December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boomerang Boy

by Venturelli - Jam Entry

Hi, this is a game made by two guys - Betu Souza (sound/art) and Mark Venturelli (design/code).

We work together at Behold Studios and this is the first time we team up for a game jam. It was SUPER fun, and we hope you boys and girls have fun playing this little game.

Boomerang Boy is a game about a boy and his boomerang. You only get one boomerang, so don't lose it! Also, it's a LOT of fun with two players, so make sure you try that as well. :)

Features:
---------
* Boomerang!
* 3 playable stages + secret Golden Boomerang unlock;
* Single-player and Co-op modes;
* Full support for X360 gamepad and keyboard;
* 1080p and 60fps
* Can you become the BOOMERANG GOD?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Fun(Jam)3.87
#25Overall(Jam)3.94
#47Graphics(Jam)4.29
#48Audio(Jam)3.73
#130Humor(Jam)3.00
#143Mood(Jam)3.29
#149Theme(Jam)3.16
#165Innovation(Jam)3.17
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

gty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

<3 awesome

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:42am

Fun looking game! Like the frenziness. I also made a boomerang game, albeit quite different to yours! Check it out :D
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29328

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42am

Awesome game :3 Love coop
Recorded my first impressions while playing Coop:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ix4o6t5KfE

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Probably the best game I've played so far. Very fun and well polished. The wall climbing felt smooth and the art style is really cool. 5/5, Thanks for sharing!

frickajr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13pm

awesome!!!

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

love how the game feels like a game boy game with a modern twist.
crashed on me once though :(

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice job! Feels really good to play!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Damn, that was superb. To begin with I didn't realise you could cling to walls, and I was just sat there at the bottom wondering what I did wrong. But then I figured it out and it was pure awesome. Pretty much lovely everything - had a blast!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Overall a very nice game. The game is very well polished. I did find one thing, I don't know if it is intentional, but everytime I landed after a jump, there was a small noticeable delay before I could jump again, which was a bit anoying. But all in all a very good game. Good grades from here :-)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Very nice game, playing on multiplayer is Always nice.

davisan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Very good! You guys always create very fun games. I need to learn this too! :D

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Awesome job! Thank you for the gamepad support! The art style was really cool. I haven't been able to make it out of the first level. If I could offer any advice, I would say that a warning before the baddies spawn would help (me).

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Nice!
Well executed and fun. The flying pigs are annoying! :) Only figured out how to climb after reading comments about wall jumping though...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Nice one guys, the gameplay works very well :) Really fun to play.

Deity says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54am

Cool boomerang game :) I like the 2d black-and-white style graphics.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very good job there! Congratulations! The controls felt a bit sluggish for me, but maybe I am having performance problem... (I don't see anyone else complaining about it). Will try multiplayer too :)

Venturelli says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04am

Denis, the game should run at 60fps. For some reason it sometimes runs at 30 for some people, not sure why o.O

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:53am

Nice game, very, very polished.
In fact, the graphics and the music are so good that i have to damn you for that, hehehe! Nice work!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:30am

very good looking. It is a bit hard to do the platformer jumps in the beginning, but i managed to be good at!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Crazy awesome!

tnerb says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Yay more multiplayer games!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I liked the game, especially the graphics!

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Controls fell so right. The dash ability and boomerang force are sweet. Getting health to 'save' your co-op guy was genious! Awesome, you guys! Multiplayer just add the fun!

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Controls fell so right. The dash ability and boomerang force are sweet. Getting health to 'save' your co-op guy was genius! Awesome, you guys! Multiplayer just add the fun!

lowcade says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:22am

Wow! Coop game! Nice graphics and style. Well done!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Nice graphics, cool game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/tnNlwxp-9J8

zkenshin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]