December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO Letter!

by hbocao - Jam Entry

Hey guys,

It's my second Ludum Dare, however, in this one I got a partner. It was his first time, and as he didn't want to participate alone and I wouldn't have enough time to make it to the compo, it worked out really well!
Even though we are not very proud of our idea, making it to the end has made us both really satisfied.

We hope you have a really fun time playing our minimalist game.

--------------------

YOGO Letter! is a game where you are challenged to dive into the depths of your mind and try to discover the correct word in the given time! And oh, You Only Get One LETTER!

The game is fairly simple. We give you one letter and you must guess the secret word in the meantime. Once you get the right one you earn a bonus time, and move up a level.

You can guess an infinite number of words, and at every attempt we give you two hints: the number of letters that you hit right in the place (bluish square) and the number of letters that you missed the correct positioning (grayish square).

For these letters you earn time bonuses. Also, you can buy an usage example, the word definition and a bonus letter of the secret word, but it will cost you 75%, 50% and 25% of your time respectively.
The game ends when you run out of time. Good guesses!

--------------------

Made with Visual Studio 2012, C# (Framework 4.5), WPF, Extended WPF Toolkit, MySQL Connector, the "words dictionary" API from www.wordnik.com, and piano hints from www.VirtualPiano.net.

--------------------

Filipe Scur - filipe.scur@gmail.com
Henrique de Aguiar - @hbocao

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Theme(Jam)3.13
#259Innovation(Jam)2.87
#422Fun(Jam)2.44
#467Overall(Jam)2.50
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

incobalt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

I ended up with some very strange words, like cwms and erer. On the plus side, it taught me what a cwm was, but I still don't know what an erer is supposed to be.

epb9000 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42am

My vocabulary knowledge and recall is truly horrific apparently, but good show.

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:06am

Was not able to run it. "Not a valid Win32 application". I guess it needs the C# runtime?

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:16am

Quite hard, the list of words on the right isn't really "user-friendly" :). I'm french so i really can't find some words.

hbocao says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38am

@ReactorScram Yeah, probably you need to install Framework .net 4.5. Sorry :(

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39am

Great idea.

Lissar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:40am

I wanted to enjoy this game, but the first word I got was "buss"! Apparently this is an archaic word. Which, while fascinating! is a bit frustrating in this kind of game.

hbocao says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44am

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra @incobalt @epb9000 Yeah, the game is kinda hard and English only. Sorry about that. All words have a definition where the API query it. The problem is that, sometimes, you get abbreviations.

@AnnaGavaldaKedavra What do you mean with "list no user-friendly"? Can you elaborate more, please? Thanks for the feedback. ;)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:25am

Can't play windows games. :-(

hbocao says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:52pm

@Lissar Yeah, it's a random word and we did our best to use the API to make it more easier, but that's it

@jomomomo :( Sorry, man

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Some of the words used are quite rare. It seems like if you use the example you can go on almost forever. After some words I got an example that did not include the word but that seems to be the only way to fail with that strategy. Like the idea but it put too high demands on the dictionary used and also many of the words picked I had not ver heard, more common words would be more fun.

bodsey says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:14am

Simple but effective. It's a bit hard for me as english isn't my mother tongue :) Ps : the game crashed when I tried to play again

Sanguine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:10pm

BOOM HIGHSCORE! Anyway, nice job on the game, really cool idea. It seems like the only viable option is to just keep using the example every time. (or at least for me)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Agree with the above, had to buy the example every time. Interesting to see a word game in LD though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]