December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hammerfall

by Pixlexia - Jam Entry

Hordes of evil forces are about to invade Hammerfall, and you must defend it!

***

# GAMEPLAY
Destroy all enemies.
Collect coins and XP.
Purchase one skill per round.
Use a skill only once per round.
Survive all waves of enemies.
Defeat the boss!

# CONTROLS
WASD - movement
I, J, K, L - shoot
Q, E, U, O - skills

(Mini-tutorial in-game)

# NOTES
Press ENTER to skip the next wave timer.
Some skills fire in the direction you are facing/attacking.
Remember, you only get to use a skill ONCE PER WAVE. So use them wisely. (If you use a skill during the skill select phase, it will immediately fire/activate right when the countdown reaches zero. This is a bug and we're looking into it at the moment.)

---

Please tell us what you think about the game in the comments below. Also let us know if you find any bugs, and we'll work on it right way. Thanks and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#6Fun(Jam)4.13
#34Overall(Jam)3.86
#88Graphics(Jam)4.08
#117Mood(Jam)3.38
#186Humor(Jam)2.69
#208Theme(Jam)2.95
#239Innovation(Jam)2.94
#264Audio(Jam)2.88

Comments

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:39am

I really dig the game's aesthetics =D. Thought the game could be a bit more fast-paced though. Nevertheless, good game!

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Wow, loads of fun, I thought it was amazing!

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Incredible graphics style, good job! :)

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Game looks really nice and is well-polished. Though, assuming it's meant to be something like "You Only Get One Skill", isn't it more like "You Only Get Four"?

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

I really liked, this it was fun to play and I liked your use of the theme, nice work!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Can't resist a good arena shooter - and this certainly is that. Nice work on the controls, they quickly felt natural. It was fun considering what combination of single use skills to take in, just enough strategy to keep me playing. Good balance. Would have like some more obvious feedback on the player damage.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Awh, this looks so cool, but I'm on a mac :( is there any chance of a port? What technologies did you use?

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Cool game! But why you did't web version?

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This game really looks and feel nice :D Do you by-chance might want to share the source? :)

Anyways, I like it pretty much. Is it inspired by Hammerwatch or is the name a coincidence?

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Great fun with surprisingly intuitive controls! Some balancing work would be nice, I felt it was a bit too easy. Survived 10 waves, died on 11.

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice game :) Had fun until those creatures literally blocked me - I had no ability to move at all..
Sound are great btw!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Great game! Had a lot of fun playing it. However, the only thing is im kinda confused as to where the theme fits into it.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:25am

I liked it! It was fun to pick my different upgrades. I struggled to make use of them well once the heavy waves started coming. I lasted until #10.

Took a few rounds before I realized I could hit enter to skip the wait, because the font with the hint was really small.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:51am

Hey everyone,

A web version should be online shortly. The Mac version however will be in about less than a week from now since I don't have a mac to test it until then.

We are currently continuing development for the game and might put up a post-jam version with a few updates, maybe more skills and levels. Maybe even an endless mode!

Anyway, thanks for all the feedback! :)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:57am

I like the games graphics. Missed some background music thou. The upgrades were really nice too.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52am

The game is fun, the shooting buttons could be on arrow keys, as in bind of isaac, so the hands get a more confortable positions. The graphics are awesome. Congratulations.

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18am

This was really good! Had a lot of fun, you've done well!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:52am

Really nice to pick up and play. Good stuff!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:43am

Enjoyed the gameplay and graphics, and the take on the theme was accurate. Gold income as a little lower than I expected, but I maybe this gives importance to greed is good skill... However, experience and gold were disappearing from the level so greed skill is hard to use in future levels. But overall, a very nice arena game, definately one of the good ones of this LD, and I would really love to see a post-compo version that walks it's own way.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Game was decent, with solid mechanics, but i felt the use of the theme was a bit weak :/

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Its very nice game I really enjoyed and It has addictive gameplay. 5/5 from me well done

Kroltan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Great gameplay! the hotkeys were well positioned. Got to wave 10.

Domantas says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I really liked playing it at first, but later it got a bit boring. Monsters are just running around or chasing you, so i just ran in circles while killing all the weaker ones, and then i could easily finish the ones that were chasing me. Maybe you can make some monsters that would have more interesting AI? For example stop further from you and then charge to you in a straight line, or make some enemies that would try to stay away, dodge your shots and attack from range.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Really like the look and the action :) Would have been abit easier to play if aiming the directions used the mouse, but anyway a very very nice job:)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice little game! I found some spells worth far more than their price and vice versa.I think the theme was hit just right: only one spell use!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Really liked the enemy art. Fun entry. :)

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Awesome game with great graphics. Really fun and challenging gameplay. Great work!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Wow, this is really one of the better entries. Really cool, enjoyed it a lot. Though I hated it when the exp and money disappeared if I couldn't get to it in time. Makes it a lot harder ;_;
Anyways, nice use of the theme and cool control scheme, too! Had some trouble in hectic situations and pressed the wrong skill button a number of times, but got used to it. Had a lot of fun overall. Also, impressively polished.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:20am

Excellent stuff, loved the different enemy types , the power ups and the pixelly wizardry. Keeps you on your toes. Is fun herding them behind you and lining up the scatter/powershot combo. :D

Senevri says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:09am

The arena-style didn't suit me, but the game mechanic is great.

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:51am

Interesting idea and gameplay :)

WojWorks says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:11am

A really fun top-down shooter with some rpg elements. Nice.

skiesgamingtv says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Hi ! Really enjoyed the game and the use of the theme ;)
As I did for the last Ludum Dare, I picked up a few games to review them, yours was the first of this 28th LD!
Video here : http://youtu.be/J3OKHgYL7cM (In french tho ;))

01101101 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

Amazing work! The art is perfect, the game is challenging, fun and extremely polished... You even had time to had a tutorial, so good job on that :)
Favorite game so far!

Jejkobb says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 8:46am

It was really fun, I really liked it! But it didn't really have much to do with the theme though, at least not notisable. But the music and everything went pretty well together so I liked it :)

FrederickK says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:00am

Very good arena shooter! Also, you improved the game a lot on the post-comp version!

Threef says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:58am

I like it.

juaxix says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Very good balanced, i liked, it is very completed, i envy your skills :)

foumart says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:03pm

This game is awesome but could fit the theme better with only one slot. Not only I pressed "the wrong" shortcut couple of times, but felt the skills ware a bit overlooked. Maybe it needs some more powerful and expensive skills - remove the EXP and Money boosters and add a weapon power-up?

hadesfury says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Great game !

Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Very cool game! I wish it would have been more rogue-like with dungeon exploring, than just defending from waves of enemies, but anyway I've enjoyed it very much!

GFM says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Nice arena game! The difficult curve was just right!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice and addictive game. I survived 10 waves, killed 194 enemies, collected 1687 gold and earned 875 experience :D I had sometimes the feeling that I got stucked on enemies while running. And I wish, I could change the mapping of the skills afterwards. Anway, good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Excellent entry - would love to see this working with a gamepad (and some different locations with environmental hazards maybe?)

michail says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:52pm

I really loved the old school graphics! The entry feels very solid and complete (even in the original version). I also liked the 2-handed controls scheme, partially because I have used a similar scheme in my own entry, so I didn't really needed to get used to it ;)

Riku1996 says ...
Mar 11, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Amazing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]