December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kittens for Science !

by zequack - Jam Entry

"Kittens for Science" is a 2D puzzle platformer. Your goal is simple : get to the end, and don't die !
The level's rules, however, are unclear : You have no idea of what will kill you or not. Maybe a specific color of bloc, or blocs in a specific configuration... Only problem is : the rules change everytime you die. You only get one chance to complete the level you're in !
Therefore you must experiment to try and understand what will kill you in the level without dying, or you'll have to start again.

But don't worry, you have a limitless supply of kittens you can throw to differents places to see if it's safe or dangerous !


Use ZQSD to move in the level, space to jump, and click to throw kitties. You can only throw kitties within a distance to the avatar.


Code : Vincentiu Dioanca & Romain Soual
Art : Victoire Febvay
Sound : Eitel Duna
Game design / level design : Sebastien Wemama & Romain Soual



"Kittens for Science" was developped for both the Ludum Dare 28 (with the theme "you only get one") and the Jamshaker (with the theme "Science"). Both jams took place at the same time, the Jamshaker ending sooner (sunday on 4pm).
Therefore we designed the game around the scientific method, ie :
- Experiment and collect datas about your surroundings : throw kitties everywhere and see what happens
- Compile your data to form an hypothesis : try to understand how the level works ("kitties die in this situation, this situation and this situation therefore they probably die because of this and that")
- Try out your hypothesis : try to navigate an area of the level where kitties are forbidden. If your hypothesis was right, you'll survive. Otherwise you'll die.
And to keep the aspect of testing and formulating hypothesis, you only get one chance to try a level without dying, so you'd better take your time to experiment and think of how the laws work, as the rules change with each death.


The level has two sets of rules the player must understand :
- 1 Architectural rule : the structure of the blocks in itself may kill you. Maybe it's "horizontal plans smaller than 2 blocks kill you", "the underside of platforms kills you", etc.
- Blocks color rules : Some blocks are colored and have a specific effect. But the effect of each color changes everytime.

Therefore the level is built in 3 parts :
- A non colored part where the player can experiment to understand the "architecture" rule
- A colored part where they can experiment with blocks
- And a final part where kittens aren't allowed, so they must guess how to get through it without dying.

* BUILD 1.1 :

The build slightly differs from the original concept, so the download is available here as a proof of concept prototype :
- Current build misses most interfaces and only has core gameplay
- The "rules change every time" feature is coded but couldn't be fully implemented in time, so the level doesn't change
- The level is fully navigable, with its architecture and blocks color rules.

* BUILD 1.2 :
- This is a post-ludum build. GUI has been added at the beginning of the game.

Anyway that was an interesting jam project to work on. Please enjoy your game ! :)

Downloads and Links




kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Good job! Really enjoyed the music. The game was a bit short tho.
Only had a bit of trouble with inputs but noticed later it was possible to change from the unity setup window.

eitel.duna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49am

Happy that you enjoyed the music @kookoon !
You cookie game was fun too though

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

Those poor kittens

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:55am

Nice entry! Nice idea! May be change the control mapping ;).

Brian says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:02am

Great graphs, great music, great concept ! Science theme is here but maybe the "You only get one" theme deserves a better integration.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29am

I just tried that on a nexus 7, it works fine but the controls mapping is a bit weird. Nice idea though... But that kitten noise really is very annoying, maybe that's on purpose so that you don't spam too much!
It gets very frustrating once you get to the "no cat allowed" area.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:44am

Pretty cool game man, but Q and D, not A and D? Come on :P

But anyway, after I changed that it was all cool. I would advise against making a section that is completely random at the end, but I really enjoyed the concept of trial and error to figure out what's ahead (and using kittens as your test subject amused me in light of the internet's ridiculous love of cats).

Great GUI at the start too. Nice one.

zequack says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Yep, sorry about the key mapping, the game was developped with AZERTY keyboards ^^'

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:38pm

After making the game about using kittens to test your surroundings I don't understand why you suddenly make kittens unusabl in the end. Gameplay was pretty nice but a bit heavy on the traps.

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:58am

good job, i like it

stvr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:54am

Not a bad idea, but you seem to be able to try as many times as you want without the level mechanics changing.

jarnik says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:58am

Great concept!
Trying to jumping while running was a bit cumbersome sometimes, I lost my patience trying to jump over a wide crevice.
"A" did not work for walking left (as stated in title screen), nor could I find any way to quit the fullscreen mode, other than ALT+F4.
Never mind the controls, I love the graphics, sound, the concept overall!

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:51am

Very fun, controls needed some work though. I rather like the graphical style.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]