December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Click Headshot

by voltorben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do you have what it takes to be a one click assassin?
Miss a shot, and you're out. You only get one!

Controls:
x: toggle scope
Move mouse: move scope
Left click: shoot (when scope is active)

Navigate menus with mouse and click.

The game includes 2 game modes.
- Campaign mode, where you get missions and the objective is to get the longest killstreak, without missing or killing someone who is not a target.
- Killer mode, where you have to kill everyone in the building as quick as possible without missing (unlocked after a killstreak of minimum 5 in Campaign mode)

Notes and Bugs:
- A bug might occour where the scope get's offset in Killer mode. I will try to fix this.. (only happened twice - let me know if it happens)
- Unfortunately i didn't have enough time to make a soundtrack :(
- Obviously i didn't have time to implement half of the features i wanted (better AI, more challenging missions when progressing, etc), which is a shame, but i'm happy to have finished.

I have uploaded a Unity web player version that i know is working in at least chrome on most platforms. Let me know if you want a build for a specific platform, and i will make it.

Enjoy!

Created using: Unity 4.3.1, Photoshop CC, cfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Theme3.35
#348Overall3.19
#389Fun3.00
#408Graphics3.10
#495Humor2.25
#511Innovation2.90
#606Audio2.28
#804Mood2.29
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Help, I cant figure out how to play! Whats the shoot key?

OmegaVesko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I liked it.

You need to press X to bring the scope up, and then click to shoot. You should probably write that somewhere.

PyroSneak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Pretty fun game :)

madflame991 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice and polished game. The graphics are good and it fits the theme. Although it's good that you give somewhat detailed descriptions of the targets, you can usually identify the target just by floor and hair color, so the other details are not very useful...

To vanaficionado: once you're in a level, press "X" and then move around with the mouse once the sniper cross-hairs appears. You click to shoot. (it took me a bit to figure out too)

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I really liked it! Functional assassination game with simple instructions.
One issue is that when you say fourth floor, I think of your third floor. Because I count from 1.

The mouse controls feel a little too sluggish aswell, I guess it is implied "Looking through scope" sluggishness, but it just felt a little too inaccurate.

Still a very fun game.

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Controls: They are at the top of the main menu! But i've added them to the description of my entry as well in case people miss them.

Thanks for the feedback!

@madflame991: I would have loved to make a smarter system for the details, but unfortunately i just didn't have enough time :(

And the scope is sluggish to make it more scope like, but yeah, could probably have done with some more work.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

The controls were a bit unintuitive, and the camera movement while in scope mode felt weird. But other than that it was a great concept and a very will polished game! I feel like if this had been playtested by someone dry (without you giving them any instruction) a few times you'd really polish it up :)

stromchin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:54pm

very well executed idea

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:06am

Fun game. You should have some marking for the floors since many places count the bottom floor as the 1st floor. Good job!

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Really got in the mood... but had to first figure out what you considered 'dirty blonde', and also that the apartments were of a certain very subtle shade. Would be nice to spice it up with some more deduction games. (ie, leaving out some info, or inferring logic)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:06am

Cool game. Though the theme's a bit loosely implemented since on can shoot again if the bullet doesn't hit anyone. Still, enjoyed it, almost felt like a puzzle game with the target description and all. The scope controls were a bit strange, but not hard. Great entry.

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Scope could be improved a little but otherwise it was fun to play and very well made.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Neat idea.. rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]