December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monad

by Piat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Monad.

Best played in standalone. But web works, ideal resolution: 1152x648

You are the the god of this world, The One, and you must tend your flock else they will stray from the herd.
You will cast miracles in order to sway the beliefs of your flock, these will cost you the prayers of your Sheeple. Your Sheeple will pray to you to regenerate your stock, you can also call Mass from you alter to get a prayer boost.
Should one of your flock stray and become a heretic they are lost to you forever, you will still be able to cast miracles on them, but they will never sway back to you. They will also spread their heresy amongst the faithful.
Should the faith of the non believers out weigh that of the faithful a new god will be born from their heresy. Should this occur you will cease to be whole and will fracture your Oneness, ending the game.

How To Play:
-Click Sheeple or your Alter to cast miracles.
-Keep Sheeple from falling from your grace.

Miracles:

Sheeple:
Heal, cost - 30: Heal the target Sheeple, increasing their faith, but lowering those who did not receieve your favour.
Feed, cost - 15: Feed the target Sheeple, increase their faith slightly.
Posses, cost - 40: Posses the target Sheeple, decrease the victims faith but increase those around him for a time.
Smite, cost 125: Smite the target Sheeple, killing the victim and restoring the faith of witnesses.

Alter:
Mass, cost - 75, cooldown 190secs: Call mass, all believers will pray at your alter restoring your prayers.
Lynch, cost - 90, cooldown 90secs: Call forth a heretic and have him burned, restoring the faith of witnesses. Requires heretic to be present.
Apperate, cost 25, cooldown 65secs: Appear before your Sheeple, restoring their faith.
Sacrifice. cost 50, cooldown 30secs: Sacrifice one of your true believers for a big boost of faith for witnesses.

Change Log:
1.1: Fixed music loop for main game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#185Humor3.12
#202Innovation3.39
#305Audio2.87
#408Mood2.90
#414Overall3.11
#446Graphics3.02
#524Fun2.83
#588Theme2.70

Comments

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14am

An interesting concept, and I'm impressed at how far you got into making a god-game in 48 hours! A decent bit of fun, too - a very solid showing.

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

maahahan :D

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

Awesome work; an essentially fully functioning god game! The framework for a deep game is all there, and I'm amazed at how much you were able to get functional in 48 hours. (Also, I love the menu art, and the punniness)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

hahahaha, this is a cute fun game! very nice :)

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

Well done. The web controls sometimes were weird.

fued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

controls sucked, but the basic idea was fun lol

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01am

Hahaha i can see promise in this game.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20am

This was fun as.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

I like this.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29am

I really enjoyed this. At first I thought it was too difficult, but I got better after a few minutes playing. Very impressive for a game jam entry!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48am

Seems cool, but it was a little hard to understand what was happening.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46am

It was a little bit to understand what to do, and graphics could use a little bit more touch. Still pretty impressive for a 48h godsim.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07am

Amazing work for only 48 hours. We need more sheep god games out there. I hope you'll continue working on this game, adding more spells and other things to do. Great work!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Hmm, I think it's not working quite correctly on my machine (Windows 7 64-bit). I heal him a bunch but nothing happens after that :3 great concept tho!

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Interesting idea! I was not very good at retaining my sheeple haha. The only thing I could say was that I couldn't close it from within the game, but that's not a big deal.

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

The most ambitious game I have seen so far and the amount of progress you made was impressive. Many good features.

fued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Much better game when i played it not half asleep! controls didnt confuse me quite so much haha

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:44am

@zconnelly13 not sure what would have caused that, game developed and tested on win7 64bit machine, have not been able to reproduce.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32am

Enjoyed playing this a lot, but I couldn't stop the "filth" from spreading! Very original idea and impressive amount of work for just 48 hours. Maybe add some indicator to sheep that show their faith without having to hover over them individually. Well done!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Great game. Very impressive for to do all this within 48 hours.
I like the idea quite a lot. Great job.

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Enjoyed it. Just wondering is there any way to end the game? Once I figured out how to keep my Sheeple faithfull there didn't seem to be anything happening to stop me any more.

Was fun!

Piat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:58pm

@Dikkop - unfortunately the win conditions got pushed out of time due to prioritising the tutorial and some niggling bugs

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

wow, complicated for just 48 hours, great work!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Everyone lost faith. :( Well done for such a complex game in the 48h though!

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Nice!

Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:59am

I can't play on Linux as there's no Unity web player for Linux. Can you put up a Linux build?

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:30pm

It's official! I'm the worst god ever.

Good thing I didn't have any ambitions!

jerombd says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Interesting concept, I should make a God-like game too one day...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]