December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Have One Color

by mactinite - Jam Entry

Welcome to a world that has lived centuries in black and white. The only things that have any color are the impure zombies and the chosen hero that is to bring color to the world. Fight through hordes(kind of) of zombies and reclaim the color for this world. And remember you can only have one... at a time.

If it's your first run through go through the tutorial, otherwise just hit play to skip passed that.

***EDIT***

The music is by DST from nosoapradio.us

Also I see some of you are having issues getting the ending, So I will point out that to make it to the end your Color bar must be full and all the zombies in the level must be eliminated(whether by suicide or sword). The paint drops along the level are pickups that replenish your color bar 10% at a time.

Now that that's out of the way, have fun playing my unfinished buggy game! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#48Audio(Jam)3.73
#150Mood(Jam)3.28
#212Overall(Jam)3.20
#229Innovation(Jam)2.96
#233Fun(Jam)2.96
#285Graphics(Jam)3.15
#305Theme(Jam)2.65
#333Humor(Jam)2.10

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

Had fun grabbing colors and jumping across gaps. The control feels really intuitive. Nice music and mood. Like the scarf flying behind the player. Bit tricky to quickly change color to match zombies. Well done!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

Great music!!!

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

Great art and music. More levels please!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

I feel the control is a bit awkward, esp. the grab color part. But overall it's quite nice platformer. Great music indeed.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

Great work with the music and animations, and a fun concept to play with too. The controls were a little awkward, but you get used to them. Nice work!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28am

It has a great feel to the game and was fun playing.

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

Controls for changing colour were a bit akward, but I had fun playing it. Loved the commentary from the people along the way, and the whole atmosphere of the game.

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41am

Great controls. Cool mechanic, the AI started bunching up and it was very difficult to swap colors in time to hit all of them. Great job!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

i love it

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice music, nice graphics. Zombies are very dumb (they're zombies anyway). Good job overall

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Short but excellent game. I really liked the music and visuals. The scarf alone adds so much character and charm to the otherwise simple visual design. I like the atmosphere set up by the environment and short bits of dialogue by the NPCs. Attack felt a bit prohibitively short ranged, but not that bad. If you decide to expand on the game, it might be neat if each color had a different attack pattern and each color enemy had different attributes to complement it.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46am

Very cool. Great economy of style, theme, and mood etc. Cool music too. But it's not quite done? The music would cut out part way, and I'd get to the end of the stage and nothing would happen. I thought the controls could be better. I could not remember which color was mapped to which button. The zombies may be a little too fast also. Or maybe have them at different speeds so that they don't bunch up like that. BUT! There's an ineffable quality to the piece, it's very cool.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38am

Instead of fighting, I just lured the zombies into suicide. It was easier than dealing with how they bunched up. Giving each color zombie a unique speed (even if only slightly different from the rest) would have been very helpful. Either that or an increased attack range/speed. Otherwise, it seemed impossible to defeat groups of zombies that had different colors. Apart from that, it was a nice game; I thought the audio was great.

mactinite says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

@everyone Thank you very much for taking the time to play the game. I see most of you made it to the end or got there but did not meet the win conditions. However, I assure you there is an ending. This game is very much unfinished and wasn't tested much before the deadline. I see a lot of you talking about the music, if you're interested the artist of the two pieces I used is credited in the credits! check out nosoapradio.us!

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:44pm

The game is interesting! More levels are welcomes!

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:49pm

i really like the idea of the game. it's just a bit hard to understand without watching the tutorial first. graphics look very nice and the control is smooth. congrats!!!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Nice idea about the colors but even if I finish the level I can't move foreward. Nice animations.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:16am

I liked the idea, but I was expecting more depth of the color system.
Other than that, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]