December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Lonely One

by cudabear - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if you one day found a mysterious key, and had no idea what it unlocked? What if that key attracted all sorts of evil - evil that doesn't want you dead, it wants your key.

You only have one key, so be careful.

Controls:
Z - pickup/drop
X - jump
left/right - move
up - enter door (if you have the key)

you can drop your key down waterspouts to avoid enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#528Humor2.17
#534Mood2.70
#540Audio2.41
#551Theme2.78
#759Graphics2.39
#759Innovation2.48
#802Fun2.39
#881Overall2.48
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:36pm

The concept is cool and the tutorial is well made. Better graphics or light system would be awesome !

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Congrats on finishing. There are some mispellings ("obsticals") and the game is not very innovative.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08am

Interesting game. The tutorial text spawns off screen sometimes, and I was able to fall off the map. Otherwise, solid game!

I like the art and the music, they were well done. It too a while for me to figure out how to get around the darkness.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Good gameplay, but it's too hard.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice game, simple and fun. With a good music, the game will improve a lot, good job!

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I like the concept but the level design was somewhat frustrating. There were areas where it was impossible to backtrack so a 'cleaning out the enemies' run could end up forcing a level restart if you didn't have the key with you. I also fell out of the level a lot due to an awkwardly placed pair of gaps in the second level.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I clicked on web version, got a grey screen with your name in bottom left hand corner, but no load progress beyond that.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

@JaymeeMak, which browser are you using? It should work in modern Webkit browsers and Firefox.

Yaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:27pm

For some reason I constantly fell out of the map reaching the end of the first level.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Nice mechanics and concept! I stuck after death :)

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Game works fine, there are some bugs and mispellings - however is a good entry.

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:16am

Really great game mechanics. A bit better graphics wouldn't harm. Had fun playing it anyway.

By the way, because I have seen a lot of games do this: X and Z are not the best keys to use for interaction, because they are only right next to each other on US/UK keyboard layouts, not in French or German. If you use number or special keys, everyone gets the same experience. But that doesn't effect the overall impression of the game.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:06am

Awesome music. Cool idea, but needs polishing. I enjoyed playing it.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:06am

Interesting mechanic. The darkness sometimes got shot in some seemingly random direction when you carry a light into them. The third level seems pretty much impossible since you can't go back and get your other objects without doing a jump from window to window that seems completly random. While carrying something it vibrates in your hand.

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:10am

When you draw words on the screen, usually it's better to draw them so that they follow the view, rather than stick to the background. That way they can still be read while the player is moving about the room.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]