December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Senor Cuadrito 2: You only get one Glitch

by alesys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Senor Cuadrito 2: You only get one Glitch

Senor Cuadrito got in troubles again! This time a Glitch in his brand new PS4 trapped him. HELP HIM!!! And grab some coins, they are free. Free coins are yumi!!!

This is an HTML5 game, made with Flash CC HTML5 Canvas.
The Music was made in LogicPro, I used 2 instruments and a max of 3 voices.
SoundFX were made with Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#149Audio3.25
#215Humor3.03
#255Graphics3.43
#326Mood3.00
#389Fun3.00
#399Overall3.13
#766Innovation2.47
#816Theme2.28

Comments

alesys says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:25am

Currently fixing a Glitch lol... collision is having troubles for some weird reason.
I still have some time to fix this.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:35am

I love this type of games, but I think you should do the movement with WASD or arrow keys, it seems more natural, it took me five second to understand tha I was suppose to click. I love the rest

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Great Game, lov the gaphics and concept.

RocketDuke says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Cool game but optional AD movement wouldmake it even better on PC's

alesys says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Thank you for your comments.
I've added an option at the start screen to choose between arrow keys (including AD) or mouse pointer.
In PC's keyboard is chosen by default, in Android or iOS it won't show these options, it will use touch.

btwj says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Simple but fun. I really like the music, great work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice game ! The concept is cool, the graphics are nice, I like the dynamic background.

alesys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Thank you! Actually the background originally was used to debug data of the game. But I ended likening its look so I left it there to add mood to the game.

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01am

Great game. Simplistic but tastefully so. Good job.

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

Loved the art of the game, but some collisions are in trouble, the game is very interesting. Congratulations!

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15am

I loved the graphics, especially the screen beginning to display glitches on the sides.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:17am

oh well is all i can say

bttf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:43am

Interesting concept with the glitches and all, I really liked that ...

Pomb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:50am

I didn't like that the monster had ease movement, felt cheated because when I fell faster, supposedly gaining more distance they monster is catching up so wasn't rewarded for going fast.
The reward for going slow is that you get to collect all the coins, but then it must be hard because the monsters on your tail, if you go fast the reward is that the pressure is less but you don't get all the coin.
I would definitely change the monster to have constant speed. And perhaps only do lateral movement when on the same platform as the player, that way you can game the AI better. Wrapping would be another cool addition to the game. Good Job! Fantastic contrast between walkable ground and player character.

alesys says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:39am

Thank you!
I think you are right. It's speed should be incremental. I'm thinking about some cool power ups and hats (because hat's are awesome!).

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:54am

yeah, 630 points! Quadrito is so cute, a nice entry!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:44am

Not much in the way of gameplay, but such a great style! Great job on the title screen animation.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Simple but really enjoyable. I liked the pixel art and those bgm loops were insanely catchy.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The music is so good. ^_^ I love this! Really awesome work, rated highly. :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Loved the music, and the movement felt just right.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:14am

amazing pixel art, awesome music, really fun game, 5/5, i really enjoy it.

alesys says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:20am

[>n__n]>

Kyatric says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Nice intro and indeed, graphics and music/audio do the job of providing a nice ambiance.

I'm wondering though if it is possible to finish/beat the game.
It seems, whatever I do (collecting or not collecting the coins) I can't escape the glitch and a moment will happen where I will be forced to run into it, without any way of dodging it whatsoever.
It gives an unpleasant feeling of "what's the point?" or maybe I missed something.

Very good job on the general ambiance though that makes it pretty coherent and a nice humorous start/scenario to begin with.

One regret on the fact that I can't skip the start dialogue in game after retry.

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice music! Jumping would be kind of nice though! Also, I think there is debug info showing up on the screen (platform x,y...)

psc1997 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Interestin idea ! I liked it !
Graphics is nice too ;)

Jod says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:13am

Got to 840! Loved the writing and combination of music and graphics. Solid animation, too!

Conflei says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:14am

Jajaja pobre se;or cuadrito siempre lo mato xD esta muy bueno el juego.

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:47am

It's... interesting.

postmodestie says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:48am

Nice feel and humorous. poor me.. :)

GagaPete says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Like the game, I only got debug output on the game screen that looked strange.

garygreen says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Great game. I liked the retro styling and the little touches made it a very polished entry.

alesys says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:26am

Hi guys, thank you for your reviews, votes and comments. The debugging data is part of the charm of the glitch, that's why I left it there : P

Actually Im thinking about porting it to mobile and add some nice features, like power ups, jumps, more worlds, humor and cool stuff.

What do you think?

van noctar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Very fun gameplay!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]