December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cellar Rush

by Radnen - Jam Entry

Intro:
Welcome to cellar rush! A game all about surviving for only one day. Yep, you get only one day to survive and only one life. :)

Controls:

Use the keyboard keys to run around, or the thumbstick of a 360 controller.

Hit space/A button to swing your sword.
Hit ctrl/B button to drop a trap.

Hit 1 or 2 to change trap.
Hit LB or RB to change trap.

The Team:

Radnen (Andrew Helenius): code, art, sounds
MetalGrunt (Alex Helenius): art, design
DaVince (Vincent Beers): music

Linux and Mac users:

The game runs 100% in Linux, and Mac under Wine. Also, there exists Mac and Linux versions of the game engine, but it's probably too much hassle for a compo game (you want to build an old code base circa 2001 from scratch?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Audio(Jam)3.47
#110Mood(Jam)3.44
#164Fun(Jam)3.16
#177Overall(Jam)3.28
#202Graphics(Jam)3.45
#387Theme(Jam)2.39
#414Innovation(Jam)2.42
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

I liked the music. What programming language did you make this with?

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

I liked the music too! The programming language for this game is JavaScript (spidermonkey v1.5). Not v8 variant or anything fast, so a very slow language indeed.

Otherwise it was made in the Sphere game engine which was written in C++.

mactinite says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

This was indeed a fun game. I hooked up my 360 controller(which was gathering dust) and went to town! I love the art style of the tileset. Gave me those nostalgia feels. ;)

DaVince says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Challenging! Haven't managed to win yet. I like the medieval theme you gave this.

Also, smashing the space bar when you're about to die will very likely make you skip the "You Died" screen. Add a small delay or a different button to return to the main menu?

DaVince says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Also, thanks Dmitrix (and Radnen, of course)!

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

It is beatable, but at the end of the day you are trying for a highscore. :) It was a last second decision to bump up the enemy count from 6 to 12, and boy did that make a difference!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

cool retro game music. Nice art style and funny fighting animation. But the monsters are constantly running straight after you... they are forming long line ^^ Very challenging game.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Sphere engine kept crashing. Will try again tomorrow on a fresh boot. :(

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Okay, it gets bounced by AVG antivirus and has to be added to exceptions to run. :p

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Awesome pixelated dark dungeon crawling goodness. Good job!

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:40am

I just updated the game with minor bugfixes and a backstory screen. I don't think this is breaking the rules, the game is largely left unchanged. Keep having fun!

alexc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45am

I think the game would be better if everything moved a little faster. There's a lot of waiting for characters to reach each other.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49am

Great art and fun game play. I didn't win yet so I'll be back for more later with my controller.

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50am

Pretty cool and pretty hard.

michail says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I like the graphics and audio, but the gameplay needs some balancing - I just stood in one place (not even a corner) and used only sword and I easily won. Anyway, I appreciate the amount of work you put on the details, such as different sword animations on hit and the background music.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Great music and nice art style.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:55pm

A solid game. It gets very interesting with the traps, but a long time I just ran around in cycles. Did you considered to change the target from surviving a specific amount of time to kill a specific amount of enemies? The sword fighting is also a bit of unfair, because you can't kill them fast enough. Why not lowering the enemies health, but make them more or faster? The music is very (very!) nice. The graphics are good too, but you could make them even more slick (have a look at this: http://indiestatik.com/2013/11/21/game-teaches-30-tricks-make-action-game-feel-better/).

Radnen says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:39am

Thank you Jeremias, there was a lot more I wanted to add but some time constraints got in the way. I definitely wanted more traps, enemy knockback, enemies that fly, throwing projectiles etc. But the core systems took awhile to code, and I'm still not too happy about some stuff. But definitely these are areas of improvement when I continue this project idea (if it does continue).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]