December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sole Survivor

by LD_LAN_Party - Jam Entry

The goal of the game is to find the escape van, only one person can escape. There is only one a weapon (Spear / hammer) that can be found on the map. If you get attacked, you become a monster and can attack other people
Controls: Arrow keys to move. Space to throw weapon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#188Humor(Jam)2.68
#335Mood(Jam)2.72
#337Theme(Jam)2.56
#415Graphics(Jam)2.65
#417Audio(Jam)2.15
#424Innovation(Jam)2.39
#451Fun(Jam)2.33
#462Overall(Jam)2.54

Comments

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23am

I think this is a cool version of tag sorta with the you only have on element mixed in. What libraries and language did you use?

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

SFML and C++

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:52am

Good "tag" game, as noted in the other comments. I'm impressed that you would take on a game that involves networking when you've got such a short time frame, well done.

Gameplay lacks a bit of variety, and I did encounter a few bugs while playing - my player shrunk down to mouse size, but I don't know why. I did eventually turn into a monster, but it was rather confusing. A bit more direction (instructions, etc) might be helpful.

I like the painted look of the world, and sound effects, though there's a reason why they only use the Wilhelm scream once (maybe twice) per movie.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:59am

Cool tag game!

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:14am

Definitely an interesting tag game, but I hit a lot of collision glitches while playing this, which appeared to freeze my game after I got in the van. (The game got stuck and never ended.) The screams were really loud and repetitive. And wait, hold the phone... after I get turned into the monster, I can still drive away in the van?

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:46am

Pretty solid stuff. I have to say I like the moss monster thingamabob.

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:46am

Creepy, at least at first.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:51am

I love the idea to continue to play after being infected. Great work !

koe415 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:22am

Great submission. The art style really works for the monsters and the feeling of trying to escape sets the mood well. As others have said, there are a few collision issues with the trees and running into other monsters. Also, great audio design with both the main menu music and the npc's yelling.

Unfortunately I couldn't get the multiplayer working with anyone else but the singleplayer was still great.

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:38am

Great use of the Wilhelm scream! Unfortunately, the AI was a bit daft and commonly got stuck.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:55am

Nothing to add over what others have already said. Some bugs, repetetive sound, repetitive music and gameplay gets dull pretty quickly. I do like the graphics.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:27am

I continue playing after being infected? Lol

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice concept, though it does get rather repetitive - though that's to be expected in the context of LD. Is it normal that I can still drive away as a monster?

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:28am

Wow man... this game is scary! Also, I think I found some serious bugs: my character couldn't hold the weapon (hammer) and I could enter the scape van even as a monster! ;)

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:43am

I like that you transform in a monster, it kind of makes two games in one! It's a bit strange you can still escape with the van as a monster though.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:01am

Couldn't run on Ubuntu 13.04 due to:

error while loading shared libraries: libGLEW.so.1.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:43am

Is it swamp thing?
I will consider it swamp thing.
I like swamp thing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]