December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The One - A Tale of Bliss or Sorrow

by ploogle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a relaxing world of hot air balloons and clouds, you have 80 years to find your one and only soulmate before you die old and alone.

Featuring an infinite procedural cloud generation system and an original ukulele score.

(Known bugs: Occasional cloud pop-in, extra NPC balloon duplication.)

Media:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jP0-AR3OUes
https://vine.co/v/h2dmTEWVxxJ
https://vine.co/v/h2wrpBVhUWD
https://vine.co/v/h2FWq9lKDjw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#17Mood4.00
#24Audio3.79
#92Theme3.68
#212Graphics3.55
#306Overall3.25
#368Innovation3.09
#555Humor2.12
#851Fun2.31

Comments

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

So nice game, found my soulmate at 75yo left
great experience!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Sweet.

Very relaxing scenario & soundtrack.

No challenge or real gameplay, but then again, it's not trying to be that kind of game, so that's cool.

The music's great, and swooshing around in the air is pretty nice. Clouds sometimes pop in/out which breaks immersion a bit. Same for balloons. It'd be even greater with that fixed.

Overall 4/5 for great mood!

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Very pretty game, a test of patience (much like finding your soulmate in real life I suppose), but in the end I found my soulmate.

0x0961h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Very meditative, very deep, and music is a perfect match for graphics! :)

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I think i found 3 soulmates at once. Not sure if possible but i bumped all of them. Good job on the clouds =)

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I didn't find my soulmate, much like real-life. Awesome ambiance and very existential :)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

A very calming and peaceful game. Very open ended interpretation of it. Good work

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Really beautiful to play after playing so many other games; lovely song and relaxing. :)

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

i like it, but the controls seems a bit floaty to me ;)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Great mood, love the art style.
There were some "solid" ballons I could crash into.

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Found the one! Great take on the theme(unlike me). Nice relaxing experience.

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Nice game, the music really matched the soothing gameplay and visuals. I did not find my soul mate sadly though. =[

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Such a nice and relaxing game. Loved the ukulele. :) The balloons popped in randomly on the screen but I didn't let that bother me too much. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

So great. My dad flew hot air ballooons so I flown quite a bit. This takes me back!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27pm

nice mood and very relaxing game, great job !

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:34pm

That was absolutely lovely! Great ambience with the music and overall atmosphere. Great graphics, great bendy balloon rope physics. Awesome creation!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Nice atmosphere!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice ambiance. I sadly wasn't able to find my soulmate after quite some time, but it was still an enjoyable experience. Keep it up dood!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

That music is beautiful! Although I found that popping to be a little bit annoying, it was a great experience.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Nice relaxing game, found my soulmate with 66 years left.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I like the idea, though I think that I wasn't laying it quite right. The physics on the balloons are awesome

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

That was.. interesting. I felt a bit pointless on the other hand, but it was calming. I stopped searching after 5 year though.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Didn't find my soul mate, mostly because I found something much more awesome to do. Screw soul mates when you can do FLIPS in a BALLOON. FLIPS. That soul mate should be finding ME.
So yeah I found it quite fun, even if the main thing didn't entice me too much. Loved the audio though, really set a nice mood. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Really nice entry! I found 'The One' at about 65 years. I really liked the Art and I think the game's strong selling point was how relaxing it was and the strong meaning behind it. Really well done, nice work.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I really like the mood of this game. The art, the music, and the slow pacing were all super effective at making it feel like it was an accomplishment to find the one. Great work.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

I like it! Great mood!

My only criticism is that when you're playing you can't tell how much longer it'll take to find the other balloon, and there's not really any sense that you've progressed, so I was unsure whether I should give up or not... Still I persisted and managed to find it!

havana24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44am

Really nice mood! I loved the music.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17am

The flexibility of the elasticity is very pleasant. Sometimes i met groups of balloon stuck to each other. Superb music. Nice start :)

LukeR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Brilliant!

moop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice concept and the sound and graphics really fit the mood well.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Lovely atmosphere, great job (:

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Weird, good weird but still quite strange. Music was great and the visuals are good. It does't have much of a purpose but sometimes it's nice to just have a relaxing float about.

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Beautiful

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Relaxing. I spent 7 years and some days to find my soulmate. Meanwhile I was thinking of all this year 2013. A year full of changes for my team. Thank you for make this "therapy" game

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:03am

Nice and relaxing. The first go-around I did not find The One, but the second time, they were right there when I started. Maybe that means something? Dug the music, as well.

cesisco says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Great mood, art and sound, moving the ballon it's like a therapy, very relaxing.Good work.

almightysuit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:37am

This game is probably the most charming of this Ludum Dare, that is... if you support POLYGAMY and RACISM. Grrrr..

Just kidding Plooglez, it seriously made my heart go awwwwwwwww. Well done!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:51am

very sweet idea. Loved the art and sfx. Thought the totally lack of direction actually really fit this design. It definitely got your point across. Nice to play a more contemplative game.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:59am

Amazing mood. Was very relaxing too watch. If NPCs somehow gave you an idea where your SO is would be great, because i didn't have any idea how to find it :(

deadlypear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Bumping baskets to find the one. At first, I found myself asking the question: How do you know when you've found "the one"? And knowing the answer is: you'll know. Sure enough, found it! Great serene soundtrack; really evokes drifting.

caranha says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I'm getting an error message when trying to unzip your download file :-(

error: attempt to seek before beginning of zipfile
(attempting to re-compensate)
inflating: The One.exe bad CRC 25461c01 (should be 6e60a68a)

ploogle says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:24pm

I'll try and re-upload the .zip file, caranha.

mcc says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Super pretty (I LOVED how the clouds looked), good-feeling (movement felt nice, the music was a good fit). I feel like you didn't give me a lot to do-- it was literally "hold any button until the right balloon shows up". I liked some bits of the framing (the very slow countdown measured in "years") and I feel like with some tweaking it could have felt meaningful even if you didn't find "the one" (like, what if time ran out much quicker, and you realized that your experience lasted 80 years and felt beautiful the whole time but you never did find that one special person). As it was tho the problem was after about forty seconds it was like "ok, now what?". I tried making trying to invent my own little "game"s on top of this one to kill time, I kept trying to bounce my basket up on top of my balloon or swing the basket around in circles, I at some point decided my goal was to try to reach the ground (if one existed) and held down. I found a couple minor ways to glitch your physics engine into making the balloon move quicker than it would otherwise… :D none… of this felt like it was really part of the game tho.

As a queer person, I spent most of the game just going "but why CAN'T I date red balloons?!"

What happens if you run out of time completely btw?

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:38am

Pixelbear's review stated my feelings exactly (I think I found my soulmate! at least in terms of playing this game): "Screw soul mates when you can do FLIPS in a BALLOON. FLIPS. That soul mate should be finding ME. "

I spent most of my time seeing how far I could stretch the ropes on my balloon. I managed to get my basket to go off the top of the screen for a bit. Finding my soul mate otherwise was kinda boring. Also, my soul mate totally interrupted the shoving match I was having with a couple green balloons, so I wasn't entirely thrilled about finding them haha.

Overall, not really my kind of game. I'm find with the calming, do almost nothing kinds of games, but this one just didn't click with me. However, it was well made. Fitting soundtrack, relaxing atmosphere, just not for me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]