December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save Your Mother!

by viinnyk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your mother is dying and You Only Get One dollar to save her! Can you do it?
Less of a game than an interactive story. Set it the style of late 1980's point-and-click adventures. Hasn't been tested at all on Windows or Linux, so tell me if anything doesn't work. To play, unzip the folder and click on "saveyourmother.jar". The other files contained are natives and required libraries. JAVA is required to run.
Brief Instructions:
Click to go places and to advance text. From the main street, you can visit the bar, store, and alley. When in a location, the exit will be at the bottom or the door (if present), with the exception of the alley, whee the exit is at the left. All of the people can be spoken to. To access your inventory / pause the game, click the "I" button. If you find yourself unable to proceed, you can click the reset button, but if you encounter difficulties after doing so just close and restart the application. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#485Theme2.89
#540Audio2.41
#756Mood2.38
#822Graphics2.21
#889Innovation2.18
#935Overall2.35
#963Fun1.94
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

looks like it was decently made but I can't figure out what is going on. Also you get suck on the terrain with the click movement. And since this isn't 1984 anymore there should be some kind of indicator about which things you can interact with and where the exits are.

viinnyk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Yeah you're right. I may make a post-compo version that's longer and more clear.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Okay my guy was suddenly upside down and i couldn't figure out what was going on. I like the soundtrack

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Hmmm maybe switch to dropbox for the file download? I don't like downloading things from ad-filled pages.

Also there wasn't really a clear way to leave places once I entered them which kinda made the game unbeatable. I tried twice.

Movement and stuff was fairly glitchy.

Also I think if you're going with a drawn kinda style, you may as well use higher resolution graphics, as the pixelly scribbly graphics didn't really look that great. :/

Still, it looked interesting.

Lythom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20am

Hi,
here are a few tips to improve the game :
- be sure there's no important glitch (I got stuck several times, couldn't play as I would have liked)
- put some background under your text to make enough constrast and have them readable
- It's ok for art to be "stylished", but try to keep the interface clear (buttons, critical informations) until your drawing skills level up

I liked how you considered the theme, the idea behind is great.

Couldn't give a good rate because I couldn't enjoy the game because of glitches (after 6~7 tries), that's the critical part to improve right now.
Anyway, thanks for the game !

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:22am

Cool game. I got stuck though.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Wasn't too bad it was missing stuff like people have mentioned.

Nichii says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:22am

I don't really know what to do... if only there is some indicator, I would play it a little bit longer... Remember, if you want people to keep on playing your game, remember to make it intuitive from the start itself.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]