December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sense-able

by Kalakian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is just a proof of concept, as it took me ages to get the features the way I wanted them.

In "Sense-able", you only get one sense at a time. You must survive dungeons and solve puzzles by using the right sense(s) to do so. This version just demonstrates 3 senses, and the spiders are harmless.

You start on the "See" shrine, and can switch to "Hear" or "Touch" by moving to the center of the appropriate shrine, using the arrow keys.

See - The place is in darkness, but you have a torch for a limited field of vision.

Hear - Player is still visible. Any movement causes sound waves to emanate and make object outlines visible for a short time.

Touch - Anything you bump into will be marked with a visible outline until you change to another sense. Moving objects don't retain the mark though.

Taste and Smell will be used for identifying objects to help solve puzzles (when I get around to working on the project some more).

The HTML5 version requires WebGL to run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

really nice concepts. i would love to see these used in a puzzle game. it would be great if you can have >1 sense at a time and combine their results

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Nice! This could be used in many genres of game :)

bspa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

Not a bad effort, nice concepts! I hope you'll get to build the game further

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48am

Even with the caveat that there's not a real game here, the foundation is strong. I dig the hearing effect and feel like there's a whole game in that feature alone.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

Nice concept, too bad that it's not a real game.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Really interesting mechanics, would be great to have this developed a bit more!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great concept would love to see it get built upon :D

Kalakian says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:58am

Thanks for the feedback. I could've got more done if I'd stuck with rough(er) edges, but I got stuck in a tweaking loop :P

Already considered having sense "slots" where you start with one, but can get more as the game progresses. Wouldn't fit the theme, but will probably be put in when/if I continue with the game.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I like the style of each senses. You could add a throwing weapon, to be able to make noises away from you and making some sort of map. The touch sense seem a bit less usefull, maybe only to use when other senses arent available, or to do precise things. Keep up the good work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]