December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

faif

by Beavl - Jam Entry

faif! - Battling with the odds.

INSTRUCTIONS
After choosing 5 adjacent tiles you only get one! So play wisely with the odds and kill your enemies before they kill you.

* Heart: +1 life
* Skull: -1 life
* Sword: +1 attack for every skull in the selection.

Now faif!

--

NOTE: We decided on fleshing out faif! We will be improving and uploading new versions of our weird battle game for players to enjoy it, test it and help us develop it even further! Check our post compo version and please use the comment section if you have any suggestion o want to share any feeling about it. Cheers everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Innovation(Jam)3.87
#113Theme(Jam)3.29
#118Fun(Jam)3.31
#125Overall(Jam)3.43
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#331Humor(Jam)2.11
#376Mood(Jam)2.60
#449Audio(Jam)1.79
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13am

I really like this game. It took me a bit to 'get' it, even with the instructions (my fault not yours) but after I got it, I think its really fun. I can imagine this being really cool with some more features (1 or 2 more tiles types?). Awesome!

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Awesome, it was not hard but luck was on my side. You could really extend to be a good game. Would play again. Good job.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Really nice! I don't think I've ever seen this combination of chance with puzzle elements before! Really cool!
Also a charming art style.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Cool game! I really like the way you used the theme to make something different! The graphics are great :)

I think that if you add more block types and develop the AI this would become an awesome game!
Great job :)

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Very interesting game mechanics, good job !

cobhc6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice idea! unfortunately the sword stopped hurting my opponent at some point...

Beavl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Sorry to hear that @cobhc6! Do you have any other data concerning when did it happen? (Throughout playtesting we did not encounter that bug, so thanks for the heads up. Any additional info would be much appreciated!).

And thank you all guys for your kind words. We are thinking about fleshing this out some time in the future (with new tiles, new mechanics to make the player play the odds and so!). Cheers!

Beavl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:04am

@cobhc6 Take into account that getting a sword in a selection in which there is no skull is going to make 0 damage! (* Sword: +1 attack for every skull in the selection.) Cheers!

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20pm

WOW ! I love this game !!! It's a very clever idea ! Really really cool :D

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:20am

I really enjoy this. I like how I didn't have to read the description, but what was happening was obvious. That doesn't happen on accident. Plus it is a good concept. Good Job.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:52am

As a Dungeon Raid fan i really dig this! Continuation would be appreciated!

Beavl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:00pm

@postmodestie: We are already on it! And yeah, we are dungeon raid fans as well! (in fact, it was one of our references when pitching the idea!). News coming really soon!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29am

Absolutely loved how you incorporated the theme into the game (pick 5, only 1 gets chosen) but by far my favourite mechanic was how attacking worked, adding another layer of risk/reward to your strategy. Also, this definitely needs to have a multiplayer versus mode.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I would love to see a post-compo version of this. It's pretty unique.

dearenot says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:13pm

awesome mechanics, but randomizing should be faster, i think

Beavl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Hey guys! Thanks for all the feedback! We will be uploading a post-compo version with lots of surprises and we are going to make some announcements on Monday, so stay tuned!

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Great game, but the post compo version with sound is much more fun. I like the unique concept and the dump AI :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:45am

Really great idea for a game. I've never seen anything alike.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Doesn't load for me.

Linux 64-bit with Firefox.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really fun game. Played for about half an hour. The post-compo version looks beautiful but the beeping/selection sound is a little obnoxious.

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Fun! I like the gambling mechanic even though it seems very very luck-based. Would like to see what a few weeks of balance could do to this game.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:29pm

clever idea but the random animation is abit chunky and long, maybe ligthing them in a specific order and slowind down animation cycle until it stop would work better.
In my game there was also too much heart we ended with 8+ hearts each. I think you can add some more tools in the final version.
Can't wait to see all the awesome thing you could find for Armor, potion, spell scroll etc.
and maybe character class enhancing some item effects ? :)

You did a nice job on theme implementation.

Beavl says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:39pm

@WhoaConstrictor Thanks! Sound design needs more work, yeah. We will see what we come up to for the final version.

@chardish and @Benjamin: faif is a game in development, so we are going to try lots of things! First, we will work on balancing it adding some consumables between battles (you choose only one among others available) and more tile types!

Thanks all for the awesome feedback! And if you have any suggestion, feel free to make it!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:54pm

The beep is hard on the ears. Though I don't like compelling gambling mechanics in games, I like the simple idea and the strategic managing of the board. The new visuals are great.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:55pm

i love the graphics. well done on the post compo version too, it's really lovely!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Cool game ;-)
I like it very much! :>

Harsay says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:24am

It needs multiplayer!

sorceress says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:33am

Interesting idea, but it becomes quite mindless once we figure out the optimal strategy: 5 hearts (whenever that appears, which is rare), else 3 daggers+2 skulls (which is always available).

Beavl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:45am

@sorceress we are working on new tile types (some of them rare, scarce) and some consumables (you choose one by defeating an enemy) in order to add more strategy to the current game mechanics. The idea is for the player to minimize luck (nonetheless, luck is a key element in the general design).

ehtd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:47am

It reminds me of tower of fortune from iOS. Maybe add a story to justify the opponents.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:51am

can you upload the source ?

nka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:20am

Very good battle system. I wonder how you came out with this.

nzgiije says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice game! Guys, deploy on android, pls!!!

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice little puzzle game, the post-compo version is gorgeous!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Really neat simple little game here, love the clean cut visual art style in the post compo build - really cool seeing the iterative changes you've made when comparing the two versions. A lot of fun and polished nicely. Rated highly. :)

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Really cool idea here. It took a few turns to really get what I was supposed to do, but once I got over the initial confusion, this was a lot of fun. There is a ton of potential for this game, and I can really see this developing into a much larger game for the mobile market. I played the post-compo version as well and it looks like you guys are heading in the right direction. Keep it up!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Really neat mechanic. Nice job. :)

Pol says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Wow, the post-compo version is simply gorgeous ! I'm not such a fan of the mechanic however, It'd use some more strategy or tactic and less randomness...

Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:08am

Interesting concept. I wish there was a setting to skip the random-cycling animation.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 8:37am

A new interesting gameplay. I was a bit confused in the beginning, but got it after a few tries. The post-jam version looks good

rezoner says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Linux cannot into Unity web player.

ratboy2713 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:56pm

A very nice little puzzle game. Really felt the missing sound effects.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Quite simple but anyway an original concept. Keep fleshing it out, it will make a good casual game for mobile devices!

henrykun says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:31am

Nice idea,it would be cool to play it multiplayer in mobile devices, probably.

flatgub says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:49am

Very intereting concept

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:11am

I like the concept very much, but the problem is that is too much random
For me, the AI and me just got more and more HP each turn, so I think it would be endless. Would be nice if there was a way to "trap" the opponent, like each turn the board would have more and more skulls, or some ability or something like that.
Other than that, very polish! Good job!

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:38pm

It's a nice concept, though too luck based for my taste. I experienced a couple of bugs and I think it needs some balance but it's quite fun. I'd like to see a multiplayer version.

JohnnySix says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Great puzzle concept, took a while to grasp which tiles I could click adjacent to the selected, but fun once you get it.

Really liked the simplicity of the game. :)

GFM says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:23pm

First, about the compo version...
It's an nice, really innovative, idea.

But the post compo version... just... wow!
It's awesome!!
The art style of the game is so great and interesting! The small animation when selecting a tile and board moving when it's the adversary turn... And the sfx!
This game is getting really good!!

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I REALLY like this idea. Very fun, and a tad challenging hoping the random selection goes in your favor! Polish is all the jam version needs!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]