if you continue to make this seriously.

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Addictive and fun! Well Done!

gustavodort says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Wow.
I liked this A LOT!

oxysoft says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Very nicely done, got very hard though

Sebastian says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:46am

Brilliant idea and excellently executed too, well done!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Wow, this is great and actually one of my favorites this LD, Awesome job! I'd pay for a game like this.

Novodantis says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:06pm

A really superb little music/puzzle game. One of the most fun and addictive in the Jam, for me!

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:37am

Very nice game. I had fun finding the correct solutions. Also a good ear training and sound memorization game. I like it very much.

frogmaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Wow! A true gem on Ludum Dare! I love to have it on my phone, thank you for the android binary :) Sorry, I can't rate theme very high, but everything else is outstanding!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Good exercise for your tone ear! Entertaining and somewhat useful!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]