December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SOSEB (Slightly Overweight Super Elemental Bankrobber)

by MystFire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a slightly overweight middle-aged bankrobber.
One day you find that you can choose one element to control for your next heists.
Sooooo... you choose an element and set out to get some diamonds.

Now, you are THE SLIGHTLY OVERWEIGHT MIDDLE-AGED SUPER ELEMENTAL BANKROBBER!
Good luck!

Controls: Arrow keys (if element=air also spacebar).
You can use walljumps :)

Game Made with HTML5/Javascript from Scratch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#604Theme2.67
#730Audio1.73
#766Innovation2.47
#829Graphics2.20
#948Fun2.00
#955Overall2.27
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

acp_ld says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:41pm

got stuck in walls and floor, unable to play

MystFire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I am terribly sorry, it's one of those typos, I already fixed it! changed a 0.3 to 0.4 and it works nearly perfectly now.
And Please... use Chrome, I haven't tested for other browsers, so they might be a little unstable. :)

Good luck, and thanks for noticing the bug :D

Bcadren says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I am using chrome and...I like your art and concept, but the game pulls right. It's like I'm always holding down the right arrow key but I'm not. I really do compliment the concept of having very different routes for each element though. In general I like it, but with the glitch I'm experiencing I can't make it very far.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:23pm

A nice idea, though somewhat ruined by unwieldy controls. The character often walljumps when I try to jump over a ledge and keeps moving in one direction even when I'm not pressing any keys. I'm using Chrome for OS X.

The powers were pretty neat though I quickly settled on fire as my preferred one. With better controls I think this game would be interesting to see further developed.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Controls and walls/floors are buggy :c
Hey! Fix bugs and add PostCompo game version ;)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:27pm

This would have been a really awesome game if it wasn't ruined by the rather buggy controls. But still, it's a pretty interesting concept and would definitely love to play a post-compo version with better controls.

Harsay says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Very buggy. I'm waiting for post compo version.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:02am

Controls were too buggy, way too many glitches for this game to be playable. Jumpdirection seemed to be random and sometimes the character started running for no reason. Could be an interesting idea but you need to fix all the glitches first.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Controls a bit clunky, but a bunch of good level design ideas.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]