December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

[OBVIOUS]

by hate-marina - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mirror: http://www.sendspace.com/filegroup/QUMHPNR1iXSESouPGMkY7g

Windows build for Intel HD Graphics and older cards:
https://docs.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0B5p9NKUHCO9SeHRURWtZa3FKMFE

-----------------------------------------------------------------

OBVIOUSLY, you only need to get one bitcoin!
Hint: follow the advices of that corner guys.

Windows users: cx-frozen binaries should work (hopefully :D)

Linux/run from sources:
Install python-pip, python-dev packages for your distr then
> pip install -r requirements.txt
> python run.py
(cx-freeze is optional, you may comment out a line with "#")

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Cocos2D, Python. Music made with this fantastic tool http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/02/19/procedural-music-generator/

________________
sup batya_gaming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#124Humor3.32
#143Audio3.28
#248Innovation3.28
#259Graphics3.42
#414Mood2.89
#491Overall3.00
#613Theme2.66
#660Fun2.64

Comments

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Good use of music to set the pace of the game. :)

baton4ik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I don't get it. I though it's an exchange simulator, that I have to earn lots of money by trading. But there's no bitcoin counter, so I don't know how many I have and I can get into -$. Sell/buy works weird - sometimes I "sell" and get -$, sometimes I get +$, same with "buy".
I just don't get it.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Liked the music, but I was a bit (see what I did there?) unclear on exactly what to do. Still, a solid showing!

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

After figuring out what to do this was a very fun game, although a bit on the easy side. The graphics are awesome.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13pm

OMAGAD This is the funnies game I've played so far!

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

baton4ik, yep, perhaps it's not-so-obvious, lol. I've added a hint in description

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

can't launch the game

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56pm

As with others, once I figured out what to do...It was very very very fun. Most definitely my favorite game as of yet! I would advise however, that it be buying and selling for certain amounts, not just when the guy tells you to. Will play again when I am bored and/or in need of humor

MMoffatt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Good humor + graphical style.

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

I bought lots of machines, they made me rich. Didn't get the hang of buy/sell.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

A nice concept but I wasn't 100% sure what I was doing?

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Haha. I don't really get all the talk about bit coins, but I can see this must be quite an issue for some developers. Cool to see a parody of the situation in game form.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Love the idea of "One Bitcoin" ! Well played ! ;)

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Interesting idea. But really confusing at first. The chart basically means nothing and does nothing. Just have to listen to the guy? That's how I understood it atleast. That combined with having the chart (and knowing what it would mean in reality) and no bitcoin counter was really confusing.

I enjoyed the graphics a lot though. But overall I would've liked the game to be a lot clearer.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Love the bitcoin theme, music and graphics :D

Cash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Good concept but it becomes boring fast or maybe there was something I didn't undestood

Katamori says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Kinda pointless but enjoyable. Also, nice music and graphics.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

I can't load the link. Is it me or you? :-?

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Sorry, looks like it was me! I could download it! :-)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Not bad! Although it's true that after a while you don't know what's the point of all of it. I focused on only buying, which worked pretty well...

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

I can't run it (windows 8).
It says a lot of things including the last line "unable to share contexts".
I wish I could play this.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Really like the music. The gameplay was a bit on the light side.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Haha nice one :D The prices could do with highlighting before you attempt to buy things, but either way it was intriguing all the same!

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I earned a lot but I still don't get the hurtware thing. Maybe cause I've never been in the bitcoin stuff. The rest is very good: art style, music, the mood in general.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I dont think I really understood this game, but yeah... I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I didnt understand the game.

Jod says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:09am

I sadly didn't 'get' it. But kudos for making something with humor in it that's not just for everyone. We need more of these!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:44am

Was hard to figure out what to do, so a very small tutorial or more detailed descriptions would have made it better. Nice music you generated with the linked tool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]