December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum dare 48

by bufbot - Jam Entry

You are only opening one eye at a time and should lead your partner to the end of the maze, but whatever happens you can only die at the end.

I didn't had that much time but wanted to participate anyway, hope you people will have some fun !

- Move with arrows
- Use space to shoot
- Lead your * companion to the exit
- Avoid ennemies / kill them
- Take few strange drugs with weird effects

There may be left some fews bugs I'll try to correct, don't hesitate to give some feedbacks !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#424Humor(Jam)1.71
#432Audio(Jam)2.00
#494Innovation(Jam)2.16
#501Mood(Jam)1.77
#520Theme(Jam)1.87
#534Fun(Jam)1.72
#540Graphics(Jam)1.45
#543Overall(Jam)1.88

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Nothing is happening and the sound is chopping. It just doesn't appear to work. Playing on Windows 7 in Firefox.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Works fine in Ubuntu and Chrome.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11pm

You only get one... ?

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Got it running, but managed to pick up a letter laying on the ground, which instantly allowed me to clip through the entire level.. My companion also got stuck. I like the pathfinding for the companion though, It's clear you made some effort there; Though sadly it gets stuck a bit still on the corners of tiles.

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Fun concept, although some drugs make it to easy! Do the drugs ever wear off?

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Worked here with latest Chrome on Windows.

Congratulations on your entry. :)

Some critique:
I would have liked the controls with less momentum.
Graphics instead of letters would be more discernible.
There was one bug where I flew through a glitch in the walls (?) and was moving somewhere out of screen. Don't know exactly how that happened.

norwigi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

crockid5: ...eye. At least according to the description. That explains why you only see half the level at a time, which is quite a nice touch. :-)

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Oh man all those letters are confusing no idea what was going on with them. I like the idea but it needs a lot of work to become fun, your partner is so slow that was hard to have him go to the other eye with him sometimes.
Great use of theme!

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:20pm

It's an interesting idea but it didn't feel very different from a normal maze game. Perhaps having one eye should be more limiting, for example pushing a button and not seeing its effect.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:06pm

I fell off the world. Like the music. :-)

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I think I spawned in a maze where I couldn't go anywhere.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I liked the maze & rougelike elements, but it could've used some graphics, and the controls felt slippery at times. Also once I'd gotten a few powerups, the * became painfully slow.

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07pm

A few bugs:
The 'enemies' didn't seem to do anything
I ended up going through some walls, and then ended up completely out of the map
The 'shooting' didn't do anything
Nothing seemed to work

Also; the player seemed to slide too much after stoping moving and it was easy to get caught on corners.

Using Mozzila Firefox on Ubuntu 12.04

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

I don't get this game, sorry. It played yet I could not see a companion. An help file would help.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I had absolutely no idea what was going on but I did it with a smile on my face

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]