December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Minute Hero

by Stals - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**To launch - Run OneMinuteHero.exe**

This is my second Ludum Dare - and this time i made a roguelike-like =).
You only get one:
- minute
- skill
- life

Reach the stairs to advance to the next floor.
Monsters become stronger on each floor so you need to kill as many as possible as quickly as possible to advance thurther and not run out of time.
Score is increased for killing monster - floor * exp
Skill cooldowns for time stop, heal and fire are: 10, 8 and 7 seconds

Was using Photoshop and Paint.NET
For Programming - C++, Marmalade + Cocos2dx
All sound effects were made with SFXR, and music with cgMusic.

Wanted to display hp bars and lv. for monsters, but at first it didn't look well and didn't have time later =\
Didn't have much time for balancing - but still hope it is fun to play. Hope you engoy =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#169Fun3.40
#189Audio3.14
#238Overall3.34
#326Mood3.00
#427Graphics3.06
#466Theme2.94
#566Humor2.09
#584Innovation2.78

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Very challenge, balance issues as you said. All the mechanics work together for a nice rougelike. Well done!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very nice game :)

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51am

It's a nice roguelike. Kind of wished the enemies would move though.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22am

Music went well with the game, got to level 34 on first attempt. :)

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very awesome game. Probably one of the best I've played so far.

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

This is a very fun game :) Eventhough the sprites aren't very complex the asthetic still works very well

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very hard to tell what's going on, the window is WAY too small

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51am

Download site was a bit of a turn-off initially :)

Game was really quite fun, would have been nice if some of the enemies moved when you got close but hey, that's LD. The music was nice for what it was.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33am

Awesome game.
Visual style was excellent (drawn graphics and a few colors), but I think the font did not go well with that and feedback from actions (life points etc.) could have been clearer, bigger.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Feels like a simple version of desktop dungeons. Ended up at floor 33 by (ab)using the fire skill.
I like it :)

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:58pm

It took me a few minutes to realize that this game is more challenging than it seems, but now I really like it. It has all a roguelike needs, and while fine tuning the balancing is not a bad idea I found the ressource management to be very challenging and fun.
Oh, the graphics are cool, they somehow remind me of the old tiger handhelds.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Pretty fun! Managed to get to the 60th floor with Fire. I am not sure if the skills are all that balanced, I found fire the most fun to play with. AOE magic FTW!

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I abused the crap out of fire to get to floor 60. That was pretty awesome.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice game. Concept works very well.

PyroSneak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

fun game, spent a while on it and will prob ably come back to it later as I didn't get time to get to floor 60. however I still really enjoyed it. I didn't feel there were many balancing issues though, But I did most enemies on most floors

pinion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Really enjoyed this one, highest score was 13572 on level 26.

Ismei says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I really enjoyed this game, the different skills made the playstyle different and it made me keep playing to try and beat my score for each.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:22pm

A lovely little roguelike!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Very nicely done! I liked the mix between turn based (gameplay) and real-time (the time limit and skill recharge) which is something I don't think I've really seen before.

The graphics have a cool 'hand drawn on graph paper' kind of look which really works well.

It's definitely tricky and I think I only got to about level 19. Good game!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25am

I liked the visuals. I liked the idea. Playing requires thinking which is always a good thing :)
Nice job.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:04am

The perfect balance between leveling and limited time. I really enjoyed this game, you need a lot of hp point to reach deeper. Thank you dev!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I missed some more dynamic enemies, but the game is nice considering the overall. Audio and Graphics were great!

foumart says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:39pm

The graphics have charm, but i had difficulties finding myself on the field at first. It will be nice to have path-guardians in every floor to prevent floors that you can just walk-through.

gilborn says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Played no game so long in this Ludum dare so far...

KHANanaphone says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

nice timesink, i would have kept going beyond 60 if it didn't end.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

A nice take on the genre. A minute seems like a very short time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]