December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mystery Tower

by underww - Jam Entry

- Controls
Numpad or arrow keys : Move
Numpad5 or Enter : Skip one turn.
Numpad0 or Space bar : Pick an item up.
1, 2, 3 : Look your item.
4 : Use the usable item.

This is an endless tower climbing(dungeon crawling) game.
You only get one item on each floor.
And also, you only have one weapon, one armor and one usable item at the same time.

I used C++ and SFML. Pixel art by Oryx.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#82Theme(Jam)3.44
#166Overall(Jam)3.32
#184Fun(Jam)3.11
#245Graphics(Jam)3.29
#318Mood(Jam)2.76
#434Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41am

A very sparse, yet polished roguelike. It seems I only ever got cursed items, but that must just be my bad luck!

severus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57am

I got cursed pants too. Nice work, however!

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04am

With a title like that I had to play it.
It was fun. Although defeating a frog and a cat didn't feel that brave.
It's pretty hard not to take the first item on a floor.

Reminded me a bit of gateway to aphsai. Nice!

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:26am

Brings back fond memories of Castle of the Winds.

Great concept! Stops the issue of having to choose items to discard. Great work.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nicely done!

BuKaneerz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37am

Cool game, nice job (:
It's a pity that it have no sounds there !

Moist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38am

I like the minimalstic graphics a lot. Some sounds would help the mood though. Still had plenty of fun with this. Good job!

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:42am

If you pursue this, maybe make it so inventory is not so limited. Or, if you keep the limitation, remove traditional roguelike curses, etc. and make everything helpful, or immediately identified.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Interesting theme approach. Roguelikes ftw!

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Really like graphics. One item is unnecessarily restrictive though.

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Good work! It's a good idea, gives the game a new layer of difficulty in a already difficult genre like the roguelikes are.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice game, missing a bit of information on what the different items do.

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:40am

Good game. Would be better if you had added some sound effects from sfxr....

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:03pm

one item thing comes more like an unnecessary restriction. I'd rather have more options.

gnargle says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Pretty great! I liked the 'YOGO' item per floor thing, means you really have to plan ahead!

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Heck yes! This is awesome. I love roguelikes, and I think this is a great use of the theme. Really great job.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

A bit too hard with the items restriction. Anyway good job!

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:53am

This was more difficult than I expected. I only was able to make it to the 6th floor, but it was still a cool game. Very nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]