December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO Cubes

by Tym0r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is some sort of a swarm defense game. Had some glorius plans including upgrades etc. but the time was just too short (or me too slow). So here is a version with very basic gameplay.

Main feature: you only get one quare sprite i used for almost everything.

Controls:
left-click and drag: select your little squares
right-click: move squares to destination

Gameplay:
Conquer the big squares with your little squares!
Big squares generate one little square in one second.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#73Mood3.65
#83Fun3.60
#99Graphics3.88
#109Overall3.64
#131Audio3.32
#627Innovation2.72
#889Theme2.08

Comments

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Looks really interesting, im guessing like Glacon a bit, unfortunately, I have no idea how to control it! A short description of controls would be great. Unrated, hope to come back to this one.

pet_snake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Pretty fun game. I'd love to see more levels for this.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Not exactly an original concept, but I like the atmosphere it creates with the audio and the cool effects.

headchant says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Couldn't move the mouse (on OSX Mavericks). Any Idea?

Rscar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Hey I thought the one square sprite really worked for you :P I really loved the graphical style. Really fun gameplay too. The only hang-ups I had were that my cursor would sometimes be somewhat unresponsive (not to worry, no stars detracted haha) and that some of my games reached a bit of a stale-mate, though this could definitely be improved on with the power-ups. I feel like this control-scheme would fit perfectly on a touchscreen device.

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

Damn man, that game was equal parts intense and zenlike. I really dig the audio. It fits the tone of your game really well. The beeping sound effect may be a bit loud, but otherwise it was awesome! As for the game itself, I was compelled to finish it to the end. Managing all the swarms strategically made me feel like I was thinking on the fly the whole time, even though everything was moving really slowly. I'd say you were able to produce a lot of entertainment with only one sprite! I also like the glow everything gave off, and how the nodes illuminate a part of a grid when they're captured. On top of that, the AI seemed competent and challenging as well! Kudos, this is one of my favorites so far!

jugglerrob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Very nice aesthetics. The lack of instructions made it very difficult to understand what was going on, but I figured it out eventually and it was fun. The AI maybe too easy until the last level though.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

I would really like to play it but it's not working on osx 10.8.5... other .jars work fine and my java is up to date. I was going to compile it myself / fix it, but you didn't provide the source? Source plz :)

Tym0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

I quickly created a version without the custom cursor. Hope this fixes the bug in osx?

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

Good game, but can't really see the theme, and seems like a port of other games

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

The art is pretty cool! I love it!

cBit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:07am

This game is pretty great! I like the strategy involved, and the graphics are simplistic yet really nice looking. I also like the little 'beep beep' you get every time you order your squares around. Nice work!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice mood/audio and art style. The game felt really nice to play and just left me really happy/calm, dunno how to describe it. Could have used a smarter AI, though.

Cherno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Where's the source code at? Loved the game! :)

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Simple, but plays well and very atmospheric.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Awesome! I've really enjoyed playing this. It's not the most innovative game under the sun, but the game mechanics are very well implemented, graphics and music are great too. I didn't get how it's related to the theme but after reading description it's now clear to me ;) and I personally like your "one sprite" restriction. Good job!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Fun, nice art and pretty interesting... but you only get what? I liked the audio too. Good hypnotic game

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:34am

I liked it quite a lot! The graphics are nice, the music is soothing, and at first glance the AI is pretty good. After a bit of examination it becomes pretty obvious that the AI is bad at focusing on multiple fronts at once, but I still had some interesting battles.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:42am

The game was fun, felt a lot like Galcon; the atmospheric sounds were a nice touch to it. The game really felt like a race to con conquer the big squares first and get a unit advantage. The upgrades or other planned additions would have added the variety that this game needed. Despite that it was very cool.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]