December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

RGB - So sweet your television will break

by TeamFlare - Jam Entry

Through a horrible accident all your friends have been scattered among different color channels that lay behind the rainbow forest.

Only you can rescue them!

Fasten your mushroom hat and get ready to jump from Red to Green to Blue to find your friends. But be careful not all sweets are made of sugar.

Move: Arrow keys
Jump: Space
Change channel: Ctrl

This was tough, we just "finished" in time. BUt we also had really a lot of fun and a lot of learnings.

The tools we used:
Unity (using Marmoset shaders)
3DS Max
Photoshop

We hope you will enjoy our little game
Fred, Tanja, Olaf, B0rje, Peer and Becky :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#34Graphics(Jam)4.36
#62Innovation(Jam)3.50
#81Overall(Jam)3.62
#105Fun(Jam)3.35
#156Humor(Jam)2.86
#159Mood(Jam)3.27
#254Audio(Jam)2.93
#398Theme(Jam)2.37

Comments

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46am

Fun game! I love the color switching mechanic!

funselektor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46am

Graphics are awesome! Controls were a little slippery though.

Pomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47am

Good Job! "Look" looks great, would have liked bidirectional color shift control.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

Very polished graphics (good shaders), cute character design and it's nice well done platformer! :)

leuhfahn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

Yes! The mushroom's game are the best game ever!

Manou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

awesome!

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

didnt expect this, looking really nice. Love the RGB switching (and the extra effort put in the background of your weblink!) Great work guys! Reminded me of Giana Sisters and Trine combined in a world of care bears, my favourite so far!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

Loved the graphics! Gameplay reminded me a lot of Giana Sisters :D

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Very nice use of the theme. Greetings from your neighbourhood ;)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Well! This is thing of lovelines, isn't it? <3

Would've preferred UP as an alternative to SPACE for jump?

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Beautiful game, the level design and the mechanic is interesting, but jump are a bit frustrating for me . very nice game.

local minimum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Great mechanics, even though it requires some leaps of faith, most of them made sense and the game was forgiving enough to allow for missing when switching colors. Some of the 45 degree slopes where a bit hard to move and jump on, but that's fine tuning stuff. Great work for a LD! Very polished.

MaTX says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Good job, very polished for the amount of time it was made in.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:54pm

This is a beautiful game; great art! I got stuck in the terrain a LOT, though, and a really brief tutorial on switching colors in the first level would not have been amiss.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Interesting platformer, the cupcakes being hidden with different colors and requiring climbing to certain places multiple times to get them all made them very annoying to collect. Had some issues with input lag while playing and also sometimes the character did not pick up cupcakes. Quite annoying that you can get hit by switching into an enemy or an obstacle. There should be some way to see where things in the other colors are.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Interesting mechanic, but not seeing where the enemies are makes switching really hard. Love the art too!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Awesomesauce! The graphics is totally amazing, the colour switching is amusing, although it doesn't seem to correlate with the theme much. Very well done!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Great graphic and concept! I have a little problem with web version. There is no vertical scroll and I do not see bottom part of game screen. (firefox)

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I like the graphics and sound! The seperation of "world" like parallels worlds is impresionnant!

cesisco says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Good concept, great execution!I would prefer a different control layout.

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:30pm

AMAZING graphics! The platforming controller could use some work. Makes some of the moving around a little difficult. Some sound feedback for picking up the cakes would be nice too :)

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:11pm

That's a beautiful game! Very polished!
Nice idea about the color channel.
Its a good base for a game. On my wishlist would be: more sounds (jumping bonusses getting hit). A bit more difficulty in level design (I could get to the end without trying very hard and sometimes you got a bit stuck between the scenery).
A little tweaking on the movement: if you have to jump on a ledge you can't see when you start to jump, it can be annoying if you slide of the edge because you're a slippery toadstool.
I agree that a background behind the unity web player is nice touch!

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Funny game with lovely mechanics :)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Lovely game! The mechanic reminds me of Paper Mario :)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Not bad. :)

greytram says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Stunning graphics! Characters are so cute :-)
Jump is a bit buggy sometimes. Music is fine, the game just lacks a few sound fx.
Very well done overall!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:24am

Like was said, remembered me a lot too of giana sisters.
The graphics are very amazing and vivid.
Change worlds is very smooth, but somethings are confusing, like I didn't know that a rock was actually a trampolin for example, but it is understandable for the time that you guys had.
Great job!

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I really like games about switching colors... XD
And the graphics are really cute! Though... I found the backgrounds somewhat lacking... =/

miwuc says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice concept and cute graphics. I found the jumping a bit frustrating but that could be easily tuned.

The web version didn't fit on my 13" laptop screen and there's no scrollbar so I hack to change the css to be able to play :/

psc1997 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:10am

Whoooa this is one of the best games on this Ludum Dare ;3
Pretty graphics, idea and soundtrack. Good gameplay too ! ;)

Kyle Mac says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:15am

This is a really cool concept. You can skip all the cupcakes and rush to the end though, which is kind of lame. Still, this is grade A stuff.

afterisk says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:34am

Very colorful environment and clever level design. Good stuff.

LTPATS says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:51am

Great use of the theme, loved the color switching. The graphics were really good (especially given the time frame)! The controls and movement felt a bit clunky, but the game was so darn pretty and appealing that I didn't really mind. This has a lot of potential and looks like it could be a commercial game with a bit of polish!

juaxix says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Great use of ease tweeners and colours, you should try to use morphing for some elements also.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nifty. Very pretty game. The jump pads seemed to provide a different force with each bounce, which was a little strange. Overall, it was a really cohesive, connected, solid experience.

Consider adding a standalone Linux build, since there's no webplayer for Linux.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:37pm

wow, really awesome work here! i love the color shifting mechanic and could see this extended and made into an awesome mobile game.

loxo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I like the concept and the graphics very much. But the level design needs some work, the first two levels are much too easy. And some sound effects for jumping and collecting of things would have been nice. One thing I didn't like is the required screen size, I have only 768 pixel, so I had to change the css to enjoy your game. I hope you will work further on the game, because it's really good.

michail says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Cool idea and the aesthetics, although some platform mechanics (the bouncing platforms for example) could use some more refinement.

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Quite fun, though I didn't get the relation to the theme.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:31pm

I feel like the mushroom should have changed colour as well, it would've looked cooler. It's kinda annoying how there's no way to tell what's platforms there will be until you switch.

Also this game really needed sound effects! And was there a reason why the music faded out after a while?

I didn't see the relationship to the theme either though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]