December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hidden Prison

by javifugitivo - Jam Entry

Welcome to Hidden Prison.You are trapped in a prison of high security in a far away galaxy. You only will get one opportunity to live if you escape. Your team is inside the prison too. Rescue them and exit the prison without activate the alarms.

Theme: You only get one skill in each character, because of this you have to play turns and work in team, to escape of prison.

Throughts:
Sincerely, this has been a hell of Ludum Dare, we have developed a very ambicious project: a top-view stealth game. The problem came when the AI of guards has been a problem since the first time. Due to this, the rest of the game has been done without proper testing and the result is a 1/2 game.

It was thought that the game will have a plot, will a lot of dialogs and more puzzles and levels. At least we can consider this project as an alpha, and with more weeks of work, we can end a good game because I believe in the potential of Hidden Prison. Thanks for reading and playing!

Controls:
AWSD: Move character
1-2-3-4-5: Change controlled characther
E: Use skill, for example open a door with a lockpick, or use the stealth with the spy (the effect time is 5 secs,and 5 secs of cooldown)
Q: Drop Item
7- Save game
9- Load game
Esc- Exit Game
Home: Restart


Bugs fixed (19/12/2013)
- Improved Guards AI to avoid spin fun!
- 1-5 keys works again.
- Fixed some bugs and now you can end the level

Team:
Javier Martinez Vidal (Programmer)
Eduardo Perez (Designer / Artist)
Felix Herrero (Musician)
http://www.mechanicmoonstudio.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#170Mood(Jam)3.21
#193Graphics(Jam)3.47
#205Audio(Jam)3.08
#209Overall(Jam)3.21
#221Humor(Jam)2.53
#239Fun(Jam)2.95
#242Innovation(Jam)2.93
#270Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Some of the npc's movements were a bit weird. Liked the game a lot thou. Nice graphics and animations!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

A full 5/5 from me!
Great use of the theme to create something like this! My only (two) complaints would be that the movement is a bit slow, and some of the inmates acted buggy when I got near them (and it's rather weird that they don't escape even after a door is opened).
But overall, brilliant!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Thanks for the feedback: We didn`t have time for npc movement and the dialogues. We want to work in the game to improve it, if the feedback is good ;-)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The music and sound effects were well chosen and really helped set the mood, good job. :)

LexGarza says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:23pm

A guard suddenly started spinning and kept there XD, but the game was great :D. The only thing that would have helped a lot was a mini map, i got lost a lot XD

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Its just a little too slow paced for me. I can see what you are trying to achieve and you did really pull it off though! Audio was great, and the mood is fitting.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Great game overall :)

Love the idea, but the NPC scripting is a bit buggy, since I got sighted and the guard tracked my Thief even though my Siren was the one who was spotted. He got stuck at a corner (Thief was hiding behind a wall) and from then on no guards cared about me, so I got all the rest of the characters until I needed the Thief, then tried to handcuff the guard and failed miserably :(

Going to give it a second round before I rate it completely :D

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Thanks kalth.streil and skysthelimit and LexGarza for the feedback. We know that the guardas are buggy, it was the main headache of the development, and we ran out of time to complete better the game. In a very possible remake, we will improve the AI.

Please, if you like the concept of the game, spread the word and we will have more resources to do the remake ;-)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Wow graphics were amazing. Really like it. Just guard movement was little bit off

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Good graphics, and decent animations. A few bugs here and there, and the guards didn't react to me at all. I could easily see this game become a fully developed game, there's some nice potential there.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Thanks tiffi_gaming and Mekuri! I think that we believe the same, in a few weeks we will study the posibility of a remake with more options and levels! Thanks for your feedback!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24pm

WOW I am so happy to klick on this game. Its awesome. Thank you for sharing this. The Arts are realy cool! It's raining stars for you guys ^^

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very cool idea, lots of potential for development there. Maybe a kind of top-down The Lost Vikings? :) I wish your characters would move faster though, it's a pain travelling long distances. As it turns out, I also made a top-down stealth-ish game, and I had trouble with the guard AI too, so you're not alone. ;)

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Nice entry, great idea and visuals. Would have to agree the pacing is a little slow, character switch a bit more like Trine would have kept game play moving a bit smoother.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Juego entretenido con un arte bastante chulo, espero figuritas de la espía, jajajaja
Suerte!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Thanks for your feedback HellBlazer and Piat! We will listen that pieces of advice for the remake (faster characters)

Und[0]ne Devs, creo que podríamos mirar algo para una recompensa en el Indiegogo, jejeje Un abrazo!!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:20am

Im also not a huge fan of the movement or AI. Really interesting take on the theme though.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:27am

Very cool concept. It seemed to guards didn't always detect properly. Also it is easy to trap them in a corner.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:27am

Algún fallillo con los policías que se quedan girando en las esquinas y los protas se mueven algo lento, pero ya lo tienes bien contemplado para un remake. Pero por lo demás buenos gráficos y música y bien pensadas las habilidades

Zhrack says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Very nice entry! I liked it!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Woe this is a clever and well designed game. Like the smooth gameplay and the nice puzzle elements. Cool Game1

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Thanks for the feedback Venks, ludotrix, glovecat and Zhrack. Today I have worked in fix a bug with the end of stage: Now is fully enjoyable and you can pass the level! The guards have been fixed too (I think that was a crucial fix to feel the complete experience.) They aren't perfect, but they do something ;-)

scoopsy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:21am

Looks neat - I'm on OSX though so I can't give it a try.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:25am

Sorry men! We try to get a OSX version soon!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:09am

Smart game you have here. Love the art, very stylized

Several says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:14am

I can't play a Windows-only game, but I can coo at the graphics.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

Hmm.. I get an error when trying to run the game. A "cabinet is not valid" error. Then again, I am trying to run it in WINE. :P Oh well. It looked interesting.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:34am

So very very well designed! I loved the different powers, loved the different character designs, and had a lot of fun, and some adrenaline when I was being chased. I know I'm asking for a lot, but could the enemies have a way to detect you even when you're no longer in their Line Of Sight? For example, a guard was following me, and I turned a corner and then he forgot about me. This is fantastic for me, because I'm safe, but I could do with the game being a little more unforgiving :) Top marks though, this is a fantastic entry!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:07am

Heh-hey! This is pretty awesome!
The characters move a tad slow but, it's really fun!
Very nice!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:17am

Thanks Mrtedders, Several, Scipio Xaos, Christina Antoinette Neofotistou and EDESGA for the feedback.

Christina, thanks for the pieces of advice. Now it's impossible to solve this, because we would have to make the AI again, but I promise better AI in the remake and faster characters ;-)

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I appreciate the thought that went to this, Metroidvania-style level design is always fun. My biggest nuisance was the music, which sounds somewhat derpy with all those hard chord changes.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Can't play, mac

local minimum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I think this game could become something with time. As I read the narration suspense is quite vital -- the player needs to be scared of the guards and the cameras. Sneak, hide, pick locks and blow stuff up. As it stands now the NPCs are too simple to lure into a wall to make it fully enjoyable. Nothing a little more dev can't fix, and as you say you want to continue, I'd say that's where your effort will pay off the most the fastest.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Sweet. Really nice visuals and gameplay. Wanted to play this one all week but only now had the time to sit down at my windows machine and play it.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:23pm

good game man. there are some issues, but you have yes a good game. congrats.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Wow ! Great game ! Nice idea !

hbocao says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:32pm

This is fun and a clever idea too. Very good looking graphics. I just suck and get caught all the time.

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Great game. What more can I say?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]