December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Bullet

by BeardoGames - Jam Entry

You're humanity's last hope against the invading forces who are dead-set on conquering your planet! But somehow your research and development team only managed to make you ONE BULLET to use against the invaders, so you'll have to go pick it up after firing it-- in the meantime, you're DEFENSELESS against the disgusting alien lunatics. And waiting behind wave after wave of slobbering abominations is the boss itself!

CONTROLS
---------
WASD or Arrow Keys : move your ship
Space Bar : shoot your bullet

YOU LOSE IF
----------
--You hit an alien lunatic
--You hit the disgusting boss alien's death rays
--(This one's important) You let your bullet leave the bottom of the screen

----------

(Originally intended as a Compo entry, I realized after I was done (at 47 hours!) that I had used a for pay Unity add on (2D Toolkit), and was therefore disqualified from the Compo. D'oh! Still, my intention was to complete this within 48 hours, by myself, and I did, a huge personal goal for me.

Another personal first: this game marks my first game ever that can be considered part of that greatest of video game genres, the space shooter.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#27Theme(Jam)3.86
#204Fun(Jam)3.04
#285Innovation(Jam)2.79
#298Overall(Jam)3.04
#308Humor(Jam)2.19
#379Graphics(Jam)2.79
#382Audio(Jam)2.38
#383Mood(Jam)2.58

Comments

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

WOW, this game is unexpectedly hard! Took me more tries than I'm willing to divulge to beat it. Good work buddy!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Hahaha! Thanks! A good hour went into tuning, so glad it was time well spent!

PaulSB says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Nice idea! An elegant implementation of the theme. Short, but understandably so. I enjoyed it!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01am

Haha, this is great! hefty for ~10MB, but well worth the wait!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

Possibly the only space shooter where you don't mash the fire button? :) Funny idea.

insane66 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Holy... I flew all the way to the boss without shooting (it was tough - died a lot - wanted to save my 1 shot) and THEN figured out 1 bullet not one shot, duh. hahah Made getting back to the boss easier the 2nd time. Nice game! Smooth play, and a good challenge, particularly if you don't shoot.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:16am

Thanks guys! @insane666-- I'll have to remember that in case I ever make this into a full game, maybe as an 'expert mode'?

dznemotion says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:05am

This game is very cool. I just think that the starship should have a life bar... the single shot already according the theme.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:37am

Kind of feels like you fail to adequately defend the planet, haha. Beat it on my second try. The boss fight was great. I'm trying to imagine a AAA game with an end screen saying: "Maybe I'll make more levels someday!"

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I was much happier when I found out you could pick up your bullet and use it again. Just goes to show I should have read the description... Good game!

popogames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:48am

Cool concept, very different then our take on the whole one bullet thing. Nice to see what different people can come up with :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Argh - that boss fight! Took me like 8 tries to beat him - clever mechanics on that part in particular. Had a lot of fun/rage with this ;)

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nice little game. The boss is impossible if you don't time your shots perfectly.

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I think the idea is solid, but the fact the bullet clears the path and stops at where it ends means you can just go to some location shoot, don't move and shoot immediately after recovering the bullet, since it will continuously clear a path for you. Perhaps a better option would be to make it only kill one enemy, and continue until it reaches the end of the screen.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This boss is so ************ ! FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU !

But nice game ! :)

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:47pm

@errorage, thanks for the feedback, and I know what you mean. Another possibility might be for it to stop after just destroying one enemy, making it potentially tricky to retrieve?

Also, glad that the boss ended up being frustrating, har har!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:55pm

My first thought was, "only one bullet? Isn't that the same as Space Invaders", and then the penny dropped. That's an innovative twist. Very enjoyable.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Really nice simple game that is surprisingly addictive. I wanted to keep playing till I beat it. Great work!

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Extrahyper-hard, but elitemega-fun too!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I liked how the ship destruction was less about getting points and more about clearing a path. Great job!

Ashedragon says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:42am

It was somewhat enjoyable.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:44pm

well made! I liked it ^ v ^
great idea that you could pick up the bullet again, first i thought that when you had shot your only bullet it would be gone forever.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]