December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Medieval Fantasy Island

by aayars - Jam Entry

Limited to only one spell as a test of her magical abilities, Una sets forth down the one path to prove her prowess as a Mage.

---

This was a two person collaboration for the jam. We wanted to make something with really nice graphics and atmosphere, something that would make people say "holy crap, you made that in 72 hours?" Hopefully, we succeeded.

Used Unity3D, Blender, MakeHuman, GarageBand, Pixelmator, assets from OpenGameArt and the Unity Asset Store... and even a little bit of Perl (ew dirty) to help with the terrain generation.

Partner: metranil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#19Graphics(Jam)4.48
#150Mood(Jam)3.28
#164Audio(Jam)3.22
#229Overall(Jam)3.16
#235Theme(Jam)2.86
#413Humor(Jam)1.77
#451Fun(Jam)2.33
#456Innovation(Jam)2.29

Comments

voidqk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52am

amazing graphics! unfortunately, in my browser, it shows up as a very thin long window, so I had to shrink my browser, but then the size of the game is only about 300x200... still, very impressed with the island! amazing... wish I could play it in a larger window!

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52am

Huh, crap. I'll take a look at resizing the web player.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58am

Amazing! So basically you made Skyrim in 72 hours ;) Some sound effects would improve this entry greatly!

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00am

Okay, okay, I didn't want to say it but.... "holy crap, you made that in 72 hours?" Well done, buuuuuuut... you gotta show the graphics :) The camera's default position and angle stares directly at the floor, you'd probably want it a bit farther back and looking a bit up.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00am

Interesting game! Really, really pretty.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

your screenshots look amazing but when I run it, it looks like this:
http://i.imgur.com/QABpWVI.jpg

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Wow! It's amazing to see that something like this can be done in 72 hours! Unfortunately the graphics were kind of buggy on my computer. But very nice!

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Amazing job! Found this very fun to play, very impressed with the graphics!

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

Made in only 72 hours? Incredible!
The only I don't like is that the control could be a bit tricky, specially for aim. The graphics are really awesome and the music isn't bad, good job!

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02am

holy crap, you made that in 72 hours? :)

It was quite good. Loved the graphics and lighting. A few suggestions...

It would be nice of you didn't have to turn on run again every time you stop moving. Running should probably be the default, no one ever wants to walk.

I think the spell cool down should be a lot lower to make it more interactive.

Sound effects from the spells/player moving/monsters would go a long way and really add a lot. Feedback does a ton for any game.

Overall, very nice game!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

the opening scene was definitely a wow moment, and the audio and graphics are really nice. it would have been nice if combat had been a little more involved than mashing your cast button as fast as possible, but there's definitely a lot of potential here.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04am

Looks absolutely gorgeous, but the pacing was really slow and I never really found myself having fun. The world looked like there was a ton to explore, but deviating from the road I only found trees without collision and a few patches of flowers. I like the idea of holding one spell at a time and running around for powerups when you run into an immune enemy, but the time distance between encounters was way too high and the encounters themselves weren't very engaging. I couldn't dodge enemy projectiles, so I just sat there waiting for my cooldowns to be up. I found myself constantly sprinting to get from point A to point B, which had me wondering, why was walking an option to begin with?

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

Graphics quality was outstanding, the gameplay was smooth though I felt like I was just walking from point to point and sitting their firing spells but it was a really nice game.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

GTFO :O That looks AMAZING! I mean, the level design is a bit too linear for my taste, but still... Wow.

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08am

pretty cool but I wanted to go for a swim!!

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08am

Pretty amazing that it was made in 72 hours. It hurts my eyes a little though. Also, the controls are a little slow, so you can't really dodge or anything, which coupled with the fact that you only have one spell means that fighting comes down to watching a cooldown clock and clicking one icon. Those things aside, great game!

ben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09am

Same as what everyone else said, looks nice but not that much fun.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

Graphics are great and the idea is good, but I found different spells rather similar to each other. Would have liked it if there were noticeably differen. For example, fire could burn enemies and deal damage over time, lightning could arch from one enemy to another, etc.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

Amazing graphics and music. Indeed, the game design is very poor :/, you should make a contemplative game guys ^^

carlsommer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03am

You're goal was to make it look pretty, so I'd say this is a resounding success! Great work all around, I really enjoyed the intro sequence and the look of those giant skeletal mages. I really hope you guys expand this! (If you do, let the player use more than one spell as you won't have any theme guidelines to satisfy : )

stromchin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

Nice graphics

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

Very impressive for 72 hours.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06am

The graphics are enjoyable for the first few minutes, but are not interesting enough to hold my attention through the repetitive combat. Also the robe leg split was a little distracting since I had to watch that for quite a while. I gave up at the 2 mad Sorcerers.

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

Wow, that's a huge amount of work, very impressive. And looks great, i guess it was a nice team exercise.
Since there's only one attack you could assign it to space.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14am

The graphics captivated me to play this game. I dig the DnD mood. It got tedious after a while (I got to the flame skeleton). I realize that the point was to have only one spell and as magnificent as this game looks, it could have been better in how the enemies progress or providing a form of achievement for defeating an enemy(maybe the various spells I can cast as a reward).

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great work on the graphics and large map. The battles get a little repetitive after a while, but this has a lot of potential for growth. Good job!

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18am

I like the idea, and am impressed with what you managed in 96 hours! That said, I do feel more could have been done with the gameplay. It feels very repetetive, and there is no real strategy in which spell is found next (if you could walk back for example, to an altar where you can choose/switch between either 3, that would have made a good addition). The graphics itself look good on an individual asset base, but combined do still feels lacking consistency (as you said you were targetting graphics, i'll base my feedback on that), the characters feel very incosistent with the world style. And the world itself feels very empty. Just a big path that I follow for too long (I did see the variation in the houses that were added, but didnt feel enough). Maybe next time looking into more procedurally generated (not realtime, but more like heightmaps generated offline for use of more organic terrains)?
It's still a big achievement with what you have done. Don't let my feedback get you down, take them as words to continue developing your skills!

honestcritic says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55am

Pretty bad game. Terrible control. Why do I have to use 1 if there is only 1 spell you can use? How about space bar or left mouse button?

The game is linear, spells are all the same, combat is repetitive and boring. You say you want to 'wow' people for doing this in 72 hours but all the wow is in the graphics so basically in the engine and models which took more than 72 hours to make so any 'wow only 72 hours' is invalidated by that fact. Starting up a modern 3D engine, plopping down a buncha premade tree models then ramping up bloom, HDR and whatever newest and coolest effects to 11 do not make a good game, just trickeries that will impress the uninitiated.

I guess this exemplifies the all-surface-no-depth modern game making paradigm. All effort are put into ramping up the graphics and flash to lure in people. I guess if you have nothing to offer and want to impress people so they think highly of you this is how you would try to do it. Playing this game is like talking to a really hot but dumb girl. It got you really excited for 2 minutes and then you realised this is a terrible way to spend your time.

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47pm

@armchaircritic: Thanks for the honest feedback -- the focus here was to make the most out of the theme and practice our skills. You have to use 1 because you only get 1.

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I liked the audio and postprocessing, however the gameplay is not innovative. Next time I would encourage you to put your skill/time into something more simple and fun (and less ambitious), rather than emulating a MMO in 72 hours; just polish one basic gameplay mechanic first then layer complexity if you have time. However this was a good exercise to practice an ambitious genre :)

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Amazing graphics and audio

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Excellent use of assets. The games does look, sounds and moves like it was made in more than 72h. I just wish it played as well.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great effort, unbelievable to think it was made in 72 hours! Well done!! :o

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very impressive! I had some control/lag hangups, but overall I liked it!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Well you definitely succeed in making a beautiful game that I'm impressed you did in the time! Combat's a bit stale but the little touches like auto-run are great and really, this is quite an impressive endeavor! I can only imagine what something you guys work on for a while must be like and I'd love to see more!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

WOW Awesome. I love this game. Only one wish. I want for the beginning the spell"running" Haha i was so slow. But it was also cool, because i can watch until I am walking as fast as a snail the nice island and hearing the realy cool musik. Over all - You did a realy Awesome Work!!! AWESOME!

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Yeah, your use of the theme is working against you because it'd be more interesting to have more spells and the gameplay is very linear. But the graphics are really mindboggling for a Ludum Dare game. Blows my mind that people are actually getting upset about them.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Beautiful.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Insane graphics - very very impressive for 72 hours. Atmosphere works nicely, especially with foley sounds (birds, etc. are great, although they quickly give the impression that they might be looping a little too much for the amount of diversity in the track). Made me want to play WoW again haha. Well done!

darkblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

Nice graphic. Very repetitive. Tactics are very limited. The mouse is unusable to launch spell because it then reset to the center of the screen. I went up the mountains next to the sea and got stuck there...

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

Everything is all pink... weird...

Well, the graphics are pretty sweet! And the animations are pretty Oblivion-like :) Which is pretty damn good for 72 hours!
I sadly didn't get to play much because it was dropping my frames and everything was pink! O-O
I'd love to play it again if this ever becomes a serious game!
Very nice!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29am

Impressive work. Congrats and thanks for the game!

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38am

Gorgeous game! Though I'll admit what I really wanted to do was just explore the island.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:08am

Unfortunately, while pretty, the game is as generic as its title.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01am

Wow! This was an amazing game for this short amount of time. Only thing is that maybe a little change in the camera angle but other than that great work!

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:07am

Well, the graphics are certainly achieving what you hoped for :) The controls were a bit clunky, though, and the combat was basically turn-based without choices.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

You went for the graphics, and you did it, the effects are really good, and the models too. You could give the monsters some death animations, but as this was done in 72h it's really good. The gameplay is a bit lacking as people already said.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:23am

Really nice environment and spell graphics. I wish there were more spell drops around the game world, which would make me decide which one I need to pick up.

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:23am

Although the visual result is great, fact that assets are 3rd party kinda drags the result down (at least I hope you made some of your own art too :), nevertheless, full score for the mood, the end result IS good.
Can't say much about the game though. The combat is just simply boring and nice island wasn't enough to keep me interesting when the gameplay consisted of running and then mashing the 1 key :/

aayars says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20am

@Shigor: My partner may want to chime in here, but we spent a lot of time massaging the third-party assets into place and wrestling with animation. Thanks for the feedback!

Robinerd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51am

Nice visuals, although you used 3rd party and some unity pro standard effects I guess. The combat system needs some redesign, something as simple as making the enemies attacks not perfectly homing so that you could actually dodging them, and then reducing HP to make dodging more important, could improve it a lot! That would probably make strafing more necessary to add as well to allow easier dodging. Overall, I still like the result :)

Robinerd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:54am

Oh and some more thoughts:
I really liked the concept of different enemies being resistant to different spells. Backstory was good. The overall atmosphere was great, and the music fits really good.

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:59am

The graphic is amazing! A little slow in my browser, may caused by not enough optimization or my crap machine :-)

yosh says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:57am

Gorgeous graphics & great music: high ratings for that!
On the other hand, as soon as I read what would be the game mechanic, I was quickly scarred that its limit would show up pretty soon... And it is. To me, the game gets boring as soon as you realize that you are on rail track, with limited choice and repetitive actions... too bad!

Anyhow, this game is a huge achievement in many way, it's hard to deny it :) Great job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:39am

awesome gfx. i think you should add strafe and some way to avoid enemies spells. great job!

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Graphics are astonishing! But... I feel like it's lacking gameplay. Would have been nice to be able to strafe to avoid attacks while spells are regenerating instead of just standing there.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Looks great, but gameplay wise it felt... kinda boring.
Still amazing what you guys made in 72 hours, but gameplay over graphics :p

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Great game shows what can really be done in 3 days.

meek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I found that the visuals were nice, but the gameplay was barren and repetitive.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:22pm

The visuals! @__@
Pacing was rather slow, but again, I'm still trying to contemplate how you guys did the graphics in such a short time! @_@

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I liked it but gameplay wasn't really so great. But the graphics were gorgeous!

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Well you certainly accomplished your goal regarding the graphics. I work in Unity as well and can really appreciate the effort squeezed into the 72 hours. There is more to be desired of course from the gameplay. It reminded me a lot of one first games for the original xbox called Nightcaster (had to look it up). Basically the exact same mechanic as your game.

Take note that honestcritic didn't submit a game, so it's no surprise that he offers 100% negative feedback.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Felt kinda repetitive after a while, but it was good.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The web browser version for my computer made the terrain pink everywhere, as if a specular texture was missing or something, but pretty game. :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Graphics were great but to be fair to people who did their art from scratch I can'r really score you for how good the game looks. Rather how well you composed all of the assets together. It's a really nice technical showcase!

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

This game is the most impressive I have played from this LD so far. Well done!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Pretty solid base for an rpg, don't know how well the one spell idea would work for a more fleshed out game, since running from fights probably gets tedious. Nice graphics, music and ambient sounds.

NoNoBattle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:13am

if you want great graphics you should go away from that unity-standart-asset-look and maybe make your own graphics. Next round spend more time to think about gameplay and not so much on setting up an endless environment and playing with shaders. Sorry for this not so nice comment but to be honest .. this isn't impressive at all.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:54am

Looks like Skyrim!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:36am

WOW!

This looks real good.
As many times before this I get impressed what people accomplish in just
a few hours.

How can it take YEARS for some devs to finish a game?
Weird..

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02pm

That was very impressive in terms of graphics and length! Quite a feat to create such a large game! In terms of innovation and, well, fun, there wasn't much I'm afraid ;). It felt a bit simple when there wasn't really much else to do than spam the 1 button (but hey, that's how a lot of fantasy rpg's are! :P) Very impressive work none the less!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:00pm

The gameplay sucks, but the music and the graphics are absolutely amazing! Well done! :)

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:20am

Very beautiful!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Yeah! Very good graphics! And not lagged! :D Very good job for this incredible work!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:30am

Great graphics ! That was an amazing experience !

Sebastian says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:47pm

The graphics are indeed beautiful, although I feel the post-processing could have been a bit more subtle. Gameplay is a bit monotonous, but I understand that atmosphere was your aim, and you achieved it very nicely.

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:59am

Impressive graphics and fantastic sound, but no real gameplay. I had the feeling just to walk, walk, walk (in circles) and mash my button when something appears. Has probably some potential with more gameplay.

Jetman123 says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Hiya! I just wanted to point out that when Honestcritic said "why do I have to use 1 instead of space", he didn't mean "why do I only get to use one spell", as you seem to have interpreted. He meant "Why do I have to use the one key instead of the spacebar?" Normally, spells or items are placed along the numerical keys in order for a player to quickly select which one to use, but here, /there is only one spell/. There's no reason to place it on the one key - the spacebar would allow someone to keep their hands on WASD and press space with their thumb.

Now that that's out of the way, I have to say, I really enjoyed the look and feel of this game, but the gameplay is boring and repetitive beyond belief. While I realize it's hard to get a game to play well in 72 hours, I was basically half-falling asleep during most of this game, woken only by the realization "Hmmm, I have to get a powerup token... where is it?" which lasts only a few seconds. It would be like if you were sleepwalking and someone kept poking you with a stick, preventing you from resting.

There's basically no strategy because you give the player whatever spell they need immediately before they fight an enemy wherein they will need it. There's no choice, no forks in the road, no dodging, you basically just pick up whatever token you're given and mash the 1 key. You can very literally beat this game while reading a book at the same time.

I'm very impressed by your graphics, but the game would literally have been better if it had no combat at all. Then I could enjoy the atmosphere and let my brain go fuzzy and get some catharsis out of the nature walk, but instead I keep being interrupted to play Mash The One Button over and over. The winding path you created could have easily been used to create an interactive fiction game of some sort, where you talk to various characters, find items, have dialogue choices... Even a stupid-simplistic story would have been more interesting.

Either way, though, I'm glad to have played this, despite my constant gripes with the gameplay. Keep working on it and I hope that this was useful practice for you.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]