December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Miss Red

by Daniel Debert - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Miss Red you play as Miss Red(of course), you are secret agent hired by secret facility to steal intel out of others. They didn't tell you and you shouldn't ask about what it is for. It's your job so make it done.

They gave you XTZ-2 which slows time a bit and makes you invisible. But the battery is heavy so "You only get one" per mission.

There are 6 short missions and one which was made as tutorial.

<b>Controls:</b>
- Use Arrow keys or WASD to move.
- Button down activates XTZ-2.

I couldn't make the applet working. So sorry for no Web version. <s>I'll try to make it during voting.</s>

This game uses OpenGL 2.0. If your graphics card does not support it then weird things can happen.

Smoke is not a bug. It was to simulate stress of the character, and actually it works in dark places. It is hard to see sometimes. And it is meant to be hard!


<b>SOUND AND MUSIC:</b> This game doesn't have any sounds and music, that's because i couldn't make them good enough. And i didn't wanted to break the rules by adding them from sites like www.freesounds.org.

#######################################################
# <b>COMMENTS</b> ##############################################
#######################################################
#I permit you to whine cough and hate this game in comments.
#I actually like negative opinions more than positive ones.
#So feel free to do so.
#######################################################

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#179Graphics3.65
#368Mood2.94
#429Overall3.09
#482Humor2.27
#524Fun2.83
#668Innovation2.64
#712Audio1.83
#795Theme2.34

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

That's interesting :D Nice usage of lights! :D

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:23pm

lovely

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Indeed nice lighting! I liked the cloaking. I found the tunnels a tad too dark though, but that's me. +1 for the tutorial.

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Very nice game but the sounds are missing :/

strong99 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I don't see how being invisible would help. If I become invisible I can't walk and the drones just move to where I was last seen. I like the smoke and light effects. Fun idea.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice idea with the lights. It feels like the theme was surrendered to that a little bit. Graphics are nice, but I find character too inconsistent with environment (low on time?). Fix that, add some dark quiet audio and it will be perfect ;-)

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Lights of course. Physics too. The character does not match really well with the environment but that's ok :)

sam1373 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Is there no sound or am I just missing something?

kewry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Love the concept, couldn't beat the last level, I'm terrible :D

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:25pm

The lighting looks gorgeous!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Solid! Very difficult, though. Loved the lighting system, really added atmosphere.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Really good work with lighting!

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Graphics are very pretty - lovely shadows and smoke effects. Unfortunately, main mechanic (cloaking) doesn't work in practice and most levels are uncompletable. Solid idea for further development though!

Nighley says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Love the lighting and the overall simplistic look of the environment.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I loved the graphics, the 2d red lights gave a really nice aspect for the game.
the gameplay idea is something nice to explore too. I would say that you should go deeper with it. One thing that I didn't like it's that the game gets hard because it's too dark and you can't really see the way you're suppose to get.

Hiku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Light was good but levels were a bit too long for me :o

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34pm

It looks great, but what's about the theme...
I think it's nice, but I miss the special. :|

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I definitely like this game! Graphics and all effects are awesome.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

This games mood/enviroment is truly awsome. But the character doesnt really fit in at all and this doesnt have anything to do with the theme.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I like the lighting effects. The gameplay in the darkness is tough though. Maybe a short range flashlight would make it easier but not detract from being in the darkness.

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Nice little game but if I click twice on button, it's crash. I restarted the game to try it again without clicking twice on button and it's work well. Good light effect.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Interesting game. The health bar is a little bit too distracting in this position, maybe put it completely at the top or bottom? But overall, I liked playing it.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I don't get some people...

("[..]the battery is heavy so "You only get one" per mission." )

It's battery to XTZ-2. And isn't this a theme? You only have one per mission.

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Lighting is awesome, audio is nonexistant, and the jumping is a bit wonky.
But the game looks great and is pretty fun.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Excelent look!

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice game, nice graphic~! :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Nice lighting!
Some atmospheric music/sfx would've been nice though.

Magdev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:48pm

this is some intense lighting and physics!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:13am

Lighting is pretty sweet. I love it.
Game is fun and easy to get used to :)
Very nice!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:54am

Pretty innovative title. I can dig this.

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Really liked the lighting system, dynamic shadows and smoke -- do you do the lighting by additively rendering the lightmaps onto a frame buffer and multiplying it with the scene? Or is it all done in a fragment shader? Gameplay was quite fun as well, but lacked a bit in diversity; I was still tricked into playing all the levels though :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]