December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Loot of the Forest

by moop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A bribery based forest treasure hunting game. Bribe forest guardians, get treasure. You only brought one item to suit each guardian so plan your route carefully.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#180Theme3.48
#245Fun3.26
#291Humor2.78
#399Overall3.13
#422Innovation3.02
#588Mood2.63
#683Audio2.00
#692Graphics2.55

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Good use of the theme and a very nice idea overall.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

The mazes were fairly easy, but they made me think/plan a little so I enjoyed it. Good work.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Pretty cool little puzzle. A bit short, but I like how each level seems thoughtfully made. Some background music would be nice, but otherwise everything comes together fairly well.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Seems interesting, but I couldn't get into it.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Really enjoyed the game! The levels were pretty well thought through and definitely took me a couple tries to beat them.

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Fun game. The concept could have been explained a bit better but when you can get into it it's fun.
It's really hard to see what direction the hills are facing and it screwed me over quite a bit D:

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Good, fun game - great take on the theme. I didn't find the mazes quite so easy as others seem to have.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Really good idea, I liked it, it's clever and fun. Nice graphics too.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great puzzle game, neat idea. Well done!

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Doesn't load the first time. WASD isn't cool for French players like me :( Looks cool though

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Neat puzzle mechanic.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Sorry Cawrtz, I've added support for the extra keys so ZSQD is now supported.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Good idea, I was sad to sea there is only 3 levels :( Well done ! :)

ajfischer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37am

It was clever. I'm picky, but would have liked to be able to use the arrow keys! I think the cliffs should be more distinct and also which species can be bribed by which item.

iamwhosiam says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22am

very enjoyable puzzles!

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

A very fun and unique little puzzle game. It was short and sweet. Art suited it, items were fairly funny, audio wasn't annoying (but would have liked some music).

My only complaint is that (as funny as they were) I had no time to remember which item went to which gaurdian. It would have been better to just display the picture of the gaurdian the gift goes to at the bottom, so I can figure out what I have left with a glance.

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Couldn't move right. Chrome 31 on OS X

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Nice job, used the theme well...

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

nice use of theme

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Fun puzzle game. Last level seemed too complex to comprehend at first, but after going through a second time it all made sense. Nicely executed.

magicdweedoo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:46am

cool!!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:00am

Really awesome. I love puzzle games and this one definitely had me thinking.

somepx says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:40am

Bribery! Excellent concept, main character is adorable! Good work

ovenchips says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:55am

Solid well-rounded entry. I didn't quite get the connection between the items in the inventory and the different characters so I ended up just using a trial and error strategy, and planning a route which would hit the fewest blockers. More levels would be cool. Well done. :)

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

Nice mix of memory game and maze. :)

Tanser says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Amazing, i really like the idea! It not just a maze! :) Great, well done!

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice! A bit short, but still had me thinking.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]