December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Stingy Chef

by bunnyhero - Jam Entry

**UPDATE:** now with web version, using cocos2d-html5!

you are a chef surrounded by children who want your cookies. "you only get one!" you say to them, to no avail. try to feed them all as efficiently as possible.

built with cocos2d-x 3.0 alpha 1, for mac os x (10.9 only? i'm not sure). no audio. may not run on anyone else's computer.

the code is unsigned, so you may have to right-click the app and choose "open".

(also participated in @McFunkyPants's #NOKILL challenge sidequest.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05am

Great game! I enjoyed it.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Nice. I would have liked more mechanics, but it was fun. :)

bunnyhero says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:53am

thanks! yeah, there was going to be an additional mechanic involving picking up the cookies from the ovens before they burned, but i didn't have time to implement that.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Good entry! Maybe a little too simple but fun! Congrats!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Haha I liked the way the chef rotates when he moves up or down. Sometimes multiple kids get stuck in one place, which makes it impossibleish to finish it. It would be nice if they tried to avoid eachother, and to have audio.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Played the Web version. Some kids were very greedy ;) The up/down rotation of the chef is a little silly but funny.

pusheax says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:31pm

It was fun:)

bunnyhero says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:15am

thanks for all the comments! yes, the kid A.I. is barely there and makes for some poor gameplay. i should have spent some time on audio but i forgot about it until it was too late :P

Conflei says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice Game and funny graphs!

Peni6 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:46am

chuckled :)

euske says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:05am

Nice take of the theme. Like it.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:55am

The game was good I also liked the spin on the theme as well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]