December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Agent LD28

by Steve [tacospice] - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game is an executable JAR file. Requires Java.
(updated to fix a bug related to replays)

I wanted to do an HTML5 build too, but GWT is dumb and I have no idea why it won't work.

Zip package contains source.


- Premise:
You only get one shot.
Cause as much chaos as possible!


- Controls:
Left mouse to fire
Right mouse to zoom
R to replay after firing
Escape to quit


- Requirements:
Java
Graphics card capable of OpenGL ES 1.0
Keyboard with the keys R, Enter, Escape and/or Alt+F4
Mouse with left click button, right click optional


- Game tested on:
Windows 8 (64-bit)
JRE 1.7.0_25-b17 (64-bit)

- Some info on the mechanics:
People and vehicles will panic if they are in the proximity of a dead body.
Panicking people may run into the street. Panicking cars may drive onto the sidewalks.

Panicking cars may run people over or crash into other cars.
Crashing (tanker) trucks will set nearby people on fire.

Too many people in a single spot will cause death by trampling.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#18Humor4.00
#46Theme3.88
#63Fun3.67
#67Graphics4.00
#74Overall3.73
#90Audio3.49
#119Innovation3.59
#197Mood3.28

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

This is a really fun little game. Watching the chain reaction caused by your one shot is really amusing. The isometric style is always cool and works really well. Excellent game!

arkeus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20am

Quite fun! I had a hard time aiming, my mouse seemed too twitchy even at 2x zoom, but still fun regardless.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

Very fun! Graphics are charming, fun to replay, sounds are crisp and appropriate. A+

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39am

Great fun! How the chain reaction works was pretty confusing, though.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44am

Haha this made me laugh so much xD, very entertaining game.

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50am

Not sure what the strategy is. I find shooting any vehicle's drive causes massive chaos all over the town. I wish it went full screen too. The graphics were fun.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:52am

Well made! I love the humour in the briefing!

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:23am

Awesome game! Lots of chaos with very little effort is always a plus!

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37am

I can't quite figure out what I could have potentially done. Otherwise, it's a great concept.

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41am

Very nice! This is a new and interesting take on chain reactions, executed well and with lovely graphics and good implementation! :)

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41am

Who would think that a single shot can cause that much havok? :P The mechanics and interaction between the entities is awesome! Also loved the assignment texts^^ Good job!

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Very fun game, the aiming was a bit tricky however.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

I got recommended to play this by Mitcheh after he had played it and will I say this was fun and the cute graphics too was great I caused so much trouble at one point I had with 760% great effort, I want to see more from you :3

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I enjoyed this very much, the presentation, the graphic style all was nice.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Lovely concept! The intro is a bit slow and I'd love a fast retry to keep playing and experimenting, but the core game is very well-made!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48pm

@mtre and future commenters: you can hit enter to make the briefing screens fade out quicker!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Oops, mtrc. My bad!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Shoot, watch, press enter rapidly, repeat. I love chain reaction games like this. Great pixels and fun audio. Only thing i was missing was some sence of progression. =)
Anyway, awesome level generation.

Polyganz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

That was lots of fun. The graphics are cute. The mission text is a little redundant because I takes a lot of time to type out so I always skipped it. Could be even more fun if you make more levels and new combos with a clear goal for each level. :)

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

The intro sets the mood so well, and the music is just great. Turns out I can't shoot vehicles (or *I* can't shoot well) and failed the second mission, but I love this! Would definitely like to see this further developed.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

The game is great! I made a panic of 1420% LOL.
I loved the game concept and the way it connects with the theme. Nice pixel art too.
Congratulations.

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Awesome game, hilarious names and premise.

rxi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Really excellent audio. I absolutely loved the music, it felt very fitting and gave me a 1990s PC game vibe.

Liked the graphics and the fact that the game contained entire little cities. The thought of something usually considered so vast being condensed inside a 48hour game is quite an interesting idea and no doubt an impressive achievement.

I enjoyed the humour in the text, and chuckled a couple of times reading it. The stupid little sounds the civilians made when they died were hilarious, it put me in one of them positions where I felt awful for laughing at these little pixelated people being burnt alive and trampled to death, but couldn't help it due to the absurdity.

Overall a really nice job.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Can't beat unnecessarily large amounts of damage and exploding vehicles. A lot of fun. Good job!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43am

Ah, the satisfaction of causing chaos in little virtual cities. Quite fun.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12pm

It reminds me of a flash game a saw in which you can turn one since person into a zombie and see how it destroys the place. :p

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

I like it!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very funny, I got a panic score of about 550% by killing a lady on a central square.

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38am

Awesome game, I love the graphics. Although the chain reaction seems to be a strange seems unclear how it works. I shot a lady, and nothing happened. Then about 20 seconds later a petrol tanker on the other side of town exploded. I guess it add to the humor of it :)

hirsch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I really liked the isometric perspective, and the game is quite good for this short amount of time. I just got a bit confused, because i did not know why the whole city explodes because of killing one human :D
Otherwise nice game :)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:18pm

A solid 4-star entry. It's like some sort of twisted dark comedy social commentary, but the gameplay idea of causing reactions is fun just for the sake of itself.

doitle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Like isometric dominoes with fire. It was fun trying to come up with the best chain reaction. Graphics are very good for the style and the audio is just fine. A very solid and fun entry. The game could perhaps use a mechanic that forces you not to just wait around and rack up kills slowly. Since the game says "Press R for Extraction", it might be good to eventually have the army or police show up and try to secure the city and you have to balance waiting to see the destruction with escaping before you are caught.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Awesome! Entire game is awesome. Really a cleaver idea. Not just one shot and you're done. Instead you watch the consequences of that single bullet :D

rnlf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Great visuals, looks like Transport Tycoon or similar :D

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Solid game, really enjoyed killing people xD
I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/ph4Rui-mL0k

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Scored 1790% :-) Liked the graphics, and humorous side of this.. although gameplay needs some balancing (too random now). Nice entry.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Hahaha, this game was pretty amusing!

The only thing I would've wanted is for the text to display faster, because I wanted to read it but it took so long...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]