December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Cube!

by cwkx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=====================
Unity game made in 5 hours
=====================

I didn't intend to do this LD as had a very busy weekend. Anyway 5 hours ago I was chatting to a friend and decided to just go for something fast at midnight before sleep and the LD deadline. This very simple concept turned out well and I really enjoyed making it :) 5am now.

=====================
A/D or Left/Right controls
=====================

Enjoy and feel free to watch the twitch stream :) @cwkx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#176Innovation3.44
#306Theme3.22
#321Audio2.84
#348Overall3.19
#357Fun3.06
#384Mood2.93
#473Graphics2.97
#495Humor2.25

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04am

Interesting, going well until we have a visitor :)

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

Great game, only thing I noticed that it moves to the right automatically, dunno if this is how it should be ;)

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Liked the concept & looks cool

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Way to get around the theme, one cube becomes a million!
Great colours and music. Physics was fun too!

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Very interesting. There's definitely some gameplay to dig in the small boxes falling in a swarm like that

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28pm

The visuals of the cube exploding and the sort of freezing in space-time gave it a interesting game mechanic. I actually found myself trying to glace blows off the edge of my mass of cube pieces to avoid losing too many bits. Made it to 100.58.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I played this for about a half-hour. Really enjoyed it! The sound effects really bring it to life. Good job! Especially for only 5 hours!

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

is a good basis for making a striking game

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51am

Oh man, my face when the cube hit the first time... I just knew I had lost instantly, and was prepared to be aggravated... instead I was blown away! Loved the music and the lighting effects.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13am

Good idea but a bit too linear in my opinion ^^

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01am

good job! i like overall fun but i would give player slightly more time to react by increasing view on the bottom

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

54.40! Really cute feel to this game, the music helps a lot. Simple, but fun! I enjoyed it!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31am

154.20! It's like in real life, when you are in a crowded street, you need to stay on the side of it, that you will go faster and will go more far too.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52am

197.4 by holding down the right key and keeping it held down :)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35pm

See the cube getting fragmented is really cool!
Nice job!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Simple and, for some reason, very amusing to me. I can't stop laughing when I see that cube getting smashed to pieces.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:19am

Oddly addictive.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Pretty cool and unique approach to the gameplay and theme! You get only one cube and a million shatters! I believe it would look even cooler if the shards would react to collisions a bit more, but it's cool enough right now, especially for just 5 hours!

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:13am

Cool game! With the limited visibility of oncoming cubes it seemed less about reflexes and dodging and more about managing the survival of your cube fragment colony haha. Good stuff.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Nice idea! :D

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Nice, impressive in 5 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]