December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Night on the Express

by JimmyDelaney19 - Jam Entry

A 7 Sided Games Production

You are Frank Delaney, Private Detective.
You are feeling particularly hardboiled tonight.
Can you use your wits and your skills of deduction to solve the mystery of a murder on the rails?
I Hope so, cause YOU ONLY GET ONE chance to figure out whodunit!

(P.S. The Surgeon General advises that you do not look directly at the bugs) ;P

-With love
Seven Sided Games

Edit: We are aware the game is very buggy. We are working to fix them! Thanks for all of your feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Audio(Jam)4.18
#14Mood(Jam)4.09
#17Overall(Jam)4.00
#19Graphics(Jam)4.48
#55Theme(Jam)3.61
#72Fun(Jam)3.52
#123Humor(Jam)3.05
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

x70x says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:00am

Nice atmosphere and great use of the theme!

And that's a killer fez...

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:00am

Five for graphics! Very cool

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:01am

Lovely game dude! The music was awesome and so were the graphics, and it was intense!

afterisk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:05am

Very cool game, couldn't figure out who is killer yet but I will! :) Great atmosphere!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Paddleball kid is the one that had a luck escape, the incessant racket was enough to get thrown from an open window. :D

Great art, great piano soundtrack and great depth and character for a jam entry, excellent work and best of luck!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:45am

Audio and graphics were great!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:16am

Very nice atmosphere, a lot of content for a game made in 72h. K so I failed in hardcore mode after I couldn't gather anymore clues. You can't tell me who was the murderer? ;-P

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:38am

That's some really, really awesome work for a jam! Cool character designs and story and everything! Never thought something like this could be done in a jam.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:23am

Really really solid. More than I'd hoped for. I don't usually go in for these kinds of games, but the mood was excellent. Still, I wish it was a little more guided, kind of felt like I was wandering aimlessly, and just spent my accusation as soon as I got tired of playing. Still, super cool for what it is!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Wonderful game! Amazing work! The mood was so right it got me hooked and wishing to start watching detective movies or read books!
However, one of the bugs that you've told not to look onto spoiled the joy: I've got the mobsters in the room and when trying to select the option "Truth", they were saying the same lines as the "Alibi" question. :(
Really want to see this title polished and released!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice use of theme.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I WON!!! XD I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Great atmosphere! It reminds me of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and Jordan Mechner's The Last Expres. Nice cast of characters, there are just plenty of them to interrogate.
Great soundtrack and sound FX. Graphics are awesome with comfy compartments, nice paintings on the walls and snowy landscape scrolling behind the train windows...
When a room is full of people it's often difficult to see which person you're talking to: a UI hint would be helpful.
As you noted there are a few bugs indeed, I hope you'll be able to fix them soon :-)
Very well done!

Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Excellent game ! The graphics are beautiful, the music amazing, the atmosphere was awesome. Great work !

Nut says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:21am

Neat little game. Loved the graphics and music. I couldn't really find any actual evidence though, so I just accused somebody randomly and got it wrong. Maybe there's something I missed that triggers new dialogue options?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]