December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light Escape

by grozamorei - Jam Entry

Use arrows to move and rotate head. Use space to jump.

Go to the end of the level avoiding pitfalls and little men who want your light bulb broken. And You only get one lightbulb.

Game have bugs, so be prepared. Hopefully, I can fix this in minor fixes during the week.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#81Mood(Jam)3.55
#112Graphics(Jam)3.93
#125Innovation(Jam)3.28
#164Audio(Jam)3.22
#221Humor(Jam)2.53
#251Theme(Jam)2.80
#269Overall(Jam)3.09
#333Fun(Jam)2.69

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

This game is interesting as a concept, but it's too difficult to get anywhere. I would recommend making it easier to dodge, and making the jump more responsive. The feeling of a jump is the most important part of a platformer.

MALHCat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very interesting. I love the feeling while playing

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Interesting idea, difficult but I think games should be ;)

vallde says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Loved the fact that you can rotate the head up and down, but the controls are pretty hard (would be nice to be able to jump while moving forward)

LukuluK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I really like the idea and the mood of the game. Graphics, animation and sound make it interesting to play !
It's a pity that the controls are hard to manipulate ! And it makes me feel like the fail condition by shoot was random.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Great mood, great graphics. I had my bulb shot out early on but somehow kept going blindly and made it? Not sure if that was intended or not. Jumping should be instant, not just when the animation is best positioned.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Wow this feels great. Being able to point the light in different directions adds to it too. The animations are superb.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Looks very good, but it's a bit slow to play and has a lot of tiny bugs. Wish it can be improved upon.

evilDan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game! I wish the jumping was more responsive, but generally enjoyed the experience. I like looking around and seeing the Munch painting - and wished there was more opportunity for exploration. Nice work!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very nice concept and artwork, lovely. As other people say the problem is moving around. I've found mysel clipping through the floor more than once.

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I like it, but I wish that you could stomp on the people. I think it is a good game, you just needed to flesh it out more.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:47pm

It's Pixar gone darrrrrk. The 2D animation is wicked, I would love to squish those nasty little snipers :) Music really adds to the whole mood, especially after your bulb's gone :D excellent stuff!

robhor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I glitched through the floor a few times. Holding down right or left while starting repeatably results in me falling through the floor. Moving around is difficult.
I think you should automatically reset the level after having your lightbuilb shot out, otherwise you just have to blindly stumble through the darkness until you fall off somewhere. Winning isn't really possible at that point anymore.

Besides that, the game creates a really interesting feeling that I very much enjoyed.

grozamorei says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

robhor, not resetting the level when your light is out is intended. it is possible to finish when you are not far from the exit door, cause it is not affected by light effect. if you stuck with lightbulb broken, just hit R to reset the game.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:24am

weird and very hard

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Cool idea, though sad to see the Pixar lamp hunted down like that =( The collision is a little off, like holding right when you hit space to start causes you to fall through the floor. Well done!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice art style and the Pixar-esque lamp

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Love the art, very paranoid feeling mood. Great job.

chardish says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Love the art style; controls are pretty buggy though.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:23pm

First time I've rated a 5/5 for Mood! Maybe you should make the jump instant, controls will feel more responsive that way. Other than that great game overall, I really like the graphics. Good job!

mamoniem says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:54am

first time to play with such a character. I liked the music and art style hover I did not get the point of the game. But like the dark style you have.

gre says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:43pm

nice concept, the graphics are quite good but I think the controls feel a bit too laggy (probably because of the movement sprites).

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Flexo game, the idea is very cool and the art style is awesome. As the rest of people say it's bit difficult to control but you can get used to it.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Great graphics! I make me feel the animations from pixar studios :D

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very cool. This one is going straight to my tumblr. I really like how the light can be shot out great use of theme here and very moody. 5 stars well done!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:31pm

http://lordjosephdeburg.tumblr.com/post/70692401619/lost-my-lightblub-just-at-the-door-bitter-sweet

So close and yet so far :)

grozamorei says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:36pm

lordjosephdeburg, it's intended that you can go on with lightbulb out, so technically you win. glad you enjoyed it :)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Very good game! I enjoyed it a lot, very nice art!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great art style and nice work with the lighting. As other said, the jumping was hard, maybe lose a bit of fluidity/syncing for the animation to allow an instant jump.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Very surreal and dark! I love these pixar-lamps (owned one as a kid, bought another one from IKEA when I needed new furniture on college few years ago :-) Unfortunately for this otherwise great game the movement is really wicked -- I fall through solid floor few times, somehow wasn't able to jump over sometimes a when I had luck to avoid this control-related problems, these *** guys cracked my bulb :-) I was feeling like I'm gonna SCREAM...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]