December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Pickup One Spell - LD28

by ocirne23 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry ever!

Timelapse! : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NiBr6paBwJc

It turned out quite well. I used LibGDX for development, paint.net for graphics and FLStudio + http://www.bfxr.net/ for music and sound effects.

Source is also available on Github (https://github.com/ocirne23/LD28Game), PC version works really well, android has quite bad controls because its hard to have accurate single shot + free movement on touch devices. I used the tilt for movement and touch for shooting.

There are 4 different spells/powerups each with different effects. The AI turned out quite well for a LD game, though i wouldn't want people to look at that code xD..

It does run at a beautiful 6000 fps with vsync disabled though, feel free to use some rediculous settings like 250 map size, 1 enemy density, 800 spell drops, and still be at 300 fps.

Maps are randomly generated with a seed, and a lot of settings are configurable in the menu.

Had plenty of sleep and time left, so I'd say this was definitely a success!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#226Fun3.30
#406Audio2.70
#409Theme3.05
#414Mood2.89
#460Overall3.05
#546Humor2.13
#598Innovation2.76
#733Graphics2.45
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Pretty cool! I like the lighting, but it was quite hard. I died a lot.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Pretty cool. Runs very smoothly which is great.
Also nice that you can tweak the generation settings from the menu. The lighting is also rather sweet.

A little difficult though.
Music sounds a bit like it's randomly generated.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Very nice weird music, hard gameplay but overall fun :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Very smooth and nice to look at. Great gameplay, tons of replayability. The music was an odd choice for the frantic pace. I would love to see this as a full game.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fun game, a minimap would have been nice.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

It felt almost like a multiplayer pvp game which I liked. Neat concept

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Loved the game. Didnt love the music, but its better than no music! Really fun. I would play this as a full game.

Flux says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:53am

I beat it! :D granted, I employed a "hide in corner and let enemies battle each other" strategy... haha. Interesting concept, at first I felt annoyed at only being able to shoot once, but it started to get fun running through fields of power-ups smashing the shoot button to fire a lot at once. On that note restarting a new game with 1000 powerups was fun. :)

oojava says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

Liked it... Cant wait to probe the source =) very cool game wish there was more light tho. =(

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:53am

Nice game, very fun to play. The AI seems fine, and I like that there are so many different kinds of bullets with unique effects. If it wasn't for the "rough" art design (although the lighting thing is a nice touch), this would surely be one of my favorites so far. This way it's just good. ;)
Congrats on your first entry!

hirsch says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The lighting is really nice and the gameplay is really entertaining. The music seem to be a bit improvised though :P

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08am

Real nice first entry.
Good going,
Would be fun to see how you'll evolve until the next LD.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I like challenging games. Good first entry!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:59am

Great work, well done! It seems that in the first instant you are the only target? i.e. if you put a lot of enemies in hundreds of missiles will fly straight in your direction but none at anyone else?!

Great work on your first Ludum Dare!

ocirne23 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:01pm

@Dry Tree:

They're coded to go after the nearest target, but since the map is randomly generated, to make sure that every enemy is reachable, i had to spawn them around the border of the map, like the player.

Though i could have made it so enemies don't spawn right next to the player, i didn't have the energy to do so xD.

Anyways, thanks for the comment!

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:10pm

This was a bit unplayable for me, to be honest. It's really difficult to understand who I am at the start, the camera seems to follow more my arrow keys press than the character, and it takes me A LOT before I find the first ability.

Why isn't the character even slightly different than the other enemies?

I like the idea, although not super fitting with the theme.

jprogman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:16am

I like how the lighting helped me know when an enemy is near by. Pretty intense gameplay too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]