December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cosplay Cleanup Crew

by jormungandr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"the citizen kane of ludum dare entries" -vine

Cosplay Cleanup Crew is a Turn-based Tactics game where you must rid your garden of hellspawn, featuring multiple difficulties and randomly generated maps. As the name implies, your group is composed of cosplayers, and so each only gets 1 hp. Use the group's abilities to your advantage, and exploit the enemy's weaknesses to win!

Be sure to read the readme for a comprehensive guide to the game.

Game is written in c# using XNA. Music was done in TuxGuitar. Art was done in Paint.NET.

If you have XNA already installed, you can run the .exe that's in the debug folder, otherwise you will need to run the setup, which will install XNA and the game.

Standalone and Mac/Linux ports coming soon. (Hopefully)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#399Graphics3.11
#400Humor2.47
#427Innovation3.00
#587Audio2.33
#705Theme2.50
#744Mood2.40
#768Fun2.44
#835Overall2.56
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

I liked the variety of the characters and enemies. The simple graphics style was well matched by the smooth movement between each tile.

My biggest suggestion though would be to change the controls to be a little more intuitive, it's a little bit tedious to reach for page up and page down so many times each turn.

Nice game!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

This is a game that really needs a tutorial.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56am

Installer? DO NOT WANT!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23am

Like the guy said could have done with a small tutorial, an avoid installers x.x not much people like them.

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:50am

Good job! The Innovation with the cosplayers was great@!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:53am

roguelike ones are my fav... but this need a "Hint" section like crowbeak said ^^ Like the characters art!

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Pros:
1) Variety of characters and enemies
2) Interesting game

Cons:
1) Needs tutorial
2) The pacing is too slow
3) No installer please :(

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Liked the graphics and the idea, but it needs mouse support!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29am

Great chars and enemies! Good luuck!

Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice graphics ! It's really nice that you have put a lot of different type of enemies. Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]