December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fever Blue

by Raiyumi - Jam Entry

You only get ONE.. direction.

My 2nd LD entry. It was really rough, but I managed to pull through. Tried to do something a little different, but had to cut it short. There's no music unfortunately. :(

Play as Blue in this secluded void of mystery. What lies beyond the gates?

Keys:
-WASD
-Arrows

-Mouse - Hold left-click to shoot.

UPDATE: Fixed - Player would snag and get stuck on the 45* corners.
UPDATE: Fixed - Another game breaker. Shifted gate to the right. Player would reach an area which is supposed to be inaccessible and get stuck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Graphics(Jam)4.51
#28Overall(Jam)3.90
#61Mood(Jam)3.61
#62Fun(Jam)3.57
#77Innovation(Jam)3.45
#143Theme(Jam)3.20
#315Audio(Jam)2.70
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

This is pretty cool! I love the aesthetics!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Good work!
Game mechanics is responsive.
I like how you use theme in level design. Really wondered =)

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I wished I could pixel my pictures to, but I am only good in Vectors as you see at our game. I will take you as much stars from the sky as I can :)

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

This is really cool, fun to play as well. I just don't quite see how the theme fits in?

derdragon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Didn't actually finish the whole thing here, but very well done. Dig the art style.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Hey thanks for playing. :) You only get one.. direction at a time.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28pm

What a fantastic color scheme and great artwork! The colors and the floating islands reminded me of Fez. Really enjoyed the style and the concept. Exploring the world was really fun. Unfortunately I managed to get stuck :( On the bit where there are 2 blue barriers surrounding a diamond(?) I managed to come in from the right and couldn't get out. Did I do something wrong? I had to restart.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Love the game design, theme implementation, art, etc. Awesome.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Thank you Chinaski, I completely forgot to block off that area.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Great game! Nice mapping!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Well polished for a game jam, very few games are. One of my favorites so far. Very nice art style.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48am

Lovely pixel art.

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Solid.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:22pm

The visuals are great, the idea is really interesting. Very nice use of the theme. Sometimes, the enemies get a bit unfair, e.g. if you enter a screen and not a second later you get hit... some save area would be nice. Furthermore, I wish the game would play faster respectively with more action. Very good job anyway!

tchem says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:07am

I loved it!! awesome aesthetics,, !! great work

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:25am

Very good controls and an amazing art style. I had a lot of fun trying this out.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:03am

Great art and interesting mechanics. Reminded me of Bastion a little, which is a good thing!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Excellent game! The graphics are cool and the idea is genius! Good job!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:09am

Not terribly fond of the one direction mechanic. It feels like busy work, especially when you're just making a curve, and doesn't seem to really add much. Aside from that i really like the game, nice work!

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

The graphics and sound effects were great, and the character is very cute (were you going for something like red from transistor?). I enjoyed playing, but I have to say I didn't feel that the way the theme was implemented did much to enhance the gameplay.

stvr says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

Great game, pretty graphics, and the direction mechanic is really clever!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Thanks!
@angelk : I've never heard of that game, but glad you mentioned it. Will keep an eye out for it. :)

rubna says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:20am

Outstanding graphics! Really nice gamefeel, too. Switching the direction really felt "right".

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:47am

Love the atmosphere, I felt really uneasy when playing. The pixel art was really great as well. The pacing felt a bit slow, but the level and enemy design was great.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:56pm

The only thing you could add to make it better would have been a soundtrack.
Besides that it's top-notch!

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The game atmosphere is so cool! Nice work on graphics and gameplay! Congratulations!

jomomomo says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Great use of theme and very very polished. Well done! Having difficulty on what my daughter calls "the sword level", but I'll keep at it...

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:47am

Very well done, got a Fez and Bastion vibe at the same time, impressive.

Raiyumi says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 7:49am

Thanks everyone for playing! I didn't expect to get on the top 100. :)

@jomomomo : Haha, Good luck! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]