December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doomba

by Unept - Jam Entry

Unfortunately, I got stuck on the boss level, and lost precious level-building time. Many levels may feel like "example" levels.

Still, I hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#38Fun(Jam)3.72
#62Theme(Jam)3.56
#64Overall(Jam)3.69
#105Innovation(Jam)3.34
#108Humor(Jam)3.11
#187Audio(Jam)3.13
#249Graphics(Jam)3.28
#349Mood(Jam)2.68

Comments

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

I enjoyed this game overall, interesting pulse mechanic

Me4502 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

This game is amazing, I love it!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45am

I like it. Was quite easy, like you said, though.

ahnt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

I enjoyed this game overall, interesting pulse mechanic

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

Very nice game. Levels a little too easy.

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

I like it! Neat and fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Terrific fun.

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

very fun. I'll never look at my Roomba in the same way again!

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

very cool game, love the puzzles

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48am

This game plays very cleanly. Heh.

Good job you guys, I enjoyed it a lot. The art is my favorite thing about this game.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:53am

Solid game. Very satisfying, and neat puzzles. I really appreciate that you marked the previous location you used the pulse, that saves a lot of frustration and makes it more fun to twiddle with.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Great little game, challenging enough to be fun without getting too frustrating.

Terry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice music :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29am

Really nice concept. Got stumped on the 3rd level until I got the hang of the pulse. (Cause I'm dumb) :P

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:59am

Good variety of enemy behaviors. The cat-driven Doomba was super cute. I was thankful for the previous-blast marker; it helped to avoid doing the same thing wrong every time. The music fit the mood quite well, too.

No real complaints. The only bug I found was that I triggered a blast after death one time, but it didn't have any affect on gameplay.

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:31pm

A very, very, fun game! I love the mechanic.

Photon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Where in the world did you come up with this, lol?

For the most part, this was a very fun, unique game to play. Killer vacuum cleaners? Sheesh!

Unept says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Thanks all for the great feedback.

@Photon, it's based on a meme I saw on reddit.com/r/funny a while ago, where people taped real weapons to their roombas and called them doombas. But the game idea didn't come up until brainstorming for this LD.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Nice game. Good mechanics and level design.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Clever idea, nice execution, good job!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice concept, fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]