December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Impoverished Starfighter

by danbo - Jam Entry

A shoot-em-up where You Only Get One... coin.

CONTROLS ARE ARROW KEYS + ZXC OR WASD + JKL

Of course, one coin means a one credit clear - no continues allowed. But that's pretty par for the course as shmups go. So, one coin in this context means the coin you get to build your ship with - one dollar.

I love shmups, but the much-maligned "euroshmups" such as Tyrian, Raptor, Jets n Guns never held much bearing for me. Everything was too spammy, the player too tanky, and the power creeps until the game becomes trivial or a case of numbers bashing against each other.

So, I thought I'd make a game in that style and see if I could make something I liked better. I like shmups, and while no good shmup ever made had a shop worth mentioning, building your own ship doesn't sound like a fundamental flaw. To avoid power creep, the resource used to pay for weapons, stats, etc is set in stone, a dollar.



The game is probably poorly balanced. It's also most likely way too hard. Keep trying!

Consult the readme for music/audio sources.
Graphics are courtesy of Lostgarden's excellent remastered Tyrian graphics : http://www.lostgarden.com/2007/04/free-game-graphics-tyrian-ships-and.html

Developed in LOVE2D 0.8.0. I have not tried it against 0.9.0.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#55Fun(Jam)3.62
#83Audio(Jam)3.51
#92Graphics(Jam)4.05
#95Overall(Jam)3.54
#162Mood(Jam)3.24
#292Humor(Jam)2.25
#343Theme(Jam)2.54
#416Innovation(Jam)2.41

Comments

LukeR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05am

You need to make it a .zip, I cant open it.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11am

Alright, fixed.

Deity says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13am

Worked fine for me (he's using 7-zip instead of Zip).

Game is definitely a bit too hard. Also, I had to mash keys to figure out what the controls were (even on the startup screen). Graphics and animations looked good though and the game has potential.

realyarlesp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54am

this game is ridiculous lmao. have you beaten it yet op

mutilator says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Fan of shmups too, I made one for this LD as well

Muciojad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice graphics, solid gameplay and quite good audio - recipe for a good game, you did it ;)

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Looks and plays very well, but it's hard as hell!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Could you post OSX binaries? Thanks!

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Added a OSX build. Don't know if it'll work, though.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Wow.... Awesome entry! Cool concept of ship upgrades - and an epic reversed coin sound when selling :P
One of the best jam submissions I played so far!

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Very nice graphics and effects.

bodsey says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very hard indeed :) Nice shmup tho, congrats

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very nice. Cool graphics, smooth, pretty hectic. I feel the theme was a little shoe-horned in here, but I'll forgive it because it's fun. ;)

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Hard as hell, but very good! Excellent visuals and audio!

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

nice this looks like it could be on a phone

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

not my kind of game, but its very, very well done.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Great entry!
Loved the sounds and gameplay.
Great replayability with a variety of different ship setups.
Would make the store interface more explanatory though.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Fun game. A little balance in the options you can chose from would be nice ^^

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Graphics are awesome (I particularly like how the title screen introduced itself). I really liked how you could choose what your ship was gonna be like without it being being permanent (i.e. the upgrades were temporary unlike a game where you continuously upgrade). That gave a nice sense. The main thing I didn't like was that you had to switch to mouse for the menu, and also I think an option to downgrade your ship would have been nice to get your money back and use it on something else, if you had changed your mind. Oh also, the music is pretty decent but it doesn't seem all that fitting. The game was very well presented and ran smoothly though. Nice job.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Really nice game. Everything falls into place, the graphics, the audio. You Aced it! :D

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57pm

The graphic is a bit inconsistent in style, but i löve shoot-em-ups! It's very good playable. I like the bulletformations.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I can't really believe you wrote ~100kb (excluding libraries) of code in such a code quality and made all the graphics in 72 h ;). But if...really really good.

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very nice game, fun, good graphics and matches the theme perfectly. My only advice is to try to add a different mechanic, to make it different to all shooters

Ovno says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Great game, could have played for ages :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Superb production quality. Made me nostalgic about Xenon II!

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Wow, amazing. Beaten the first boss (with a lot of struggle!!), but when i discovered there was another level i lost so quickly...
Great gameplay, liked the fact that there are A LOT of different enemies, everyone with their nice sprite. Even if it's a bit difficult(that's part of the game), good job.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Nice job. I'm not fan of these type of shooters, but gave it a go. I liked weapon upgrade possibilities and gfx was pretty cool.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Very polished and well designed shoot em up! I guess it doesn't matter if your impoverished if all the upgrades are dirt cheap ;). But honestly, one of the best crafted games in the competition. Well done!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I love me some ship shooters so this was a definite treat! It was difficult but more than that it suffers from a problem that bullet hell games needs to be very careful about: I didn't know what my hit area was. Without being able to easily tell the game becomes a lot more difficult.

Also, it would be nice to have some feedback that my bullets are doing damage to those enemies that take several hits, sometimes I was about to give up shooting them (under the assumption that they might be invincible) right before they exploded and proved they were killable.

As a whole though, the $1 limit was funny and I enjoyed flying between bullets and learning what enemy ships did what and how to best fight that new type. Great work!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The game crashed for me after I chose start in the main menu.

ryann says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:24am

The game is incredibly difficult, you didn't stick to the theme so well, and there are some framerate issues (ie when you use rapidfire primary weapon at the same time as the flamethrower) but other than that it really is perfect. I hope you choose to release an update.

drakeirving says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:54am

I feel a bit unsatisfied just beating stage 2 and getting congratulated! It only took three tries, so I think I was expecting more ;P

To be honest I think it's quite well-balanced for the time you had. Might be too hard if you aren't good with STGs, but what you have isn't anywhere near an objectionable difficulty.
The main difficulties in the second stage came from the red H-shaped enemies firing in stacked V patterns. I think you should have used some different spawning patterns for these and made them come from the right as well. Also, the second boss was way easier than the first and was much too short.

Solid job for 48 hours, was quite fun. Best controls and most polished STG I've experienced so far in Ludum.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice game. It's very polished :O

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice graphics.

DallOner says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Good game dude! ilovu!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]