December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Earth, One Defender

by Mental Atrophy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
- main.exe to run the software
- Left mouse to shoot
- Right mouse to thrust
- Spacebar to bring up satellite turret placement
- To play in fullscreen, open the settings.ini file and change the value to 1.

Background:
This game was written in Python 3.3 using Pygame/SDL media libraries. Audio was made in bfxr.

Summary:
This is an Asteroids clone, more or less. Asteroids that collide with the earth reduce its health, with game over at zero. Tower defense elements let you purchase satellite turrets that orbit and help defend the earth, though this feature was largely incomplete. The game is won upon reaching $1,000,000 space bucks. Dying loses 25% of your current credits.

My Thoughts:
This game is terrible and I don't recommend it. Asteroids spawn randomly and in uninteresting patterns. No music due to poor time management. Limited play-testing due to poor time management as well... Maybe next quarter I'll actually have something polished in time. If it isn't obvious I tacked on the "title" and "game over" scenes at basically the last second, and have no transition to speak of. Death and respawn is also abrupt since I procrastinated on that element, and the HUD is lacking as well. Oh, well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#267Fun3.22
#277Graphics3.37
#366Overall3.17
#570Mood2.66
#683Audio2.00
#707Humor1.79
#716Theme2.48
#941Innovation2.05

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:57am

Hey, your game is a bit like mine!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=29464

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I really like the aesthetics, but I don't see how you can reach a million without the ability to buy better weapons or something.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Great game!

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Although not very original, I enjoy thrusting the rocket and shoot asteroid for fun. Like what you said, it will be better if it have more time for polish on several part.
I also have problem with the control on my laptop's trackpad, but not a big trouble for me :D

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I like this game's view on asteroid and the satellite dishes orbiting with their own speed. I think I did more damage to earth than all of these asteroids.
I don't miss anything with the death and respawn, it was pretty clear to me :) I could play this for hours.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Darkcoder, if you press spacebar you can purchase defense turrets that orbit the earth. Unfortunately I forgot to put some kind of indicator for this option in the HUD before it was time to upload the game (I should've made a task list to keep myself on track, probably). Buying more satellites also upgrades your weapon. At two satellites you shoot three bullets, and at four you shoot five bullets. I was hoping to have a somewhat robust set of weapon and turret upgrades but I was woefully behind schedule.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:29pm

strong99, the orbit speed of the satellites is actually calculated by range from the earth. In my head I was going to have proper orbital mechanics, and the player could fine tune satellite orbits to meet their requirements (like a highly elliptical orbit that spends more time in the northwest quadrant, protecting that area more securely), but this whole 48-hour thing is stressful and I didn't get very far there.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I think the major drawback for me with this game is the audio, Even setting my mixer to 12% for it, it was still repetitive and painfull.

That said! The game is fun, genuinely fun. I like flying around shooting at asteroids and waiting for that money to tick up so I can buy more satelites. At some point my gun upgraded and I do not quite understand why - So my criticism there would be that perhaps some gun-shop or other way of informing the player would be good.

But it was fun, and it looks kind of gorgeous for what it is.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Cool graphics, I love the background! A classic earth defender but with better graphics. Good luck! :)

ocmu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Interesting take on asteroids, $1mil seems like a lot, though. Fun game.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Amazing game. I see you didn't have time to finish it properly, but still it was really fun, especially when I have the 5 shots going on. Your art style looks pretty good too. A few things that might make it better: some camera shakes here and there when bigger asteroids are destroyed, some particle effect for when asteroids get divided into smaller ones, make it so that the turrets can aim at asteroids (although I don't know if you didn't to this because of time or because it was intentional). Overall you did a really good job. Congrats!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Great take on a classic game; very smooth and the graphics/sounds work well together.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really cool game. Get's pretty wild later on (but the sound was a bit annoying towards the end)

vallde says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30am

I think I killed half of the population with such wide attacks xD but overall good game, looks good and the controls feel good :)

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

great entry! also remember you made it in FORTY EIGHT HOURS. bloody marvellous!

funselektor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55am

That was fun, props for making it in SDL, that takes skill. Nice and tight gameplay and controls.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Love the mood of this game, and the idea is very nice too :)

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

This game is too hard :/

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41pm

A solid game. Learning how to use your thrusters right and shooting carefully are your biggest goals in the game. I likwe how you can damage the earth too, and I like the simple controls. Very fun!

droqen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I liked how, eventually, I realized that if I shot the Earth I didn't kill THAT many people, much better than letting a little asteroid through.

Still didn't beat it - but I got really damn close ]:

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Yeah, I'll be surprised if anybody can kill the earth with bullets alone since they only hit for 10 and the population is 22 billion. I just thought it was morbidly funny, imagining a stray bullet from space destroying somebody's house.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17pm

I like this one!
*restart*

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice smooth gameplay, and good controls. Gotta say though, I gave up before 1,000,000 because it got a tad repetitive.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:52am

Really cool,mouse control for first look were "diffrent", but I quickly like it ;D Good job!

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I don't think it's as bad as you make out. It's not really tied to the theme and not incredibly innovative, but the graphics were nice (particularly the particle effects) and the sounds that were there were enough to spice up gameplay. Most importantly, the controls with just the mouse felt really good and surprisingly precise. Still a good effort.

PEBKAC says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Graphics are certainly OK and the turrets are a welcome addition to Asteroids. Is it my imagination or do the controls get sluggish with lots of objects on screen?

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:57pm

This is a good Asteroid clone with a few more features, and is pretty fun to play in general, though it looks like victory would take a long time, even with upgrades (which should be explained more clearly). The theme feels kind of tacked-on, too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]