December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Give Me A Hand

by Sink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls
WASD: Moves
Mouse: Move cursor
Left Mouse Button: Shoot left hand
Right Mouse Button: Shoot right hand

Travel through land as a confused armless dude. Collect different arms to have different attacks! This game is very open ended and repayable, I recommend playing it more than once to see everything. Also there is a secret ending if you beat the game with the first arm.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Overall3.81
#77Humor3.57
#86Mood3.58
#118Graphics3.84
#119Theme3.62
#129Fun3.48
#167Innovation3.46
#447Audio2.63
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

Red_Dino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27am

The music is a repetitive, but beyond that, the graphics, story, and gameplay are charming.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

Great visuals, incredible variety in weapons, definitely a blast! Only issue I had was I died immediately upon respawn at one point and got caught in an infinite loop.

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

Interesting use of the theme and solid Zelda-like gameplay

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

I liked that I could fire more than one bullet in the entire game. The boss battle was actually pretty fun.

evilDan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Really fun! I like that the bad guys are easy to kill, like the variety of weapons - just got stuck sometimes because I couldn't bomb my way through the baddies

Mutt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

Nice! I like the simple look and color scheme. Very nice atmosphere. Gameplay could be more polished but definitely holds the interest with all the different abilities. Music is repetitive but it does help the delirious atmosphere.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Great use of the theme. Loved it.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

Smashing graphics, actually enjoyed the music, but could of been a bit longer to cut down on the repetitiveness. Your normal enemies had a slight weakness that they were a bit short sighted, made it easy to snipe them. Solid game play, great work

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

This was pretty charming experience. The music was rather annoying though, got through to the end, but it was hard because mines were not very good against the enemies. I liked the arm system a lot, though.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Awesome game, fun to play, charming art style (love the palette), cool music!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48am

I like the gameplay, its fun! But the final boss seems really hard with some weapons!

The graphics are nice, the sounds are nice. The music can be repetitive.

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54pm

lemme give you a hand for this game
clap clap clap

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:55am

nice production for just a weekend. i noticed that i could just snipe enemies without aggroing them, or run completely through the level without fighting. good job overall dude!

i find it funny that we chose almost the exact same colors for our ground and tiles :)

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:03am

Nice concept! Final boss fight was hilarious! There were some balancing issues with the weapons - rocket arm was sooooo much better than giant arm, for example. Also, it was much easier to run through a level than to fight through it - considering that the game's emphasis was on the weapons, this probably wasn't what you were going for. It was a fun little romp, though!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Cool game. Creative use of the theme, hands down (hehe :p).

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:16am

Really like the art for this game I feel like it fits the mood well. Not bad stuff.

d__adee says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Graphics are awesome! The story is weird, but still cool! xD Overall, I had FUN!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Great game, nice graphics, cool take on the theme. But the music. It hurts.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]