December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tankdare

by Dynad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a top down view tank game which has to shoot his way out on limited resources and you get just 1 tank and 1 set of ammo. The world is random generated, each level you complete it will be harder, longer and more enemies... how many levels do you think to complete?

My first entry!

Controls:
Use Mouse to rotate the turret
Left Mouse - Shoot
WASD - Tank movement
Escape = Restart
Reload page: Start over

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#122Graphics3.82
#458Audio2.61
#478Overall3.03
#549Fun2.79
#588Mood2.63
#705Theme2.50
#731Humor1.70
#786Innovation2.44

Comments

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06am

Cool Effects! But i little hard to control.

jugglerrob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

Very nice lighting.

In the later levels when more bullets were flying around my performance dropped to be almost unplayable.

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15am

Controls are a bit funky, but the graphics and lighting effects are well done.

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

Awesome! I love the random level generation and 1-hit kill mechanic, makes it very challenging. Lighting and turrets are superb :)

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

The lighting was very good however, walls didn't light up when you shone a light at them. This made it hard to see what was a wall and what wasn't, mixed with the janky controls this made it hard to navigate. The levels were well designed and the art was impressive for a 48H jam, so good job there.

Also, I'm pretty sure I've seen this somewhere else.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

nice game weird controls but lighting is utterly brilliant :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23pm

The turrets were almost too good, I kept dying before I even saw them the first few times. Once I got the hang of it, it got more manageable though!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

The lighting is top notch. The movement's a bit weird, but that's not bad.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35pm

There are some visibility problems (can't see if it's dark of it it's a wall) with lighting system. Controls are a bit weird too, since you have 2 of them (WASD + mouse) it's harder to figure out where the tank is moving sometimes. And the tank could be a bit faster too.

Other than that, I really like how it was randomly generated (was it or was I just spawning in different places?). Most people don't have time to do that. Nice effort overall.

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very good graphics !
It's hard to visualise de direction of the tank.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Personally, there's too much contrast in the lighting so I found it hard to see. Otherwise, really polished gameplay and visuals!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I could do with a bit of feedback as to where the walls are. Maybe the tank could be a bit nippier?

I like the 'Spotlight in the dark' though! Maybe there's a new genre emerging here? Tank-based horror? ;) GJ Bud!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Loved the lighting effect! Shooting things with a tank is always fun. :) Wished it would have moved a bit faster tho. :) Solid game.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Fantastic lights and quite good gameplay, but controls are a bit "heavy" ;D Overall it's very good game for me :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:34pm

very nice ligting! slow but good gameplay. :D good job

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:31am

Cool panzer... cool lightning fx, nice and smooth running game. enjoyed it. somtimes i was confused by the controls... but this is not so bad...

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:32am

Lovely lighting and mood. I would love to see this expanded on!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:40am

Control's weren't that bad, I was blasting tanks without issue after 20 seconds or so. Wasn't the best use of the theme, but okay.

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:24pm

PLEASE DONT USE WASD ! It's terrible for Azerty keyboard owner !
The graphics were good through.

Inso says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Impressive graphics, but hard to control.

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:58am

I love the lighting effect!
It's a little slow on my Firefox, but that's OK.
Good job! :D

xrm0 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice lightning but hard to control

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:03pm

graphically very well but the control is very complicated. I like that the scenarios are random

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]