December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SinglShot

by SamH - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SinglShot is a space shooter where your ship can only carry a single projectile. You constantly need to find a power-up after shooting.

Instructions:
- shoot evil enemies with your powerful weapon!
- avoid enemy bullets!
- pick the power-up to reload your weapon!
- perform as many consecutive kills as possible without missing to earn combo bonuses!
- have fun!!

Controls:
- WASD or IJKL to move
- Tab, Enter or Space to fire

SinglShot is written in C++, but compiled to WebGL and JavaScript using emscripten. The post-compo version is under constant improvement and already includes artwork from a real pixel artist.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#113Theme3.63
#241Fun3.27
#354Overall3.18
#381Graphics3.14
#521Humor2.19
#545Mood2.69
#720Audio1.78
#730Innovation2.53

Comments

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19am

I almost ended up going with an idea very similar to this!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

Very fun and polished, but the WASD + Space felt a bit awkward (I would've preferred Arrow Keys), and I think you missed an opportunity to do some really cool chain-reaction mechanics. Still, really nice.

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

For some reason the arrow keys do not work when compiled for WebGL. I will debug the issue and update the game tomorrow.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47am

Great idea, loved the gameplay implications and very fun!

Moist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47am

Addictive! I like the graphics, clean and stylish. Well done.

ThetaTauTau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49am

The game freeze every 5 secondes in web browser, it's a pity!

Anton_D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50am

This game was really fun to play! However I found a little glitch you could do: just sit in the corner and wait, they will never attack you. Other then that: great art style!

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02pm

At first, i was totaly thinking that the game was trolling me, like you have only one bullet so imposible to win. In fact the game is prety fun when you understand that you have to stop hammering the fire button. Great !

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:03pm

19700 on my second go. really nice implementation. i like the chunky graphics, and the one-shot thing was done well

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice little game! I'd prefer a control set-up where the action keys (in this case fire) and the control keys are on different sides of the keyboard.

The graphics were the high point for me, a nice mix between contemporary effects and retro. Next time I'd suggest you try to add some SFX as well. Adding sound makes a huge difference in how polished the game feels.

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Well balanced. I enjoyed playing it. This games has more depth in it than it looks like at first.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08pm

freezes up very regularly for me, running on firefox.
The idea is interesting, but it could have benefited from weapon variety. Constantly picking up new weapons is far more interesting when you don't know what your next weapon will be.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

This is a really original take on the theme. Well done! Would have loved some audio - do you know about http://www.bfxr.net/. It's a really quick way to get audio FX that would suit this game very well. Great use of WebGL. Are you using Empscripten to port C++ code?

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Wow! What a cool game :) The art was fantastic, the gameplay was clean. The controls were intuitive. Truly great work. The only thing that's missing is some controls and sound effects!

I would absolutely pay ~$0.99 for a mobile port with some sound and more levels. Well done!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

Nice game, I liked the mechanic although if you miss it can be a long time before you can fire again due to being blocked by an enemy wave.

Fun game though!

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Really needed some music and sound and maybe some more polish like a nice title screen, some screen shaking effects, and more variety to the baddies behavior.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice enemy waves and nice art . i got to 18800 after a couple of tries.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Emscripten is something I haven't seen in a LD entry :) nice game, really hard, but thats not a bad thing ;-)

TheSnide says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice shooter that fits to the theme :)

[ Bonus points for managing to wrap Emscripten nicely on a webpage in an LD ]

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Simple but interesting concept. Love the Space invaders visuals!

Raphy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice little shooter, kindda hard, but that's fine. Concept is funnier than it originally looks ! Graphics are also simple but neat.

skypers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Great gameplay and sweet gfx. Congrats :)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:25am

Nice look and feel you got going! Its theme mechanic are working nicely, better than expected. I love the moving starfield, it looks like it has a lot of depth. Many others have a much shallower look to them.

Fenmar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:52am

I really likie your game and approach to the theme. If you are interested, I made a Let's Play video of your game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Im55Et7fQfk (second part)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:44am

This was quite cool and a good take on the theme. Also very good to see how well emscripten seems to work with OpenGL stuff. Nice!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice feel to this one :) I like the bright graphics and smooth enemy movements.

madmaw says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Bonus points for using emscripten

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Got a score of 18300.
Really well-designed. Out of all of the single-shot shmups I've played for this compo, this is the best so far.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Much more fun than I thought it would be. I'm playing it again!

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I liked this game. Would have been nicer with a few more enemies and bosses :)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Pretty well done, good job on the ennemies patterns.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:05am

Excellent game for 48 hours, great enemy pattern, gratz.

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Yeah! Good job!

Sytech says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Fun and addictive!

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

You got the "best use of theme award" so far for me. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]